The Spectacles Thread. - Part 2

Magickiller9

Anyone know where to get ic berlin's (what do you call the side? Arms?)

I lost the left side. Damn sad.

vincent.sg

Hi all,

I have rather high degree shortsightedness, so I can only go for high index 1.74 plastic lenses. I chosen a pair of Zeiss with the blue light protection, paid around 850 for it. Is it reasonable?

All in a Day

I wont do that. I will go for good only.

P/S pls remember your eyes are the windows to your soul and the world around you. Without good vision and comfortable glasses the quality of your life will be compromised.

Here wishing all spectacles fanatics a very blessed xmas and best wishes for 2017!

Bro, if both equally good but 1 is cheaper than the other u don't want cheaper ah?

ftpofmpo

Hi all,

I have rather high degree shortsightedness, so I can only go for high index 1.74 plastic lenses. I chosen a pair of Zeiss with the blue light protection, paid around 850 for it. Is it reasonable?

Zeiss lens are always expensive.

Siegfield

Hi everyone!

Would anyone have any recommendations for durable (or well built) yet slightly fashionable frames?

Always quite pek chek when my frames give way at the joints etc when the screws corrodes or when the glue give way. Or even when the legs keep widening.

I'm not a very rough person, and I take care of my specs, so always quite sian when this happens.

Need not be super branded. And I don't really like sporty specs (cause don't suit my look).

Thanks so much!!

mikeeeey

Hi everyone!

Would anyone have any recommendations for durable (or well built) yet slightly fashionable frames?

Always quite pek chek when my frames give way at the joints etc when the screws corrodes or when the glue give way. Or even when the legs keep widening.

I'm not a very rough person, and I take care of my specs, so always quite sian when this happens.

Need not be super branded. And I don't really like sporty specs (cause don't suit my look).

Thanks so much!!

Definitely ic berlin.
Impossible to destroy. Screwless.

US$2017

Urgent - Appreciate Your Advise

Recently had eyecheck. Doc said has early stage of cataract on left; no ops for now till later. But has to make specs for shortsightness and longsightness. Prescription done given below. But I like a 2nd opinion on prescription to make specs today as yesterday till now having ongoing headache. Very little knowledge on specs and eyes but do not want progressive specs. Am in late 50s. Hope budget for both specs can be at S$400 otherwise no choice; not particular on frames. Any good place to recommend like in Bt Timah area? Many thanks!!

Right Left
SPH VA SPH CYL AXIS VA
Distance +1.75 6/6 +2.00 -0.50 110 6/6
Add +2.00 N5 +2.00 N5

Xeon_sg

Hi all,

Lens pricing is usually quite fixed. Worth or not is up to whether you like what you got. Personally I think $850 is kinda pricey.

I'm also using Zeiss with Blue light, only paid about $600+ with branded frame.

leonaheidern

Just came back from ngeeAnn Polytechnic optometry centre.

Quite interested in the clip-on pc lenses concept as I am a system administrator so I face pc the whole day.

How would I go about clipping that over a pair of Swiss flex or Silhouette frames?

Right side is -450/-050x090 (6/6+2)

Left side is -525/-100x040
(6/9-1)

PD is 60mm

Frames I want to reuse are below.
sK5nrntl.jpg

Sent from Sony E6883 using GAGT

curo

Does sin chew optics have Silhouette frame too? Want to do a new pair of spec. If they have then can compare if IC berlin or Silhouette suit me better.

dominicwor2

did a pair of DUN with normal zeiss lens (500 deg each) at capitol optical for 590. replacing my ByWP pair.

Biogentic

Bought a S.T. Dupont Rimless Frame made in Germany RM1791 and Hoya 1.67 with BC RM840 in Holiday Plaza.
Anyone has experience with S.T. Dupont frame? Durable? Anyway, I found almost all of those S.T. Dupont frames in spectacle chains are made in japan and cost like RM1.2k max only... wonder, I got kena chop carrot by them or not.

After reading the posts.. with this kind of budget, should have topup a bit more to buy Lindsberg.. hiaz didn't research enough

GoToSea

i have recently purchased a polarised prescription sunglasses from Owndays. Anyone purchased from them before? seems like the lenses got no polarised at all, tomorrow going back again to verify... really wasting my time... :(

Citiguy

i have recently purchased a polarised prescription sunglasses from Owndays. Anyone purchased from them before? seems like the lenses got no polarised at all, tomorrow going back again to verify... really wasting my time... :(

GoToSea, you still see a lot of reflections of glass surfaces?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.