The Watch Thread - Part 12

gaoxing84

Hey guys, just curious about something and hope you guys can answer this.

I'm concerned about the servicing for the Panda Speedy. If I send it to Omega, will they replace the dial and hands back to the 3570 ones? I read that they will unless the piece is fully converted into another. Which it is in my case.

Also, if I send it to a third-party watchmakef to service my watch, I'm afraid that the silver hands will break as I read online that they are susceptible to breaking when removing the hands. I'm afraid of them breaking as it's pretty hard to source the silver hands now.

Thanks!

Why would you even send to swatch?
Waste of money leh lol

cyrenic

58cwH8x.jpg

TVMUIet.jpg

Hmm, did I imagine things or was the color of bezel different from watch case all along?

bezel has a distinctively red hue

mpcdude

if the panda dial came originally with the watch, no need to fiddle with it unless it was aftermarket.

doesn't make sense to find a 3rd party watchmaker open up the watch to put back the original dial just to send it again to swatch for overhaul. can't you just bring the watch together with the original dial to prove that it has original parts?

ofrei.com may have omega parts should your hands break. just check to ensure they have stock of the hands you need. but if you're sending to the swatch, it shouldn't matter since they should have all the parts, right?

My Mitsukoshi dial was from Ofrei but it's the original dial. Also last I checked today, they did not have the hands anymore.

gaoxing84

did your polar explorer come with b+p? you managed to get one < $5k?

No papers. With box though. Bracelet. But 2 missing links. The seller going back dig and find.
In good cond. Slight polished. The dial, markers and hands solid.
5k flat

arc13

Different degrees of oxidisation so different shades of bronze very shiny to dull to dark. But in the long term, should be more or less uniform

By oxidize at different rates, you mean the color also changes to different degree? Interesting.

Anyways, I still can't decide if I'm ok with not having a uniform color across the whole watch case, haha. :s22::s22:

TeenTitan01

No papers. With box though. Bracelet. But 2 missing links. The seller going back dig and find.
In good cond. Slight polished. The dial, markers and hands solid.
5k flat

you're fortunate to score an older tritium polar with solid dial, markers and hands. some don't age well.

which series/year? is it the older tritium polar with the single clasp? if it came with the period/vintage accurate thin wooden box, it's a bargain! got it through your facebook watch exchange?

eh... flipper or keeper this time? :D

gaoxing84

you're fortunate to score an older tritium polar with solid dial, markers and hands. some don't age well.

which series/year? is it the older tritium polar with the single clasp? if it came with the period/vintage accurate thin wooden box, it's a bargain! got it through your facebook watch exchange?

eh... flipper or keeper this time? :D

the box very nice, got the old school feel man. if got papers i think sure alot more than 5. not mine, its for my younger brother.
the hands and markers matches. on naked eye, it's towards more creamy with slight yellow tinge. but on photos, creamy.
ya, single clasp, W series, 1995 with drilled lugs. nope, got it from carousell.

88E8B9EF-086B-4E5D-92D9-1E60B99E0C3F_zpsu2nv4qkz.jpg

very good markers and hands. but the tritium dead already.

2F0D6142-2A8E-41C1-BEF9-A55CDB6B6536_zpsn8wycgih.jpg

indigo22

so recently i've started to learn some leather crafting..and it seems like such watch straps aren't that so hard to produce afterall

xj8ctAk.png

now, question...see that part circled in red? those stitching, combined with those holes or alphabet stamping..

what are some strap's design u have in mind for the longest of time, but couldn't find it off the shelves?

how about stitching ur name on it? like instead of just a simple wrap around the edge of the strap, i can put a simple alphabet on the middle and stitch it up with some colorful threads?

or...?

Disclaimer: image above is not mine, i kop from cheapestnato

Disclaimer: no, horweens are too exp, i'm using simple leather for now

Disclaimer: my finishing ain't gonna be as nice as mine is handmade

Disclaimer: no, i'm not looking to sell them for profit at the moment, it's just a hobby...

TeenTitan01

the box very nice, got the old school feel man. if got papers i think sure alot more than 5. not mine, its for my younger brother.
the hands and markers matches. on naked eye, it's towards more creamy with slight yellow tinge. but on photos, creamy.
ya, single clasp, W series, 1995 with drilled lugs. nope, got it from carousell.

88E8B9EF-086B-4E5D-92D9-1E60B99E0C3F_zpsu2nv4qkz.jpg

very good markers and hands. but the tritium dead already.

2F0D6142-2A8E-41C1-BEF9-A55CDB6B6536_zpsn8wycgih.jpg

nice. all the old school vibes are there: single clasp, drilled lugs, dead tritium... the watch & bracelet also feels very thin & light compared with the thicker, heavier, chunkier watches of today. definitely more classy.

wah, now young people also gian vintage! then we uncles are left with what to play?! with demand > supply means prices go up liao. sibeh gan kor leh!

messi7

Anyone interested to get Seiko Presage SSA309J1?

Letting go of mine to fund my other purchase

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.