The Spectacles Thread. - Part 2

Gondon72

Yalar but as you know, optical brands and manufacturers also have to follow the big trend else they will lose out. Market demands what they will produce what to optimise profits, even though large frames arent the nicest or most suitable for everyone, especially if face is small and short. Functionality wise, large frame will cover and touch the cheekbones. By right, frame should not touch our cheeks at all other than at the nosepad area and at the ears area (not even supposed to touch our head temples). But broad asian buibui faces sure have trouble finding frames to fit. Straight temples frame suit angmoh or those skulls which are narrower in front and broader at the back. My head is broad all the way. Then if prescription is high the lens will be very thick and heavy with large frames. But frames which are too small will not be able to wrap around my head well. That is part of the reason why so many people will opt for lasik instead and much cheaper. Though technology so advanced nowadays there is still not much development and reasearch in optical lens or frames. Plastic lens generally stop at 1.74 index thinnest. And frames are all mass produced they dont even have customisation choice. So many things are now bespoke custom made yet eyewear still have not progressed much. If got customisation then will solve all your problems. You want 20mm 23mm 26mm you choose then ask factory make but must prepare to pay higher price just like bespoke shoes and suits. But how many willing to pay and which manufacturers want to do that. Guess technically too difficult and costly.

Big frames i remember around 2010 already started with those retro big frames. Maybe round ones come later.

Come to think of it, I do also have the same problem since my head is also quiet big and broad. I can't really wear those frame where the long parts is straight kind(don't know what is called) that hooks to ear, else it will stick tightly to my head and I will feel pain after some time.

Seannie

That’s super detailed hahahaha. There’s a few shop in Singapore that does bespoke glasses a.k.a 3D printed glasses and eyewear optics is one of them. Can consider paying them a visit if you want to make. Material is mylon and mykita 3d printed glasses is using the very same material.

Fully customisable? Meaning i can order the measurements i want, eg. 54-16-138 lens height 30mm? Including the curvature angle of the side temples?

How about the material? For example, can i choose beta titanium for the front part and acetate for the side? For the end temple tip can i choose not to have seperate end tip but instead acetate in one piece etc?

Frame design wise can i input my ideas and thoughts and provide the details to manufacturer to make?

GANGSTERKIA

Nope, purely mylon. But yes fully customisable. Sounds good right? Price is about 500 plus.
Their temple is titanium though with “spring”
I don’t understand your temple tip part, can elaborate abit more? Ps
Fully customisable? Meaning i can order the measurements i want, eg. 54-16-138 lens height 30mm? Including the curvature angle of the side temples?

How about the material? For example, can i choose beta titanium for the front part and acetate for the side? For the end temple tip can i choose not to have seperate end tip but instead acetate in one piece etc?

Frame design wise can i input my ideas and thoughts and provide the details to manufacturer to make?

lowsesbbfa

Yalar but as you know, optical brands and manufacturers also have to follow the big trend else they will lose out. Market demands what they will produce what to optimise profits, even though large frames arent the nicest or most suitable for everyone, especially if face is small and short. Functionality wise, large frame will cover and touch the cheekbones. By right, frame should not touch our cheeks at all other than at the nosepad area and at the ears area (not even supposed to touch our head temples). But broad asian buibui faces sure have trouble finding frames to fit. Straight temples frame suit angmoh or those skulls which are narrower in front and broader at the back. My head is broad all the way. Then if prescription is high the lens will be very thick and heavy with large frames. But frames which are too small will not be able to wrap around my head well. That is part of the reason why so many people will opt for lasik instead and much cheaper. Though technology so advanced nowadays there is still not much development and reasearch in optical lens or frames. Plastic lens generally stop at 1.74 index thinnest. And frames are all mass produced they dont even have customisation choice. So many things are now bespoke custom made yet eyewear still have not progressed much. If got customisation then will solve all your problems. You want 20mm 23mm 26mm you choose then ask factory make but must prepare to pay higher price just like bespoke shoes and suits. But how many willing to pay and which manufacturers want to do that. Guess technically too difficult and costly.

Big frames i remember around 2010 already started with those retro big frames. Maybe round ones come later.

Yah, exactly. I see so many buibui wearing big specs, looking like goondu to be honest.

That kind of temple kiap to the sides of the head still OK as long as the frame overall is lightweight. Otherwise, yah, it’s really tiring to wear. I had one stainless steel frame, the temples curved inwards and even though the frame height very short, overall very heavy and uncomfortable to wear.

Even if got bespoke option, I also no $$...so for now, I just have to keep hunting for the perfect pair of small frames. But spent 1 year looking also nothing really nice so far.

Seannie

Yah, exactly. I see so many buibui wearing big specs, looking like goondu to be honest.

That kind of temple kiap to the sides of the head still OK as long as the frame overall is lightweight. Otherwise, yah, it’s really tiring to wear. I had one stainless steel frame, the temples curved inwards and even though the frame height very short, overall very heavy and uncomfortable to wear.

Even if got bespoke option, I also no $$...so for now, I just have to keep hunting for the perfect pair of small frames. But spent 1 year looking also nothing really nice so far.

Not only bui bui la. Even those slim young xmm wear big round frames also damn ugly. U know last time about 30 years ago if you wear big specs in school you will be viewed as nerdy and get shunned by classmates because doesnt look cool at all.

Now every youngster wear big round frames and think its cool. Cannot understand la. Really generation changed liao. Looking like goondu is the new cool. Alamak. Think im old and obsolete liao.

lowsesbbfa

Not only bui bui la. Even those slim young xmm wear big round frames also damn ugly. U know last time about 30 years ago if you wear big specs in school you will be viewed as nerdy and get shunned by classmates because doesnt look cool at all.

Now every youngster wear big round frames and think its cool. Cannot understand la. Really generation changed liao. Looking like goondu is the new cool. Alamak. Think im old and obsolete liao.

Monkey see monkey do lor.

But I thought that kind of big, round frames ish popular in the early to mid 90s? Only towards late 90s, early 2000s then smaller frames more popular

Seannie

Monkey see monkey do lor.

But I thought that kind of big, round frames ish popular in the early to mid 90s? Only towards late 90s, early 2000s then smaller frames more popular

I guess you dont travel around by mrt or buses much, maybe you drive. Super big and round specs only became very popular this 2-3 years. Now everywhere i go i see xmm all spotting these big round frames they think they will look like kpop stars meh? Imo i think look too ugly.

lowsesbbfa

I guess you dont travel around by mrt or buses much, maybe you drive. Super big and round specs only became very popular this 2-3 years. Now everywhere i go i see xmm all spotting these big round frames they think they will look like kpop stars meh? Imo i think look too ugly.

I don't even have licence :s13: But yah, nowadays frames if not big+round, are still too big. I wonder how many people actually realise that.

Ic!berlin and tag not really ex lar. At most $700-800. There are more atas luxury optical brands around.

Btw i dont see tagheuer frames in the mkt anymore.

My current specs, stock Essilor transition lens and titanium frames, I did it for only $400 total leh :(

Seannie

I don't even have licence :s13: But yah, nowadays frames if not big+round, are still too big. I wonder how many people actually realise that.

My current specs, stock Essilor transition lens and titanium frames, I did it for only $400 total leh :(

Youngsters dont care if fit them or not la. Just want follow the trend and many value shops pop out after owndays selling cheap frames like under $100 etc.

In the 80s, if u go those meighbourhood shops all selling only big plastic frames at that time metal frames are quite rare, not quite here yet. Then start of the 90s, small tiny metal frames start invading sg mkt. Why i know? Becos at that time, im in secondary school and remembered clearly my classmates started to change to gold metal frames. Im still wearing those big plastic frames that give the nerdy vibes and get shunned by everyone. At that time gold metal frames are chic and have those extra sun shades clip on. Early 90s was a transition period from big plastic frames to small metal stainless steel frames, especially gold colored are a hit back then.

Then as metal frames got more poplular in the 90s, plastic frames started to fade out. At one point of time, i could not even find any shops that sell plastic frames. I still remembered walking into shops asking for normal plastic frames. All said they dont have. Maybe just a few pairs only for those army wear. Black matte plastic frames only. That was around mid-90s.

Seannie

In the later half of the 90s, metal frames started to evolve and titanium frames started to come out. Those optical staff always recommend titanium because 飞机铁 are light and durable. Always said titanium are used to made aeroplanes.

At the turn of the century, more evolution as earlier full rim frames start to fade and semi-rimmed i.e. half-rim together with rimless frames became popular. There was a short time when rimless frames flooded the mkt. After that, beta titanium/memory/flexon came into mkt. Thats when the tagheuer/silhuoette/ic!berlin era came. Near to end of 2000s, i think around 2007.

After these died down, retro frames staged a come back. Thats when big retro plastic frames trend came back in the 2010s. Then kpop exploded and big round metal frames came back again and lasted until now.

At this turn of the decade 2020s, will the kpop trend continue or dies down and another trend comes along? Looking at history its very likely and in just a matter of time.

kyweng

foptics quoted me $1,176 (after discount) for varilux physio 3.0 1.67 index (+ Transitions), and $1,620 for varilux x 1.74 (+ Transitions)... good deal?

Both prices inclusive of their in-house frames, but frankly speaking the choices really really limited and the design CMI.

My degree quite high 700++, using varilux physio 3.0 now, so "downgrading" is not really an option :p

GANGSTERKIA

Hi! @seannnnnie too.

Which area of spore do you live at? Maybe I can recommend you a place nearer to your area?

My current workplace is a little far and ulu.

GANGSTERKIA, can you pls pm me the location of your shop. Thanks.

GANGSTERKIA

Will help you to check ltr too!

foptics quoted me $1,176 (after discount) for varilux physio 3.0 1.67 index (+ Transitions), and $1,620 for varilux x 1.74 (+ Transitions)... good deal?

Both prices inclusive of their in-house frames, but frankly speaking the choices really really limited and the design CMI.

My degree quite high 700++, using varilux physio 3.0 now, so "downgrading" is not really an option :p

GANGSTERKIA

Very nice discount given to you. Frames are literally free too if it’s that price. You should consider, if not can ask them buy lens and get frame somewhere else.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.