The Watch Thread - Part 11

pwillie

I think I saw someone selling the reissue on sg-roc recently... Booted up the private sales forum on a whim.

I just acquired the original 1960s version, the bracelet's too big for my wrist and needs some tools and manual labor to resize... First world problems :(

tried asking the french seller about swapping the bracelet to strap, but communication problem...
think i'll settle for the nato version, with the common lugs.

edit: I found the WTS, his is the set w/ winder, more expensive than the regular box set

SoggyBear

Back to watches.

m1GibtZ.jpg

This watch caught my eyes a while back. How's the finishing on it?

m0lecule

The finishing is pretty good. The case has a good mix of polished and brushed surfaces. The dial and hands are pretty well finished too. So far, no complaints. Love the high domed crystal.

This watch caught my eyes a while back. How's the finishing on it?

cyrenic

Wow got second hand padi $420 in Carousell. With domed sapphire glass. But reserved Liao.

a562140

great compliment from the master of quality chic microbrands + other luxury atas watches! :D

bro a562140 dai gor, it's the citizen ny2300-09L, been out for quite a while liao:
- 38.5mm case diameter.
- 18mm lug width.
- solid flat s/steel unadorned caseback, harkens back to 70s/80s style.
- venerable miyota 8200 movement from the 70s, unidirectional winding rotor, windable but NOT hackable.
- rotor/movement damn efficient. a little shake is all it takes for the seconds hand to start move.
- mineral glass crystal.
- screw-down crown.
- short lugs + classic case size = will wear damn comfortably in wrist!.
- movement winding a bit noiser compared to 7s26.
- 60 click bezel feels bit grittier than skx009.

got it for $175 last yr. together with the aftermarket navy blue nato strap from gnomon, total still under $200. comes with 3 (yes THREE) yr official agent warranty (can you believe it?! :eek:). simply damn value for money! plus more exclusive cos not your average skx009 that's more plentiful out there. :love:
Thanks my friend, I am soon getting that.

Just for you, a Seiko solar Speedmaster homage value buy :
hZ0stnzl.jpg

Sent from Samsung SM-G930F using GAGT

TeenTitan01

The finishing is pretty good. The case has a good mix of polished and brushed surfaces. The dial and hands are pretty well finished too. So far, no complaints. Love the high domed crystal.

yup bro m0lecule, high dome crystals are essential to mimic the domed acrylic crystals of yesteryears. :D

yours is the black dial version, correct? cos there's a blue dial version as a later release...

m0lecule

Yes I absolutely adore domed crystals, both acrylic and sapphire :D

Yup mine is the black dialed version. Saw the blue one too when I was at the AD. Still prefer the black one though, more versatile I feel.

yup bro m0lecule, high dome crystals are essential to mimic the domed acrylic crystals of yesteryears. :D

yours is the black dial version, correct? cos there's a blue dial version as a later release...

gaoxing84

i had this for awhile, the rubber strap is awesome and the watch feels solid but yet its thin.

slight letdown will be lume. but nice literation of the vintage piece.

sold it to a friend already haha

flipper here

m0lecule

Ya the lume is a little weak but ok la, don't wear it to the movies lor. Lol

Bro GX is spot on about the strap and case.

i had this for awhile, the rubber strap is awesome and the watch feels solid but yet its thin.

slight letdown will be lume. but nice literation of the vintage piece.

sold it to a friend already haha

flipper here

gaoxing84

anyone heard of this? any info?
it's a viet era diver, named devils diver cause of the 666 feet liner
Found at K2, feel like hooting sia
CD914822-8E3A-473E-BC74-CD9E055395CE_zpsbh3fb7si.jpg

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.