The Watch Thread - Part 12

furryballs

For a $4k price difference, would you rather get a two-tone datejust, or a SS Daytona? Why leh?

greatpoke

uDPQJfvl.jpg

First trip of 2017

Sent from OnePlus ONEPLUS A3010 using GAGT

furryballs

Think depends on your style as well. I'm not the biggest fan of chronograph honestly so I would take the date just

I would have taken the Daytona 3yrs back, but now the DJ slowly growing on me.... I looking for an end game watch - buy liao just wear and no more purchase.... I scared DJ is just a 'passing phase', then I cannot end game liao

AyuReady

End game! Need day date I guess

The new 41mm date just blue dial also very chio

I would have taken the Daytona 3yrs back, but now the DJ slowly growing on me.... I looking for an end game watch - buy liao just wear and no more purchase.... I scared DJ is just a 'passing phase', then I cannot end game liao

furryballs

look at the red hand, he broke the original orange one during repair and replaced it with the red one without informing me.

hTqwWaRl.png

stock image:

Omega%203570.40_zpsrhsoyls6.jpg

anyway issue resolved. bought the original hands from ebay which he reimbursed and he gave me a discount of $50 which is frankly very little for the trouble we went through.

just a heads up to you guys. maybe it's just a mistake that the watch was damaged during the repair but just annoyed at the owner's unethical behavior.

I am surprised. If he could swap out the speedy hands and act blur, nothing stopping him from swapping other parts. Imagine bringing a milsub 5517 there...

furryballs

End game! Need day date I guess

The new 41mm date just blue dial also very chio

DD too loud liao! Or maybe I not there yet.
Actually my choice of end game watch also balances the practicality and ease of servicing.

I often need the date feature to sign documents, but dun require day/chronograph/gmt. I got a rude shock years back on the gmt2c service cost becoz the barrel worn out - I barely worn the watch. Now no more liao. Simple date feature less things to spoil cheaper to maintain till I pass the watch to my kid...

mpcdude

look at the red hand, he broke the original orange one during repair and replaced it with the red one without informing me.

hTqwWaRl.png

stock image:

Omega%203570.40_zpsrhsoyls6.jpg

anyway issue resolved. bought the original hands from ebay which he reimbursed and he gave me a discount of $50 which is frankly very little for the trouble we went through.

just a heads up to you guys. maybe it's just a mistake that the watch was damaged during the repair but just annoyed at the owner's unethical behavior.

This is why I am in a conundrum right now. Want to service my Speedy but do not want to send it to Omega as its pricey and they will change my Speedy back to the original 3570 look. Also scared of sending it to an independent watchmaker for fear that he will break the hands and I will have to source for new hands.

snowver

Longines VHP fits ur description of date (perpetual calendar), practically( quartz, anti shock, anti magnetic) and ease of service (relatively speaking) :s13:

DD too loud liao! Or maybe I not there yet.
Actually my choice of end game watch also balances the practicality and ease of servicing.

I often need the date feature to sign documents, but dun require day/chronograph/gmt. I got a rude shock years back on the gmt2c service cost becoz the barrel worn out - I barely worn the watch. Now no more liao. Simple date feature less things to spoil cheaper to maintain till I pass the watch to my kid...

babychimz

VILtPhD.jpg

Looked at my image archives and yes, the bezel was definitely lighter earlier on!

bro, i went back to scrutinize it too and noted the slight difference in color tone. Could it be anything to do with the finishing on the parts?

Just maybe to lubricate the movement, keep it running tip-top since my watch was from 2003 and have not been serviced since. But I'm worried that if I change back to its original form, the silver hands will break when removing.

i personally wouldnt send it in unless there's something wrong with it. why not let one of the more known shops open the back and see if they think it needs some cleaning for starters?

mpcdude

i personally wouldnt send it in unless there's something wrong with it. why not let one of the more known shops open the back and see if they think it needs some cleaning for starters?

Not sure if I can fully trust them. They may say it needs servicing just because they want my business. I also think it needs servicing as it has not been serviced before and the watch was from 2003. Although when I wore it to check ytd, the power reserve was fine. Accuracy was -8s/day. Don't know if that is cause to be concern.

cherrystalk

This is why I am in a conundrum right now. Want to service my Speedy but do not want to send it to Omega as its pricey and they will change my Speedy back to the original 3570 look. Also scared of sending it to an independent watchmaker for fear that he will break the hands and I will have to source for new hands.

haha swatch will take more than 3 months to service for sure. that's why we turned to top hour which was terrible decision :(

Verve888

Almost 20 years old. I had it serviced at JW watch a few years ago. Expect to wait about 2 months to get it back though

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.