The Spectacles Thread.

Roundhouse

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shock!
I believe Northern Opticians at Jurong Point level 2 has a similar one for like $100 for the frame with free lens or something
thanks! ill go check them out too!

wow, rimless frame with polycarbonate lenses only S$100?????

Roundhouse

can someone tell me got what kind of lenses available

http://www.hitoplens.com/

you can refer to theweb link above and click on the product page to see what lens manufacturer has to offer.

This is a local company and they say you can order here to get the uncut lenses and then take them to your spectacles frame outlet to ask them to cut it into the appropriate shape and ift them into the frame...not sure whether spectacle frame shop does this...

Roundhouse

got transmatic super-lite lenses, polyace lenses, titansteel lenses, polychromic lenses, transition lenses, hizar lens, polycarbonate lens, etc...

polyace lens got protection from infra red radiation

Polyace Neo Brown
• Refractive Index: 1.56
• Anti-Reflection Coated (Multicoated)
• UV400 (100%) Protection
• Protection from Infra-Red
• Eliminates Static Electricity
• Provides Electro Magnetic Interference Shielding
• Lighter than most Hi-Index Lenses
• High Impact Resistance
• Anti-Water (Water Resistance)
• Neo Brown Tinted

Roundhouse

TITANSTEEL TTS Lens
• TITANSTEEL TTS LENS
• Refractive Index: 1.57
• Full 100% UV Protection
• Double Hard (Scratch Resistant) Coating
• Super Impact Resistant Certified by FDA
• Low Reflection Multi (Anti Reflective) Coating
• High Clarity at 48 ABBE Value
• 99% of Visual Transmission

Bibi_Lala

Seriously, I dun think Hi top photochromic lens colour look nice.... ILT's sun active nicer leh... Darker also... Something like transitions.. Maybe a lil lighter?

rudolf

i am thinking to buy a pair of transition lens. what perturbs me greatly is the discrepancy between the prices sold at different shops(180-240). Do you guys know what accounts for the differences?

Are there new generation transition lens or whatever that is causing the difference is prices?

Bibi_Lala

i am thinking to buy a pair of transition lens. what perturbs me greatly is the discrepancy between the prices sold at different shops(180-240). Do you guys know what accounts for the differences?

Are there new generation transition lens or whatever that is causing the difference is prices?

New generation transitions price is same as the old 1 lor.. If they quote u higher price for the new gen, obviously is wanna earn ur $ liao...

Photochromic and transitions diff is, transitions changes faster and darker... Photochromic got more colours thou...

Transitions is more expensive becoz of it's branding...

Roundhouse

New generation transitions price is same as the old 1 lor.. If they quote u higher price for the new gen, obviously is wanna earn ur $ liao...

Photochromic and transitions diff is, transitions changes faster and darker... Photochromic got more colours thou...

transitions lens also got anti-reflective (multi-coating) coatings (+$20-40), teflon coating (+$20-30), hard protective coatings.

transition high index cost about double of that of non high index transition lens.

Roundhouse

photocromic i think not suitable for cold countries.....those snowing ones. cause can get false positive results....due to low temperatures.

rudolf

transitions lens also got anti-reflective (multi-coating) coatings (+$20-40), teflon coating (+$20-30), hard protective coatings.

transition high index cost about double of that of non high index transition lens.

i ask around. only comes with anti-reflective coating leh. teflon coating must buy the carl zeiss lens. altogether 500 plus.

Bibi_Lala

Sorry but i dun understand why need to +$20-40 for mc lens when Transitions already got MC wad...

Cerius

hmmm hi i'm new to this thread, want to ask some questions here =)

I'm having about 400+ degree per eye right now but one of my eyes have like 275 astigmatism...

if i were to get a transition lens with 1.6 index roughly how much would it cost? i'm being quoted like 590 for the zeiss lens at spectable hut-_-

Roundhouse

Sorry but i dun understand why need to +$20-40 for mc lens when Transitions already got MC wad...

don't know, some shops quote me transition lens without Multi-coating....they say must pay extra money for MC. could it be a gimmick?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.