The Spectacles Thread.

jsl2837

Does anyone know the market price of getting a prescription alone, without buying spectacles from the shop?

I want a prescription because I'm considering buying frame + lenses online.

If anyone has done this before, I'd love to hear about your experience; especially if you know any good shops near Jurong.

ceestudent

Hi guys,

Usually, where do you buy the microfiber cloth to clean your lens?
Long time ago, I got this small Zeiss spray with the microfiber cloth. But, could not find it in the spectacle shop nowadays.

Kenneth C

Hi guys,

Usually, where do you buy the microfiber cloth to clean your lens?
Long time ago, I got this small Zeiss spray with the microfiber cloth. But, could not find it in the spectacle shop nowadays.

I think most optical shops sell these micofiber cloth. In fact, most optical shops give them free with spectacle cases.

Kenneth C

Does anyone know the market price of getting a prescription alone, without buying spectacles from the shop?

I want a prescription because I'm considering buying frame + lenses online.

If anyone has done this before, I'd love to hear about your experience; especially if you know any good shops near Jurong.

My advice - just go to a local shop to purchases the frame and get your prescription done. If there are problems, you can go back to the shop for after-sales service.

patryn33

I really dunno if it's about size but do u have any other brands to recommend?
one other thing about tag is cannot wear with just one hand. at least for me. the flexible arms always get in the way.
normal frames no problem

U must try the wrong series, there automatic series open up, design for ppl that likes to wear with a hand. AD priced at usd$600+ it's like ~$700-900 for frame u lich man can burn on a few tag frames.

1 frame usually last me > 2 yrs.

patryn33

yalar, now the executives oso don wear tag liao. Even oakley is slowly losing mkt. Now icberlin getting popular. More minimalist & classy look. Oak too sporty.

The executive u met? Those that wore threw their tag frame out?
Oakley losing market in sg?? No worry population so small. Lol

Ic!Berlin cheap cheap. Thanx for intro the brand
http://www.icberlinstore.com/
http://www.glassesic.com/icberlin-eye-glasses.html

patryn33

TS dont be too humble lei. U got car, i take mrt. And u gg hoot a $3k watch but me oni a tissot. I oso regret buying tag, oakley, icberlin cos all don fit me. I learnt it the very hard way lor. Have spent a fortune. Finally now know what fit i shd look for. So nowadays more to collecting those specs that i like and know if dont buy i wont have the chance again. To me spec is more impt than a watch. Firstly, its more of a need than a want. Secondly, fashion wise spec can do mre magic than a watch. My gal hates guys who wear white colour spec think it look v ugly. :D

Darn!! Have $$ to collect expensive specs still want to bitch about life and no $$ on watch thread.
U just happen to spend those $$ on specs that really has no resale value in pawn shop.
No fashion a $100k watch also does wonders lol.
Got $$$ wear no brand tee also like that.. That's the sad part with life.
Guy leh ugly not fashionable does wonders.
Fashionable wanna hook up with chio bu also must work a lot harder.
The magic of money. Lol

Buy glasses can go to shop and try still **** up and got those that didn't fit?
I thought that's the joy of buying in stores, don't tell me u get them online?

ahboy82

Darn!! Have $$ to collect expensive specs still want to bitch about life and no $$ on watch thread.
U just happen to spend those $$ on specs that really has no resale value in pawn shop.
No fashion a $100k watch also does wonders lol.
Got $$$ wear no brand tee also like that.. That's the sad part with life.
Guy leh ugly not fashionable does wonders.
Fashionable wanna hook up with chio bu also must work a lot harder.
The magic of money. Lol

Buy glasses can go to shop and try still **** up and got those that didn't fit?

try in store is 1 thing. as u wear for a long time then u get to know if the specs really suit u.

experience this with my swissflex specs. try in store is sibei light, sibei nice to wear. wear for a few days liao realize the specs keep sliding down, give me headache.

:vijayadmin::vijayadmin::vijayadmin:

Carnage

Guys, ever heard of Tokai lenses? Optician told me it is a better coating than Hoya.

warhunter

Guys, ever heard of Tokai lenses? Optician told me it is a better coating than Hoya.

i personally think comparable only la. not better. hoya is overpriced. cos of the ads. essilor is even more overpriced. hardcore advertising.

I would rather u spend more and get zeiss. i have 2 pairs with zeiss lenses. no regrets. easy to clean all the time.

Seannie

try in store is 1 thing. as u wear for a long time then u get to know if the specs really suit u.
experience this with my swissflex specs. try in store is sibei light, sibei nice to wear. wear for a few days liao realize the specs keep sliding down, give me headache.
:vijayadmin::vijayadmin::vijayadmin:

Ahboy, u remember i posted say that swissflex kept sluding down right, the fit not suitable to most ppl right?

Seannie

The executive u met? Those that wore threw their tag frame out?
Oakley losing market in sg?? No worry population so small. Lol
Ic!Berlin cheap cheap. Thanx for intro the brand

I saw uncle executives wear tag lor.. Some yuppies too... But generally those really atas ones go for better brands like Phillip Starck by alan mikli, Japonism,IC!berlin etc. As for oakleys dont want comment la its not matured looking not too presentable, usually auditors like to wear them. U go pwc, deloitte, EY buildings and see for yourself lo..

Seannie

U must try the wrong series, there automatic series open up, design for ppl that likes to wear with a hand. AD priced at usd$600+ it's like ~$700-900 for frame u lich man can burn on a few tag frames.

1 frame usually last me > 2 yrs.

Sorry for the dampener, but tag automatic will not suit big heads like yotakkame. The side temples will squeeze him tight tight till he headache. But since u say he lich then go burn sme $ lor. Thats how i learnt the hard way too.

Seannie

The magic of money. Lol

Watch thread is watch thread. Spec is spec. I dont mix the two. I just cant see eye to eye with lich ppl who burn $ on sme overpriced watches. For specs im trying to procure the best posdible fit, without which it will affect my daily activities, i will feel uncomfy & cant concentrate on my work. After many years of experiments, pain and anslysis i managed to overcome my fitting problem, albeit at a heavy price. Now i dont spend so much on specs anymore. As for watches, even you dont wear any wont make u feel uncomfy. Its just pure vanity or a need to uphold & made known one's status. Ofcos if i can well afford a JLC i will hoot like lich guys too. Or maybe i will think whether i need to have so nany luxury watches or not. Ofcos ple who earn tens of thousands of dollars a day ir a month will be nothing to them. By the way, no matter how expensive a spec xan be its nothing compared to a luxury watch. In sg retail mkt usually most exp that a spec can go up to is under 2k, if u dont include those made of gold or diamonds or speciak material but these are very rare.

Seannie

I will never buy specs online and will never endorse ppl to do that. In fact i feel sad that people buy online. You dont know if it fits you or not. I hope retail mkt will remain forever and not be replaced by online shopping.

warhunter

Watch thread is watch thread. Spec is spec. I dont mix the two. I just cant see eye to eye with lich ppl who burn $ on sme overpriced watches. For specs im trying to procure the best posdible fit, without which it will affect my daily activities, i will feel uncomfy & cant concentrate on my work. After many years of experiments, pain and anslysis i managed to overcome my fitting problem, albeit at a heavy price. Now i dont spend so much on specs anymore. As for watches, even you dont wear any wont make u feel uncomfy. Its just pure vanity or a need to uphold & made known one's status. Ofcos if i can well afford a JLC i will hoot like lich guys too. Or maybe i will think whether i need to have so nany luxury watches or not. Ofcos ple who earn tens of thousands of dollars a day ir a month will be nothing to them. By the way, no matter how expensive a spec xan be its nothing compared to a luxury watch. In sg retail mkt usually most exp that a spec can go up to is under 2k, if u dont include those made of gold or diamonds or speciak material but these are very rare.

Lol there's specs more than 2k. I worked in a shop in orchard. Many big shot go buy. Specs 4 5 k also have. Maybe u can go shop and get some

Seannie

I think most optical shops sell these micofiber cloth. In fact, most optical shops give them free with spectacle cases.

My optician always hand out original Hoya's superbig & supercio microfiber cloth to me.:o

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.