The Official Xperia S thread

timberland

thanks. I try leaving it till night lor. Hopefully the battery will be fully drain. Right now I plug it into the charger, nothing come out only the notification red light. :vijayadmin:

Lithium Polymer Battery cannot be totally discharge. it will go dead ! :eek:

tridious

thanks bro.

btw, do you have any video converters to recommend that is optimised for watching on XS? Media Go is not able to read and convert video files with .rmvb format.

im slow but would like to share..
try using this https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.mxtech.videoplayer.ad&feature=search_result#?t=W251bGwsMSwxLDEsImNvbS5teHRlY2gudmlkZW9wbGF5ZXIuYWQiXQ..

i think its an awesome vid player..plays all my .mkv and rmvb files..with subtitles...the user interface is awesome too..

and regarding battery life, i've got to say im disappointed at first too. but im pretty much used to it already. first off this is my FIRST smartphone..have been stucked with a noob samsung since army. so having the transition from a phone that last me for days to one that last me for less than a day is kinda big. but honestly, looking at the stuff i do with xs, i dont think its unreasonable at all. first of all, im someone who sleep for less than 5 hrs a day. so the amount of time my phone has no activity at all is really little. throughout the day i'd play games, watch some youtube or surf on it..each lasting for like 15-20 mins?..so probably 3 hrs in total..things like whatsapp, calling are pretty frequent too. i dont know how you guys would rank this frequency of usage but im guessing its at a rather normal level. the bat last me for about 18 hours?..one thing i found impressive is that after i watched 3 episodes (abt 2+hrs) of Mythbusters with 720p reso..the bat went from 85% to 41%...with a HD screen, i'd nv expect that...so for me the bat life is quite reasonable - unless you are a hardcore social media freak who has to be constantly updated with fb/tweeter/blogs+++ den i guess its never going to satisfy you. just my 2cents worth :)

rssd21

ok I think is my fault o.o The battery is already flat o.o no wonder cannot turn on. I plug it in into the charger once again for 5 min and it turn on O_O and now the battery is like 1% o.o

Hope your heart is still ok. :D

anpanbun

try using this https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.mxtech.videoplayer.ad&feature=search_result#?t=W251bGwsMSwxLDEsImNvbS5teHRlY2gudmlkZW9wbGF5ZXIuYWQiXQ..

i think its an awesome vid player..plays all my .mkv and rmvb files..with subtitles...the user interface is awesome too..

and regarding battery life, i've got to say im disappointed at first too. but im pretty much used to it already. first off this is my FIRST smartphone..have been stucked with a noob samsung since army. so having the transition from a phone that last me for days to one that last me for less than a day is kinda big. but honestly, looking at the stuff i do with xs, i dont think its unreasonable at all. first of all, im someone who sleep for less than 5 hrs a day. so the amount of time my phone has no activity at all is really little. throughout the day i'd play games, watch some youtube or surf on it..each lasting for like 15-20 mins?..so probably 3 hrs in total..things like whatsapp, calling are pretty frequent too. i dont know how you guys would rank this frequency of usage but im guessing its at a rather normal level. the bat last me for about 18 hours?..one thing i found impressive is that after i watched 3 episodes (abt 2+hrs) of Mythbusters with 720p reso..the bat went from 85% to 41%...with a HD screen, i'd nv expect that...so for me the bat life is quite reasonable - unless you are a hardcore social media freak who has to be constantly updated with fb/tweeter/blogs+++ den i guess its never going to satisfy you. just my 2cents worth :)

I realized some of the apps are still running in the background even when I closed them. That might be draining the battery.

enegue84

Thanks for recommendation, I was just about to look for an app that could play MKV files. Would give that a try!

On the other hand, this is my first time on a smartphone too, and still not used to how the battery power drains out within a day even with moderate usage. I use it mostly to read news and RSS feeds, plus some messaging on whatsapp and line, yet it still drains at a rate that's a tad too fast. No auto-sync, and I hardly even play games or watch vids! -_-

timberland

Then how do we calibrate the battery? Should we or not?

u dun have to let the battery be flat then u can recharge, unlike last times Ni-cd, Nimh (older batteries u have to let it fully discharge then can charge.)

li-ion batts got no memory effects.

so they can be charge anytime. be it 20%, 50%, 80% ...

timberland

me... doesn't rly work on my phone leh. used to be okay on galaxy s.

ok than I don't download for Xperia S than :D

use task killer worse.

imagine, u kill all the running programs in the background...some programs / service are meant to be running. u kill them, they restart again in awhile.

confirm will take more power to restart them each time

i dun kill any programs. i just reboot my android device 2 x a week.

enegue84

u dun have to let the battery be flat then u can recharge, unlike last times Ni-cd, Nimh (older batteries u have to let it fully discharge then can charge.)

li-ion batts got no memory effects.

so they can be charge anytime. be it 20%, 50%, 80% ...

On the issue of charging batts, is it still bad practice to over-charge the mobile? I.e. charged till 100% liao, but still leave it connected to power socket for a few more hours.

I still tend to charge it only when it's below 10%, out of habit lol~

timberland

On the issue of charging batts, is it still bad practice to over-charge the mobile? I.e. charged till 100% liao, but still leave it connected to power socket for a few more hours.

I still tend to charge it only when it's below 10%, out of habit lol~

ppl say dun over-charge your battery. it's true. but then think again...who will be so hardworking , wake up in the middle of the night just to check if it's fully charged and turn off the power ? :s13::s13:

it's ok to let it run for a few hours after 100% charge. (provided that u are not using a charger that is higher than 1.5A output i.e. iPad 2 charger.

Prolong over charging using 2A - 2.1A chargers will shorten your battery lifespan.

enegue84

ppl say dun over-charge your battery. it's true. but then think again...who will be so hardworking , wake up in the middle of the night just to check if it's fully charged and turn off the power ? :s13::s13:

it's ok to let it run for a few hours after 100% charge. (provided that u are not using a charger that is higher than 1.5A output i.e. iPad 2 charger.

Prolong over charging using 2A - 2.1A chargers will shorten your battery lifespan.

In that case, I spend most of the time in office, so I normally reach my work desk with phone at about 15% left, then leave it connected to the usb port of my laptop to charge that way (iirc, output from usb ports are low right?) It usually hits close to 100% by about 3pm then I take it off. Plan to only use charger at home on weekends.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.