The Spectacles Thread. - Part 2

Seannie

Every 5 years change lens? You so confident your prescription no changes and lens no scratches?

I have been using hoya SV lenses for many years. Scratch will appear after about 5 yrs. I plan 5 years to change because according to some research, the near point accomodation changes more signficantly after every 5 years, starting from age 40. Ofcos 2-3 years will have about +0.25 increment but i plan to forego it and wait to accumulate to +0.50 then change lens. Thats my planning la. Im early 40s now, still can see within 25cm with my SV lens so im thinking wait another 2 years then get hoya mystyle progressive lens. Should be minimally +1.00 by then.

Renzokukenz

I would actually recommend you to use an office lens. Meaning a pair of glasses for general use, and a pair of office lens for office desk use. The amount of comfort you get is really significant. But it will be more costly in the sense, you are making a progressive and an office lens.
If not, then yeah probably a higher tier progressive lens would be better for you. X series lenses would be good but I personally lean towards Hoya more. Either the lifestyle V+ Or better, mystyle profile.

I bought a pair of Specs with blue-light protection and they gave me another pair FOC WITHOUT blue light protection

both are crizal lenses with authenticity card
i am thinking of using the blue light pair as my computer spectacles and the other one as my everyday wear.

what do you think?

therat

my 1st progressive lens - hoya balansis. around 6 yrs, the coating start to give way
Just last week (on its 7 yrs), the frame just broke off while I'm wearing. Luckily last yr I make another pair progressive - hoya lifestyle V+ as GANGSTERKIA recommended.

other than the lens, frame also another issue.

I'm still thinking about the computer lens... should I go for it...

mackrazy

What’s the price range of the Hoya Lifestyle V+?

my 1st progressive lens - hoya balansis. around 6 yrs, the coating start to give way
Just last week (on its 7 yrs), the frame just broke off while I'm wearing. Luckily last yr I make another pair progressive - hoya lifestyle V+ as GANGSTERKIA recommended.

Seannie

U very rough usage with specs ah??

Please provide FR for hoya balansis and v+

Thanks.

GANGSTERKIA

Sync 3 pro is digital, dynamic premium is progressive. 1.53 is trivex material which means it is tougher just like polycarbonate BUT the optical clarity is much better than polycarbonate.

Is Dynamic premium a lens type? As I was told my lens is Sync III Pro. And may I know what is the difference between 1.50 and 1.53 (trivex)? Thanks.

GANGSTERKIA

Both same prescription? If yes, just use blue light filter lenses all the way.

I bought a pair of Specs with blue-light protection and they gave me another pair FOC WITHOUT blue light protection

both are crizal lenses with authenticity card
i am thinking of using the blue light pair as my computer spectacles and the other one as my everyday wear.

what do you think?

GANGSTERKIA

40s already is +1.00. If you plan to save, it’s possible. Just that reading will be an issue for you.

I have been using hoya SV lenses for many years. Scratch will appear after about 5 yrs. I plan 5 years to change because according to some research, the near point accomodation changes more signficantly after every 5 years, starting from age 40. Ofcos 2-3 years will have about +0.25 increment but i plan to forego it and wait to accumulate to +0.50 then change lens. Thats my planning la. Im early 40s now, still can see within 25cm with my SV lens so im thinking wait another 2 years then get hoya mystyle progressive lens. Should be minimally +1.00 by then.

GANGSTERKIA

Yeap. The lifestyle v+ for a start would be good start. Essilor you can look towards Physio or the Basic x-design.

Yes to your desk pair explaination.

Thanks bro! I think I’m leaning towards a single pair if it’s more economical, and then perhaps get a desk pair if it doesn’t work out. So the desk pair will focus more on near (computer vision) + fine print (reading) correct ? Then the general use is like my current progressives. I never considered Hoya! I think I have been influenced by the X Series advertising. But I’ll start researching. Would Hoya be a more affordable price point to look at ?

Renzokukenz

Both same prescription? If yes, just use blue light filter lenses all the way.

yea both same prescription

but aesthetically the one without blue light protection, more sport and more suitable for everyday use

hahahahahaha vanity reasons

GANGSTERKIA

Hahaha, then I guess you have the answer already.
Yeap won’t have any detrimental issue to you.

but aesthetically the one without blue light protection, more sport and more suitable for everyday use

peaceheart

Wow u take care of your lens very well. My longest is 4 years for lens. Frames normally can last longer

peaceheart

Hahaha, then I guess you have the answer already.
Yeap won’t have any detrimental issue to you.
Actually to me, blue light filter lens look clear to me if worn on. But the yellow tint is very obvious if placed on a white sheet of paper

Renzokukenz

Actually to me, blue light filter lens look clear to me if worn on. But the yellow tint is very obvious if placed on a white sheet of paper

got different technologies

i have seen certain blue light lenses looks clear, and when you shine blue torch light on it, it legitimately blocks them

Seannie

Wow u take care of your lens very well. My longest is 4 years for lens. Frames normally can last longer

Lol.. forget to mention i have a few pairs. So i rotate so maybe can last more years. But generally after 5 years even if no scratches from daily wear, the coating might still drop a bit lor.

Seannie

Qns to all. Do you have a spare/sports pair of glasses at all times?

I have. 3 old spare specs (cheap lens) for jogging/running/swimming. Another old one for going spa. Another one for weekend go out gai gai or just downstairs cut hair etc. Another one zeiss individual SV for wfh and watching tv. If going office i have another 3 pairs (hoya nulux EP). All single vision lenses.

Thats why now reaching 45 yrs old im fretting and stressed out because all have to replace. :(

peaceheart

Lol.. forget to mention i have a few pairs. So i rotate so maybe can last more years. But generally after 5 years even if no scratches from daily wear, the coating might still drop a bit lor.
I have. 3 old spare specs (cheap lens) for jogging/running/swimming. Another old one for going spa. Another one for weekend go out gai gai or just downstairs cut hair etc. Another one zeiss individual SV for wfh and watching tv. If going office i have another 3 pairs (hoya nulux EP). All single vision lenses.

Thats why now reaching 45 yrs old im fretting and stressed out because all have to replace. :(
Hahah I wanted to ask that too. Since you have so many pairs of spectacles, do you change them all at the same time? I believe should change at same time right? Else prescription will be different

Seannie

40s already is +1.00. If you plan to save, it’s possible. Just that reading will be an issue for you.

Reading still ok for me. I manually measured with ruler about 25cm away from eyes i can see... maybe 25-30cm bah. I read from google 25cm is no need ADD. There is a chart. I think called near point of accomodation age chart. U guys can google take a look for general reference.

Seannie

Hahah I wanted to ask that too. Since you have so many pairs of spectacles, do you change them all at the same time? I believe should change at same time right? Else prescription will be different

Those are bought over a span of many years de. Last time 30s buy like no tomorrow. :( Vision still good so all same prescriptions. Now realize going to hit 45 yr old so worried about costs if i need to replace all leh. Maybe i have to be selective liao, choose 2-3 good frames to make mystyle profile progressive. Then the rest freeze first. Jogging and sports i think still can use old pairs single vision since jogging no need read words mah. Lol. Signage still can see. Wont buay lin chu. Hahaha

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.