The Watch Thread - Part 10

indigo22

i am thinking of getting the watch case you got too sia.. so tempting :s13:

cheap cheap just hoot..i like cause the top is cushion, so even if ur watches too high, it (the watch face) is still well protected and cushioned..

its also cushion that ur watch wraps around..so its not bad..can keep up to 4 watch straps on the cover of the box :o

Turbo-lised

cheap cheap just hoot..i like cause the top is cushion, so even if ur watches too high, it (the watch face) is still well protected and cushioned..

its also cushion that ur watch wraps around..so its not bad..can keep up to 4 watch straps on the cover of the box :o

but the shipping close to 5 dollars sia :s13:
still considering .. but its so nice

m0lecule

Sinn is well known for their tool watches. Very solid and substantial when worn on the wrist. On the other hand, Junghans watches are dressier. The overall design is classier and more refined. Tough to compare the two brands. Buy the watch that calls out to you more. Or buy both :s13:

going Germany soon, pondering to buy either junghans or sinn, budget 2 to 4k.

which one is a better brand or got other brand within my budget?

m0lecule

Back to the sub

XwnxpGO.jpg

gaoxing84

Hahaha yeah, I think can test and try not to over-wind.

I think some of the higher end watches like Omega also provide recommendations for watch winder use, seen manual before.

It's a bit of a conundrum - even if you don't put on winder, there's going to be some wear and tear if you keep setting the time, especially for screw down crown. Putting on winder arguably can also work the watch unnecessarily.

I remember GX said that winder is probably 100% necessary for watches with no quick set date.. Can imagine man.. Quick set is still ok, you can usually set in less than a minute. If you have to advance the hours just to move the date.. :s13::s13:

Winders aside, I keep thinking about the Wolf watch box someone posted recently, jin swee sia. And the spacing is quite good. My cheapo Qoo10 one like not so good for larger watches. :s11:

YES, you need a winder for non quickset date watches, will die. lol tried once and i buy winder liao. buay tahan

no choice for vintage watches

cyrenic

YES, you need a winder for non quickset date watches, will die. lol tried once and i buy winder liao. buay tahan

no choice for vintage watches

But some vintage watches don't have anti-overwind protection right? Then that one really need to be careful hahaha.

m0lecule

IIRC, automatic watches cannot be over wound, i.e. the mainspring cannot be damaged by excessive winding because of the clutch mechanism. I believe this applies to all automatic watches including vintage ones.

Manual winding watches on the other hand, can be damaged through overwinding because they generally do not have a clutch mechanism. But in the context of watch winders, it is a moot point since u can only wind it manually through the crown.

But some vintage watches don't have anti-overwind protection right? Then that one really need to be careful hahaha.

gaoxing84

haha my rolex have the mechanism to prevent overwind.

but its ok la, 650 tpd is not alot actually.

pwillie

I bought from clemiko and K&L before. K&L is a one-man operation. Boss is v friendly regardless whether you speak Cantonese. Clemiko peeps abit more serious. Not too sure about watchoutz though.

Sent from Samsung SM-G935F using GAGT

Watchoutz range is good, however not much of bargaining though, they have friendly English speaking sales assistants.
My Padi preordered from there.

m0lecule

Ahh.. I did not check them out during my last trip to HK because K&L was the only one that has stock of the SBDB009 then. Shall drop by during my next trip there :)

Watchoutz range is good, however not much of bargaining though, they have friendly English speaking sales assistants.
My Padi preordered from there.

shorty07

I think it's on the higher end leh.

Usually this price range is diver watch, arguably the case and sealing should cost more I think..

For semi-casual/dress watch with Miyota, usually around 200-300 USD thereabouts.

For example, Belos: https://www.kickstarter.com/project...ovement-in-the-stockholm-archipel/description

Travisleon: http://travisleon.com/

But this watch ed yeo posted, got diver also. Hv u seen the website? U can choose the kind of case u want. So thats y i say not a bad price. Ive seen other microbrands with similar pricing for diver watch.

gaoxing84

those want a good single motor boxy winder can try tresor winder.
70++ only.

solid man, my rolex sub is in it permanently. haha

http://itresor.com/

cyrenic

But this watch ed yeo posted, got diver also. Hv u seen the website? U can choose the kind of case u want. So thats y i say not a bad price. Ive seen other microbrands with similar pricing for diver watch.

The 400+ EUR Miyota price is done with normal case. :(

41mm round steel case
Fixed bezel polished
Miyota movement
Numbers dial
Leaf style hands silver
Red seconds hand
Big straight steel crown
Dark brown natural leather strap
Classic pinbuckle
Backside mineral glass

395 Euros... That's pricey sia. Ok but diver case still same price. :D

You're probably paying a premium cos of the lack of mass production I guess?

Ed.YEO

The 400+ EUR Miyota price is done with normal case. :(

41mm round steel case
Fixed bezel polished
Miyota movement
Numbers dial
Leaf style hands silver
Red seconds hand
Big straight steel crown
Dark brown natural leather strap
Classic pinbuckle
Backside mineral glass

395 Euros... That's pricey sia. Ok but diver case still same price. :D

You're probably paying a premium cos of the lack of mass production I guess?
相比之下,其他採用Miyota9015機芯的錶款在價格上的的確確佔較高的優勢。但是Revolo的賣點是個人,個性化生產。
個性化生產的錶,優缺點都有。
最大的缺點就落在價格方面。。。
優點咧?
一,不會撞錶。
二,就算撞錶了,帶來的不是“一樣的那麼~~~:vijayadmin:普通:vijayadmin:”的負面感覺,
而是“咦~~~我們的品味一樣的?!!”:s8:

pwillie

Bro u are right won't cause problem to the watch in general but the clutch slip mechanism which help to tank the over wind may wear out faster than normal.

So short term should be ok. But 2 years on winder dunno have how many factor of wear and tear compare to normal use .

Anyway since I bought I will use but maybe with some safeguard haha

Not for the modern automatic watches

the slipping clutch was designed before 1900 iirc, unless your vintage is over 100 yrs, it is in place.
but that said, some say that older vintage watches have mainsprings made of alloys with lousier elasticity, and that can mean the locking mechanisms get worn off by the "hardened" mainspring due to constant winding.

gaoxing84

Not for the modern automatic watches

the slipping clutch design was in place before 1900 iirc, unless your vintage is over 100 yrs, it is in place.
but that said, some say that older vintage watches have mainsprings made of alloys with lousier elasticity, and that can mean the locking mechanisms get worn off by the "hardened" mainspring due to constant winding.

ai seh willie! chio and smart! where to find.

;)

cyrenic

the slipping clutch was designed before 1900 iirc, unless your vintage is over 100 yrs, it is in place.

I see, not much experience with vintage. :D

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.