The Watch Thread - Part 10

cyrenic

Bro dun worry too much. Many school of thoughts some say a actual active person would have clock more than the TPD required of most watch anyway.

I will be receiving Tml. Will use a wind down orient star to see how much it wind up from 0 PR to full. If like a bit already wind up fully I be concerned if like exceed abit only then should be safe
I thought exceed for auto is no problem cos it will disengage? Cos ya, active people will destroy watch if that's the case.

reikizi

never tried HK to buy seiko. probably because i don't speak cantonese. are they friendly i.e. can touch-see-bargain-touch-see-bargain....

that's the older hong kong ... rast time touch liao no buy will kena **** .. :s13:

nowadays quite ok, I've been buying quite a lot of toys there for the past few years , most are friendly (as long as you don't speak mandarin) some can bargain but normally I don't as their toy prices are damn good .. but once a while those not really gian one .. i'll try to bargain

I will use half plus six Cantonese to communicate (means act like a man with few words :s13:) , (speak engrish ish ok .. but tough to bargain liao) never buy watch there before as not aiming seiko ... but now check liao , it seems their Seiko prices is good :s12:

cyrenic

I will use half plus six Cantonese to communicate (means act like a man with few words :s13:) , (speak engrish ish ok .. but tough to bargain liao) never buy watch there before as not aiming seiko ... but now check liao , it seems their Seiko prices is good :s12:
Bro, is there international warranty? And GS price also good? If you know la, hahah. Thanks!

shorty07

cheap only if movement is quartz. becomes overpriced when movement chosen is swiss. swiss movement equipped Steinhart is cheaper than them.

With miyota is 420euro. Which is reasonable n similar to other microbrand using miyota as well. But remember...this is customisable, therefore u may b the only one having that combination of parts.

shorty07

baang。ini brand betul betul shiok。
Boleh main muka,main bezel,main case,main tangan。。。ingin pun Boleh tuka!tapi。。。kalau awak pilih Swiss ingin。。。tak murah lor。。。
Yeah la. Betul. Semua pilih sendiri. Bole jadi one and only piece.

cichlid

Watching this and poisoning myself. It's so beautiful...

Any video from watch tanaka looks good one.

Closed up of the MM300.
13962038460_ba2d424ea8_k.jpg

indigo22

I wear my Suunto with digital compass for outfield. Pebble or Apple Watch for planning phase, need to leave the mobile phone outside the ops room.

my trusty protrek prw-3000 for me when i go back reservist :love:

AyuReady

Bro u are right won't cause problem to the watch in general but the clutch slip mechanism which help to tank the over wind may wear out faster than normal.

So short term should be ok. But 2 years on winder dunno have how many factor of wear and tear compare to normal use .

Anyway since I bought I will use but maybe with some safeguard haha

I thought exceed for auto is no problem cos it will disengage? Cos ya, active people will destroy watch if that's the case.

indigo22

Bro u are right won't cause problem to the watch in general but the clutch slip mechanism which help to tank the over wind may wear out faster than normal.

So short term should be ok. But 2 years on winder dunno have how many factor of wear and tear compare to normal use .

hehe actually my watch winder most of e time isn't moving de..my watches i just shake it every night..

only if i going away for long period of time like reservist or overseas den i on my winder :o

Turbo-lised

hehe actually my watch winder most of e time isn't moving de..my watches i just shake it every night..

only if i going away for long period of time like reservist or overseas den i on my winder :o

i am thinking of getting the watch case you got too sia.. so tempting :s13:

cyrenic

With miyota is 420euro. Which is reasonable n similar to other microbrand using miyota as well. But remember...this is customisable, therefore u may b the only one having that combination of parts.

I think it's on the higher end leh.

Usually this price range is diver watch, arguably the case and sealing should cost more I think..

For semi-casual/dress watch with Miyota, usually around 200-300 USD thereabouts.

For example, Belos: https://www.kickstarter.com/project...ovement-in-the-stockholm-archipel/description

Travisleon: http://travisleon.com/

cyrenic

Hahaha yeah, I think can test and try not to over-wind.

I think some of the higher end watches like Omega also provide recommendations for watch winder use, seen manual before.

It's a bit of a conundrum - even if you don't put on winder, there's going to be some wear and tear if you keep setting the time, especially for screw down crown. Putting on winder arguably can also work the watch unnecessarily.

I remember GX said that winder is probably 100% necessary for watches with no quick set date.. Can imagine man.. Quick set is still ok, you can usually set in less than a minute. If you have to advance the hours just to move the date.. :s13::s13:

Winders aside, I keep thinking about the Wolf watch box someone posted recently, jin swee sia. And the spacing is quite good. My cheapo Qoo10 one like not so good for larger watches. :s11:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.