The Watch Thread - Part 12

babychimz

Wah the Zelos campaign figures really climbing quite fast! $307k liao! Wonder if its cause of the post on ABTW

arcfire

Another work trip with the skx007, now with a Strapcode Super Oyster bracelet!

5bPMeJsl.jpg

Sent from Samsung SM-G930F using GAGT

How does the strapcode bracelet feel? Care to do a review?

slow_mo

Thanks for this link! I also feel that ghe 42mm is more balanced.

Anyway, been decided between this and IWC Pilot Chrono. Tough to choose between ghe 2

Thinking of getting the 38mm. But holding on to see what Basel 2017 has to offer.

Ed.YEO

bWqolc3.png

Skywatches! I bought my first Seiko with my own money from there almost 2 decades ago...
师兄好像还没有将币值转去坡币咧。。。
新币只差$21就达$4000咯。。。跟royboy师兄买的价格差不多。

TeenTitan01

Yes! Got the double domed crystal from Mr. Goh and ceramic bezel from Damien. Installation done by Mr Goh himself :D

I'm just slightly sian that my chapter ring and my bezel is slightly off in its alignment. Will be perfect if everything lines up perfectly.
Sent from Kong Island using GAGT

yes, it's frustrating/annoying for those eagle-eyed enough to spot it / ocd enough to be bothered by it. seiko's QC shouldn't have released watches with rehaut/chapter ring not perfectly aligned with dial markers/bezel rings.

anyone who's particular should buy a seiko/any watch in general only when they can eyeball them under a loupe to ensure everything lines up perfectly. (or cough up a bit to a watchmaker to re-align them for you.)

AyuReady

The leather replacement is not ex. Just enjoy and change when required.

Or u can get a blue dial zenith hehe also chio

Or some other zenith which also can be bracelet
M6ouT81.jpg

Thats exactly whats going thru my head! Paying abt 8k for 7750 movement! But i do like the dial of IWC Pilot Chrono. Looking for alternatives with 7750 movement with the same type of dial. Alpiner looks the most similar but i think uses Selita SW500, a 7750 clone.

Another thing is i prefer to wear bracelet due to singapore's humidity. Zenith looks better with leather.

First World Problem!!

snowver

Just get the sub! Hard to beat haha

Thinking of buying my first watch, as my new job requires meeting a lot of people.

What are the things that I should look out for?

I personally like submariner but still looking around

TeenTitan01

Thinking of buying my first watch, as my new job requires meeting a lot of people.

What are the things that I should look out for?

I personally like submariner but still looking around

- what's your budget?
- how deeply poisoned are you by our watch madness? (ie. do you intend to go full on into the watch hobby? are you easily seduced by a new/interesting/attractive watch?)
- do you prefer to be a safe follower or are you an adventurous, creative-type, trend-setter with an independent-minded spirit?
- do you want just recognition from the masses or respect from wis/watch geeks... or both?
- are you a keeper or a flipper?

TeenTitan01

o_O watchmaker like Ah Goh can re-align it? how much will it cost?

just curious...good to know info :D

must compensate for labour/time cost to unscrew caseback, remove movement, lift away 3 hands, align the damn thing (including bezel if necessary), replace the hands properly, etc...

but doing so already compromised it's factory certified depth rating... which means another cost item to have it pressure tested. usually independent watchmakers only use dry/air pressure and not wet/water to test... and even then, they only go to 100m water resistance iirc...

want full, factory rated water resistance, maybe have to go back agent's service centre? be it rolex, seiko, etc...

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.