The Watch Thread - Part 10

slow_mo

would it be fair to say that watches without second hands are for those too loaded and carefree to care about punctuality and counting the seconds?

iconic grail watches like the AP RO jumbo ultra thin, JLC reversos, etc lack a second hand.

which, of course, makes it difficult to set the time to the second and track it's accuracy, no?

the conundrum.....

To set time to the second, just assume that the second hand is at 12 when you set the minute hand accurate to the minute. Doesn't matter where the "invisible" second hand is, when it goes 1 round, the minute hand will move 1 minute.

Anyway... I'm not loaded and not really carefree... I just like the Moonphase even it's without a second hand.

Btw... I'm almost always punctual.

TeenTitan01

Hi bros! Plan to get my first watch, plan to save up for the Tudor Black Bay... Or any bros want to talk me into getting rolex instead? Anyway... Any stores to recommend for getting Tudor Black Bay at the lowest price? Roughly how much will it be? Preferred a local stores. Many thanks!!!

try carousell, the local watch forums like swx, etc or the 2nd hand watch shops.

if rolex sub is your grail, I suggest you tahan, and save up more and used the money you'd otherwise spend on the tudor on your sub instead.

Oceania

hi there bro Oceania!

I got into the watch game late and got my omega 2254.50 way too late! otherwise I'd bought the great white that you offered in 2014. :(

got any good lobang for an Omega 2538.20 Seamaster GMT Great White? anyone? Thanks! :)

Hi Bro! Long time!

The omega 2254.50 is an icon and a great daily beater. Wah you still remembered i had a great shark once :)

It is quite rare to find actually, especially a complete set. Will keep a lookout for you ;)

slow_mo

Hi Bro! Long time!

The omega 2254.50 is an icon and a great daily beater. Wah you still remembered i had a great shark once :)

It is quite rare to find actually, especially a complete set. Will keep a lookout for you ;)

Oceania might have another Great White Shark in his ocean of watch collection!!!

TeenTitan01

Please don't give people the wrong impression that Rolex give 10% discounts for submariner. In fact afaik, Rolex do not encourage giving any discounts for their watches bought through their AD. Even if give, it's very minimal.

We have a fellow watch lover here who accidentally posted some discounts he gotten through Rolex Singapore AD and shortly after that, he was contacted directly by Rolex Singapore to remove such posts from HWZ forum.

So let's be more discreet about it and don't "spoil market" even thou you may not don't give a darn about it.

through grey dealers - 10% is very the possible!

so how is this possible for watch dealers to give better discounts and still make a profit?

rolex can control the discount all it wants at their AD level. but since their ADs have to sell a minimum number of rolex watches in order to remain an AD, there are always ADs stuck with unsold inventory. they then offload them to grey dealers at a discount more substantial than retail discount.

this gentleman is the why and how grey sets with current warranty are available with better than AD discounts.

TeenTitan01

Heard G Shock being discussed. Showing my g shock given by wife over 9 years ago when we are still part-toring.

G shock battery really last as they claimed 8 years!

bFDwJkn.jpg

pink!! this one is you give wife or wife give you?! :D

TeenTitan01

Hello!

My partner's birthday is coming up and I was thinking of getting him a watch. Last year, I read through this thread and decided on the Tissot Visodate (Thanks!!).

Not sure what to get this year? Seems like there's a lot of buzz on Steinhart/Seiko but I don't think he will like it. My budget is about $2.5K? Hope anyone here can throw me some watch brands so I can check it out? What would you like to receive? He doesn't dress in office wear, mostly in casual shirts and jeans if that's any help? Thank you!!

get him an omega seamaster professional chronometer ref 2254.50.

although out-of-production, it's available in the pre-owned market for your budget.

this watch has attained desirable cult status in the watch world, and as a 300m rated diver, it's tough & water resistant and will definitely fit his style. it also wears well in a suit like the rolex sub (but at a fraction of its price - and no one can say it's a fake). as a chronometer, it's accuracy, when properly regulated is within -4/+6 secs/day.

see my review here: http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/fashion-grooming-235/watch-thread-part-9-a-5265967-550.html#post101370464

TeenTitan01

He already got a dressy one in the Visodate. So why not consider something more rugged, like a diver's watch/sporty ranges?

TBH Seiko/Steinhart/Squale/Citizen/Oris has quite a range, so you may wanna take a quick look at some of their offerings? Or can look for something pre-owned (though not advisable if you are not too familiar w watches?) If I had $2.5K to spend on a watch, I would probably get:

1) pre-owned Omega 2254
2) Oris 65 + change of $1K to spare (maybe whack another Steinhart, more is better, no?)

looking forward to your wrist shot soon, bro knightcover! :s12:

TeenTitan01

Ok lor. Those who wanna hoot sub. Can buy through gx. And if Rolex AD do not honour the discount, you can ask gx to top up the differences.

Anyway... for the rest of the new fellows here, Other dai gor in this watch threadd, like Yatto, iceflight, Oceania, paladium, strap god, Nakedtoes, jase07, TRT they do not openly share rolex AD discounts at all and they also don't guarantee the discounts at AD

Don't believe? Just do a forum search :)

Lunch time!
*peace out*

wah, must own rolex than can be dai gor here. sad! :(

uncle here must remain uncle with my mere omega 2254.50. :(

TeenTitan01

No share discount for what reason? As long as u don say which sales executive is fine wat. Just add disclaimer that such discounts are dependent on strength of relationship established with the grey dealer or AD la. Is Gd help people not get chop. Even if they are new at least can try negotiate knowing there's room for it.

support! :s12:

gaoxing84

through grey dealers - 10% is very the possible!

so how is this possible for watch dealers to give better discounts and still make a profit?

rolex can control the discount all it wants at their AD level. but since their ADs have to sell a minimum number of rolex watches in order to remain an AD, there are always ADs stuck with unsold inventory. they then offload them to grey dealers at a discount more substantial than retail discount.

this gentleman is the why and how grey sets with current warranty are available with better than AD discounts.

Thru grey is better. I think maybe more than 10%. And grey don't list at list. They put selling price straight.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.