RRP
Q4) May I know the RRP for the following:
Zeiss SV Indi 1.67, DuraVision Blueguard
Zeiss SV Smartlife Indi 1.67, DuraVision Blueguard
Zeiss Progressive Smartlife Indi 1.67, Photofusion Duravision Platinum UV
Zeiss Progressive Smartlife Superb 1.67, Photofusion Duravision Platinum UV
One unique thing abt zeiss is that they take into account yur pupil size when you age become smaller. Other brand no such exclusive design. If i am you, i just find a good optician then whack the customised lens (superb). Zeiss individual are highly individualized, personalized lens like bespoke shoes, only to yur personal fit and preference. Customised are like using an existing last and mould, not as fit but good enough already imo. That time i checked 2 yrs ago zeiss superb progressive already selling me $1.8k+ i pissed myself hurry up tell my optician i take hoya.

I think yur zeiss indi smartlife for progressive at least $3k?

dreamer_toons

Something to share.

I did my first pair of Zeiss progressive lenses from one of the authorised dealers I sourced from Zeiss online. I chose the Smartlife Plus and was told that there is a free upgrade to Superb lenses. In addition, there is a 15% discount promotion for those who want the Smartlife Individual. Promotion ends at the end of Sep.

subtleshift

Zeiss quite ex imo. For me, i took hoya mystyle profile straightaway as my first progressive (2nd highest tier, considered as customised and not personalized). Hoya highest tier progresdive ID myself requires the shop to have hoya identifier machine to take the requisite measurements which most shops do not have so no point take highest tier if the shop not willing to buy the expensive hoya equipment. Previously was using hoya SV nulux EP. Hoya is serving me well enough at a friendlier price. U might want to consider for its value and better scratch resistant properties?

how was your experience with hoya sv nulux EP? thinking of getting that and wondering if it is comfier than zeiss clearview/smartlife to use. also what is your rough degree (so that i can see if it will fit my case), and you have any experience with zeiss digital or sv? thanks!

thegardens3b

I would trust the results taken at the clinic more. in my case most of the results were around the same, except the ADD at clinic was 0.25 below than shop. my eyes were quite tired during this period so some slight difference may be normal i suppose.

Could i ask why would you trust the clinic result more? Is it due to the environment? Price paid?

thegardens3b

May I know why the eye screening results taken from hospital is higher than optical shop? Few days apart only. So which results to trust then?
It really depends on many factors.
For starters: Time of day tested, how your eyes feel when testing.
When a practitioner measures your prescription, the results is also dependent on your response. Eye prescription is kind of a personalised test from the way I view it. It would help if the same practitioner measures your prescription over the years. (Think of a concept similar to a family doctor).
Most prescription may differ slightly but it usually won't cause much disturbance.

Seannie

how was your experience with hoya sv nulux EP? thinking of getting that and wondering if it is comfier than zeiss clearview/smartlife to use. also what is your rough degree (so that i can see if it will fit my case), and you have any experience with zeiss digital or sv? thanks!
i dont think hoya still have nulux EP SV, thats many years ago i made, now they have even better lens design i think. But at that time, hoya nulux EP was fantastic and coating never peels. Zeiss Individual SV i tried before also, good thing is that it can be personalized to fit yur needs eg. better clarity for reading for less eye fatigue etc

russellf

Since you already late 40s i think taking +1.75 as future proof might be better if i am you i will do that. Im mid 40s already taking +1.5 even though +1.25 might already be sufficient.

How abt your 2019 lens? By right all should use the specialized zeiss machine. U bought all from same shop?

yup, i think i will go for 1.75 to prolong the usage.

only the 2015 lens required a zeiss machine. the other 2 bought from another shop which did use any machine. the 2nd shop did say they could not do i scription cos they dun have the machine so i dun think zeiss machine needed for Individual.

russellf

One unique thing abt zeiss is that they take into account yur pupil size when you age become smaller. Other brand no such exclusive design. If i am you, i just find a good optician then whack the customised lens (superb). Zeiss individual are highly individualized, personalized lens like bespoke shoes, only to yur personal fit and preference. Customised are like using an existing last and mould, not as fit but good enough already imo. That time i checked 2 yrs ago zeiss superb progressive already selling me $1.8k+ i pissed myself hurry up tell my optician i take hoya.

I think yur zeiss indi smartlife for progressive at least $3k?
none of my zeiss are progressive. first time going to try progressive, that's why wanted to get some advice. cos from the people i know who used progressive, response has been pretty mixed.

russellf

Something to share.

I did my first pair of Zeiss progressive lenses from one of the authorised dealers I sourced from Zeiss online. I chose the Smartlife Plus and was told that there is a free upgrade to Superb lenses. In addition, there is a 15% discount promotion for those who want the Smartlife Individual. Promotion ends at the end of Sep.

can share where u bought from with the promo?

russellf

Could i ask why would you trust the clinic result more? Is it due to the environment? Price paid?

the clinic is a specialist eye clinic. i would assume that the staff there would probably be better trained and there were more tests conducted as well although i'm not sure if the extra tests (including the specialist doctor review) are relevant for coming up with the degrees.

russellf

It really depends on many factors.
For starters: Time of day tested, how your eyes feel when testing.
When a practitioner measures your prescription, the results is also dependent on your response. Eye prescription is kind of a personalised test from the way I view it. It would help if the same practitioner measures your prescription over the years. (Think of a concept similar to a family doctor).
Most prescription may differ slightly but it usually won't cause much disturbance.
yeah i agree. sometimes i test until i can't really tell if there is any difference in what i'm seeing and the eyes also get progressively tired with the tests. some of the choices were quite marginal for some of the lens change and i wouldn't trust myself to get the exact same results if i went for the same tests again.

russellf

Monovision (mainly computer only)
I looked through the Zeiss website and am confused between the various type of SV lens.

From Zeiss page, it says that Smartlife is optimised for both far and near and delivers improved optical performance with larger, clear FOV compared to SV spherical and aspherical lenses.

Far and near benefits not that impt but it seems there is some improvement in optical performance?
And it seems there is a Zeiss Clearview as well?

Q1) If clarity is my main priority, which Zeiss SV lens should I go for?

from my personal experience, my 2019 non smartlife individual is clearer than the 2022 smartlife digital individual.

there is also a YT video (4:30) saying ClearView is clearer than Smartlife.

subtleshift

from my personal experience, my 2019 non smartlife individual is clearer than the 2022 smartlife digital individual.

there is also a YT video (4:30) saying ClearView is clearer than Smartlife.

i'm also interested to see if anyone has tried both smartlife and clearview SV (on probably same/close frame with same degree) to give feedback. i'm wearing clearview now and it's giving some eye strain -- not sure if it's because of the lens type causing the eye strain (like what was said in the video you shared) or more because of other things like PD being inaccurate. do you have eyestrain with your zeiss non-smartlife SV lenses?

russellf

i'm also interested to see if anyone has tried both smartlife and clearview SV (on probably same/close frame with same degree) to give feedback. i'm wearing clearview now and it's giving some eye strain -- not sure if it's because of the lens type causing the eye strain (like what was said in the video you shared) or more because of other things like PD being inaccurate. do you have eyestrain with your zeiss non-smartlife SV lenses?

from the video, there is some tradeoff between comfort and clarity.

using the zeiss non-smartlife SV lenses, generally no eyestrain as long as i intentionally take occasional breaks.

Lonelyoldman80

none of my zeiss are progressive. first time going to try progressive, that's why wanted to get some advice. cos from the people i know who used progressive, response has been pretty mixed.
Currently using smart life superb progressive with ic berlin frame .total price i bought is around $1850 which was 1.5 yrs ago .. took around 1 week to get used to the lenses as I also 1st time wearer of progressive glasses .but fast forward today , my lenses is full of scratches not sure why .been taking care of it and never use clothes or any cloth to wipe my lenses before .quite disappointed after paying such a premium price .should have go for nikkon ultimate progressive

thegardens3b

Currently using smart life superb progressive with ic berlin frame .total price i bought is around $1850 which was 1.5 yrs ago .. took around 1 week to get used to the lenses as I also 1st time wearer of progressive glasses .but fast forward today , my lenses is full of scratches not sure why .been taking care of it and never use clothes or any cloth to wipe my lenses before .quite disappointed after paying such a premium price .should have go for nikkon ultimate progressive
Pretty unfortunate. Usually if coating peels, still can claim warranty. However, for scratches, mostly is how you handle it. Something could have caused the lenses to be badly scratched..

russellf

from the earlier posts, seems hoya has the best coating.
so far my experience with zeiss coating is ok (the earliest it started peeling was after abt 4yrs), and i dun really take very good care of my specs.

firesong

Curious, how are the Kodak EvoCity lens?

Went for an eye check and heard from an optician that they are new, but Google tells me they have been around for at least a year?

popdod

Pretty unfortunate. Usually if coating peels, still can claim warranty. However, for scratches, mostly is how you handle it. Something could have caused the lenses to be badly scratched..

coating peel can claim? :eek:
my Zeiss oso peeling :(

therat

Does hoya progressive lens having promotion now?

Broke my spec (hoya progressive) Sian

This my existing Hoya lens that I did on Feb 20
Hoya lifestyle v+
Index 1.67
R 700 ; -0.75 CYL; 180 axis; ADD +1.75
L 625 ; -0.75 CYL; 180 axis; ADD +1.75

Any idea how is the cost now?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.