The Watch Thread - Part 12

TeenTitan01

Doing some spring cleaning the other day and these 2 are my most treasured.
NromPZRl.jpg

Seiko - bought with internship salary during schooling days.

Sinn 656 - bought with first bonus after stepping into the work force. Eyeing it since army days.

Anyone has stories to share as well? :)

Sent from Arkham Asylum using GAGT

nothing so romantic. i ownself poison ownself from the internet. heart itchy itchy. end up thousands of dollars poorer. nnb. :( :D

went through the immature "i hate rolex" cos uncles/show-offs wear them & "manufacture movement or you suck" phase quickly.

finally settled on "value retention" as the bedrock of my watch collecting philosophy since i'm a poor phuck (exception made for cheap, affordable, value-for-money watches). simply can't afford to do what tony stark does. :(

so what's yours?

Thai_Rak_Thai

cyrenic

For years I resisted getting into watches....then I bought my sub.

Let's just say I kena watch-style liver failure liao :s13:

Hahaha.. Got other fish to catch, next time then think again. At most cycle through some Seikos, easy to get, easy to let go.

slow_mo

nice tony stark come back! :s12: downloaded!

your limited red-brown GS kena quoted in WUS... super star liao lor! :D

499 other people has the LE GS! Nothing super about it... I'm just lucky that the shop I visited has a piece for me.

GANGSTERKIA

Hi all, Is zenith watches fine for entry level? And any particular ones to recommend? For working adult.

Sensible_

nothing so romantic. i ownself poison ownself from the internet. heart itchy itchy. end up thousands of dollars poorer. nnb. :( :D

went through the immature "i hate rolex" cos uncles/show-offs wear them & "manufacture movement or you suck" phase quickly.

finally settled on "value retention" as the bedrock of my watch collecting philosophy since i'm a poor phuck (exception made for cheap, affordable, value-for-money watches). simply can't afford to do what tony stark does. :(

so what's yours?

Share my story.....

Around May last year, got a friend out of the blue post in a whatsapp group chat he saw a rolex sub that was very worth the price. At that time, the only expensive watch I've ever tried before was a Big Bang at The Hour Glass.

But somehow I felt drawn to the Sub and felt it would be cool to wear it with a rubber strap so it wouldn't feel too "uncle" (you guys wear it with steel or nato also look cool anyway)....siao liao lor, I fell in love with it.

By late November, my heart itchy again when another friend randomly mentioned Franck Muller watches. It wasn't that I always like FM, but when I was younger, I went to Milan with a super rich friend (he asked me along only to increase his Hermes Birkin quota and as a reward, he paid for my trip) and we walked past an FM boutique there.

I remember seeing the designs of the watches and thinking that there were so unique and wondered when I could afford one.....

So I decided to get myself a Christmas present and went to Chuan Watches to choose between a Big Bang and a Vanguard. In the end, the Vanguard won because I decided to forgo Hublot completely in my pursuit of the Holy Trinity in future :s13:

Within 6 months, I've spent $16k liao....this habit jin damaging to the wallet but I feel so happy when I wear my watches :s12:

coern

depending on age and $$, different entry drug.

more uncle - rolex
yang punk - tag heuer
ginna pi - DW

;)

joking only, don't take too seriously!

For years I resisted getting into watches....then I bought my sub.

Let's just say I kena watch-style liver failure liao :s13:

coern

this is a familiar tale to many of us... maciam alcoholics anonymous meeting

hi, my name is coern and i am a watchaholic... :s13:

Share my story.....

Around May last year, got a friend out of the blue post in a whatsapp group chat he saw a rolex sub that was very worth the price. At that time, the only expensive watch I've ever tried before was a Big Bang at The Hour Glass.

But somehow I felt drawn to the Sub and felt it would be cool to wear it with a rubber strap so it wouldn't feel too "uncle" (you guys wear it with steel or nato also look cool anyway)....siao liao lor, I fell in love with it.

By late November, my heart itchy again when another friend randomly mentioned Franck Muller watches. It wasn't that I always like FM, but when I was younger, I went to Milan with a super rich friend (he asked me along only to increase his Hermes Birkin quota and as a reward, he paid for my trip) and we walked past an FM boutique there.

I remember seeing the designs of the watches and thinking that there were so unique and wondered when I could afford one.....

So I decided to get myself a Christmas present and went to Chuan Watches to choose between a Big Bang and a Vanguard. In the end, the Vanguard won because I decided to forgo Hublot completely in my pursuit of the Holy Trinity in future :s13:

Within 6 months, I've spent $16k liao....this habit jin damaging to the wallet but I feel so happy when I wear my watches :s12:

slow_mo

Doing some spring cleaning the other day and these 2 are my most treasured.
NromPZRl.jpg

Seiko - bought with internship salary during schooling days.

Sinn 656 - bought with first bonus after stepping into the work force. Eyeing it since army days.

Anyone has stories to share as well? :)

Sent from Arkham Asylum using GAGT

My story... used to wear "toy" watches in my younger days (I'm still young now...)

Got a hand-me-down TT Rolex and wore it for years until I earned enough $$$ and got myself a Sub. Bought an IWC Pilot Chronograph (didn't know it was a well replicated model) after sometime. Also got a Sinn 566 during the sub 1k offer. My watches didn't really mark any milestones in my life.

Got to know some bad company (bad for the wallet) from the watch thread and got into some kind of addiction... the rest is history...

slow_mo

depending on age and $$, different entry drug.

more uncle - rolex
yang punk - tag heuer
ginna pi - DW

;)

joking only, don't take too seriously!

My heart is still ginna pi leh... but I like Rolex... cos I'm a uncle wannabe.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.