The Watch Thread - Part 12

TeenTitan01

Have a huat huat Lunar New Year!!! Red red auspicious red!!

:lick: :love: :s12:

wah seh, "ah boy" slow_mo, i see you broke out the retro checked flannel from the grunge era! :eek: regards, "uncle" teentitan01 but "forever 25" like alan tam. :s13:

but srsly, when you show the headlights of your sexy red GS, you cannot forget the butt too!

TeenTitan01

I hope u are referring to the watch =:p not like others here like to go OT..:s8::D

nice watch match with nice body good what.

wah lau, got sexy bod+sexy watch still hiam? lucky sods like you, fitzai DXMachina & fitzai mpcdude/impatientstudent should be strutting around like the roosters you are and crowing! :s13:

uncle want a fitzai bod like you all also don't have. :(

indigo22

As I already have a similar looking 白魔 in the Ball Trainmaster Eternity, I'm still resisting! This will probably only last for as long as I don't see the actual Junghans in the metal. >_<

But it's so beautiful from the photos dammit...

ya lo, from photo looks damn nice right...

like, very classy...simple and sophisticated at the same time...

im resisting the junghans, and focusing on my speedy...

*focusssss*

and no, i cant have both..i wanna upgrade my camera too :s13:

Pagani_Z0nda

nice watch match with nice body good what.

wah lau, got sexy bod+sexy watch still hiam? lucky sods like you, fitzai DXMachina & fitzai mpcdude/impatientstudent should be strutting around like the roosters you are and crowing! :s13:

uncle want a fitzai bod like you all also don't have. :(
My dear bro TT , I referring to the comments made on my post this morning lah.....:s22: the 'bulge' remember? :s13:

binnie

while ownself song can liao, it's good to equip ourselves with the good knowledge and history to appreciate watches better and in the proper context - and not be an unwitting carrot to heartless marketing.

my omega 2254.50 does not pretend to be the 60s british navy mil-spec omega seamaster 300 like what watchco tries to do with varying levels of QC, although the dial design cues from it are so strong and unmistakable.

/trollmode ON

the omega 2254.50 may not have the fantasy of the moonwatch, but gawd dammit! it's 300m water resistance sure beats the paltry 50m of the "moonwatch", not to mention a sleeker clasp.

the "moonwatch" is a watch that:
- does not hack
- is not an automatic
- needs the tiresome chore of daily winding
- has weak-ass lume
- instead of a more useful date function, it has a relatively "useless" stopwatch function that any cheap $10 casio can do better down to 1/100th of a second. and the excuse to use a multiple thousand dollar watch to "time cooking a soft boil egg" is simply so damn LAME!

the only thing going for it is a pretty face.

on the other hand, my omega 2254.50 being oop with a strong cult following means its rising value is assured. ;) unlike more expensive copies of the "moonwatch" that did not actually went to the moon, and isn't even in the correct configuration using the original column wheel cal 321.

/trollmode OFF

ok, have i done enough to stir "moonwatch" lovers? am i feeling the hate?! c'mon, bring IT on! ;) :D :s13:

Lol.. If you wanna troll at least bring up some legit points la. Oh but wait, it wouldn't be trolling if it was legit.

binnie

Kind sir, please explain why a column wheel chrono is superior to a cam actuated one?

imho, omega DOWNGRADED their moonwatch from column wheel cal 321 to cam-activated cal861/1861. period.

if by upgrade, you mean omega's tacked on co-axial movement? not a fan of co-axial (yet). somehow hasn't warmed to it. also even their in-house co-axial are so damn thick. buay sleek and elegant. unlike their 2254.50.

their mistake and loss for discontinuing the 2254.50 and also the mil-spec seamaster 300.

just too bad jean-claude biver isn't in-charge. he'd never have discontinued the 2254.50 and would've revived it and also the seamaster 300 in their faithful glory and authenticity, like what's he's doing to heuer. this j-c biver is one smart man that pays attention to the market! (still not a fan of hublot though, haha! considers it to be a wanna be in the shadow of AP. :s13: his spin-doctoring on how hublot is different from AP on youtube is just lame, imho. this guy though smart, is shameless!)

as for your AP RO, too bad the original jumbo ultra thin using calibre 2121 only comes in the original blue and not in the black dial configuration that you want. but at least it doesn't pretend to be the original like the "moonwatch". :s13:

Thai_Rak_Thai

i'm a kuai kuai suaku. no smoke. no drink. no drugs. no women. no gamble.

damn, i'm a boring old phuck. :(

ps. truth is, i'm a POOR old phuck. if not POOR, see me go chiong ah! :crazy:. so, please wish and bless me good luck to huat big big at toto & lottery! thanks bro reikizi! :s12:

Wish you win bro (but then above you said no gamble...how can toto and lottery?) :s11:

when you win i only want a 5711R

allanzzz

1bj0Q05.jpg

NOqtqha.jpg

Sumo for PADI fans, but kind of weird that they did not use the signed crown.

rboyboy

young boiboi here no understand what is ANA and peppermint park...too young liao...
Went Mustafa earlier on but no sign of Baby Tuna or fancy Seikos....

pwillie

limited edition speedys are a gimmick and resale value suck ttm.

yeah, yeah, to those detractors who say "oh, i won't sell my watch", that's beside the point here. it's your hard-earned blood, sweat & tears money after all!

to quote infamous watch dealer tom bolt in notorious watch documentary TIME MACHINES a decade ago "your watch is worth what you can go out and sell it for!". damn true!!

why pay premium only to have it evaporate the moment you hand your money over? DOES NOT MAKE SENSE!

so unless one is truly infatuated with a particular piece, watch (pun fully intended) that value retention carefully.

a watch lover can be a smart one too if he collects the right pieces. :)

Cham liao, my LE lost money till Lao Sai...
I is not smart :(

AyuReady

Aiya watch where got right or wrong one. To be honest I will never trade my moon watch for even two 2254.50

It does not means I deem the speedy to be twice as good but just that the 2254.50 does not appeal to me in any single bit.

Most of the function u state in the 2254.50 can be match by a seiko haha

So if the world is about just function we all be wearing an Apple i watch hahah

while ownself song can liao, it's good to equip ourselves with the good knowledge and history to appreciate watches better and in the proper context - and not be an unwitting carrot to heartless marketing.

my omega 2254.50 does not pretend to be the 60s british navy mil-spec omega seamaster 300 like what watchco tries to do with varying levels of QC, although the dial design cues from it are so strong and unmistakable.

/trollmode ON

the omega 2254.50 may not have the fantasy of the moonwatch, but gawd dammit! it's 300m water resistance sure beats the paltry 50m of the "moonwatch", not to mention a sleeker clasp.

the "moonwatch" is a watch that:
- does not hack
- is not an automatic
- needs the tiresome chore of daily winding
- has weak-ass lume
- instead of a more useful date function, it has a relatively "useless" stopwatch function that any cheap $10 casio can do better down to 1/100th of a second. and the excuse to use a multiple thousand dollar watch to "time cooking a soft boil egg" is simply so damn LAME!

the only thing going for it is a pretty face.

on the other hand, my omega 2254.50 being oop with a strong cult following means its rising value is assured. ;) unlike more expensive copies of the "moonwatch" that did not actually went to the moon, and isn't even in the correct configuration using the original column wheel cal 321.

/trollmode OFF

ok, have i done enough to stir "moonwatch" lovers? am i feeling the hate?! c'mon, bring IT on! ;) :D :s13:

TeenTitan01

Lol.. If you wanna troll at least bring up some legit points la. Oh but wait, it wouldn't be trolling if it was legit.

as legit as legit can get. all objective statements.

Kind sir, please explain why a column wheel chrono is superior to a cam actuated one?

column wheel with vertical clutch:
- the higher end, more labour-intensive mechanism
- more precise, higher tolerance construction
- smooth push action: column wheel with vertical clutch starts smoothly with no noticeable jerk
- which means the chrono seconds starts smoothly with no jerk unlike cam-activated
- looks more beautiful through a see-through case back

cam-activated with horizontal clutch:
- lower tolerance parts = cheap, budget (as in cost, not the retail price)
- simpler, less elegant than column wheel
- tougher, stickier feel when pushing the button cos it requires more force mechanically to turn the cam in its axis
- jumpy chrono seconds hand when the start button is pushed
- wear & tear: there's a reason why omega fitted nylon parts to its cal 816/1861. they only swap it with metal parts for models with the see-through caseback, cos let's face it: nylon parts noticed in a luxury watch is a disaster and embarrassment

finally as an aside:
- zenith's el-primero hum along at 36,000 vph, allowing it to accurately measure down to 1/10th of a second.
- omega's 861/1861 only manages 21,600 vph.

not trolling. at all. :)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.