The Watch Thread - Part 12

TeenTitan01

Hahaha I think the original moon watch didn't had it and probably they keep it that way.

Legends has it, some PP and AP also can't hack so I think hacking is not everything bah

Is the whole package

luxury status brands can get away with giving less AND charging more cos people willing to be soft on them. velben goods, right? hut choo!!! ;)

messi7

New watch for 鸡年... day one begin :D

20170128_124533.jpg

Wah, tua ki (big bulge) befitting your rolex air king

gaoxing84

eh... technically, both are homages.

the true original classic is the one that came with the column wheel cal 321 movement. and to be even stricter, no "professional" on the dial.

They're not homages. Same brand. How to be homage. Lol
They're considered improved version of the original 105.
Using cal 321.

TeenTitan01

They're not homages. Same brand. How to be homage. Lol
They're considered improved version of the original 105.
Using cal 321.

unfortunately, omega keep using the same dial to lull new buyers into believing in the fantasy of owning the watch that went to the moon, when the actual, original moonwatch used the column wheel cal 321.

it's like using the same dial and case of your 1680 in the current 116610.

as for improved, i humbly disagree.

column wheel chrono >> cam-activated chrono.

omega could've gone the AP RO route in using the original calibre of the jumbo ultra thin and charge a huge premium. instead, it keeps churning out copies using a non-classic movement and now dares to charge a fair chunk of change for the same watch just cos it comes in a heavy-ass box with some useless trinkets like the medallion.

AyuReady

Haha ok la for 5k u getting a good brand, a good watch, good packaging and in my opinion good value hahha

unfortunately, omega keep using the same dial to lull new buyers into believing in the fantasy of owning the watch that went to the moon, when the actual, original moonwatch used the column wheel cal 321.

omega could've gone the AP RO route in using the original calibre of the jumbo ultra thin and charge a huge premium. instead, it keeps churning out copies using a non-classic movement and now dares to charge a fair chunk of change for the same watch just cos it comes in a heavy-ass box with some useless trinkets like the medallion.

DXMachina

大年初一, wishing all bros a very Happy New Year, and huat big big in your careers, relationships and wear your dream watches in good health!!

Bulge shot :D

60aChV1.jpg

shahir

It's a wet visiting day.. Stuck in Hougang before moving off to the next house.. Happy New year to all.

3f4bwkq.jpg

TeenTitan01

Haha ok la for 5k u getting a good brand, a good watch, good packaging and in my opinion good value hahha

while ownself song can liao, it's good to equip ourselves with the good knowledge and history to appreciate watches better and in the proper context - and not be an unwitting carrot to heartless marketing.

my omega 2254.50 does not pretend to be the 60s british navy mil-spec omega seamaster 300 like what watchco tries to do with varying levels of QC, although the dial design cues from it are so strong and unmistakable.

/trollmode ON

the omega 2254.50 may not have the fantasy of the moonwatch, but gawd dammit! it's 300m water resistance sure beats the paltry 50m of the "moonwatch", not to mention a sleeker clasp.

the "moonwatch" is a watch that:
- does not hack
- is not an automatic
- needs the tiresome chore of daily winding
- has weak-ass lume
- instead of a more useful date function, it has a relatively "useless" stopwatch function that any cheap $10 casio can do better down to 1/100th of a second. and the excuse to use a multiple thousand dollar watch to "time cooking a soft boil egg" is simply so damn LAME!

the only thing going for it is a pretty face.

on the other hand, my omega 2254.50 being oop with a strong cult following means its rising value is assured. ;) unlike more expensive copies of the "moonwatch" that did not actually went to the moon, and isn't even in the correct configuration using the original column wheel cal 321.

/trollmode OFF

ok, have i done enough to stir "moonwatch" lovers? am i feeling the hate?! c'mon, bring IT on! ;) :D :s13:

gaoxing84

They did upgraded the movement.
It's like rolex with their sub.

They also did improvement with the self winding speedy.

Means if I buy AP RO Means I Kum Lan? hahaha

DXMachina

Should I wait for Speedy Tuesday edition or just hoot a hesalite Speedy moonwatch now?

IMHO it would have to be the Speedy moonwatch, just because it's so versatile and timeless in terms of aesthetics.

Gam siah bro !!! Have a good CNY !!! Huat ah !!!

Happy CNY to you too bro reikizi!! Huat big big!!!

bro fitzai DXMachina, you should thank bro indigo22 for expanding your watch appreciation experience! ;) :) :D

As I already have a similar looking 白魔 in the Ball Trainmaster Eternity, I'm still resisting! This will probably only last for as long as I don't see the actual Junghans in the metal. >_<

But it's so beautiful from the photos dammit...

TeenTitan01

They did upgraded the movement.
It's like rolex with their sub.

They also did improvement with the self winding speedy.

Means if I buy AP RO Means I Kum Lan? hahaha

imho, omega DOWNGRADED their moonwatch from column wheel cal 321 to cam-activated cal861/1861. period.

if by upgrade, you mean omega's tacked on co-axial movement? not a fan of co-axial (yet). somehow hasn't warmed to it. also even their in-house co-axial are so damn thick. buay sleek and elegant. unlike their 2254.50.

their mistake and loss for discontinuing the 2254.50 and also the mil-spec seamaster 300.

just too bad jean-claude biver isn't in-charge. he'd never have discontinued the 2254.50 and would've revived it and also the seamaster 300 in their faithful glory and authenticity, like what's he's doing to heuer. this j-c biver is one smart man that pays attention to the market! (still not a fan of hublot though, haha! considers it to be a wanna be in the shadow of AP. :s13: his spin-doctoring on how hublot is different from AP on youtube is just lame, imho. this guy though smart, is shameless!)

as for your AP RO, too bad the original jumbo ultra thin using calibre 2121 only comes in the original blue and not in the black dial configuration that you want. but at least it doesn't pretend to be the original like the "moonwatch". :s13:

TeenTitan01

IMHO it would have to be the Speedy moonwatch, just because it's so versatile and timeless in terms of aesthetics.

Happy CNY to you too bro reikizi!! Huat big big!!!

As I already have a similar looking 白魔 in the Ball Trainmaster Eternity, I'm still resisting! This will probably only last for as long as I don't see the actual Junghans in the metal. >_<

But it's so beautiful from the photos dammit...

at the risk of offending ball watch lovers & owners (again i abide by the watch collecting mantra: "you ownself happy can liao!"), you need to be aware that value retention (ie. resale value) of ball watches are poor.

also tritium gas tube illumination is weaker than superluminova/lumibrite when they're fully charged, and being radioactive, has a half-life of 12.5 yrs, meaning it'll be half as bright in that time.

initially, i was also impressed with tritium gas tubes technology - no need any light source to stay bright. until i found out it's not that bright after all and will kaput eventually. anyway ymmv. if you like, buy to enjoy. just want to get my 2c (+ prevailing gst) in. :)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.