The Watch Thread - Part 12

shahir

How are you not going to break your resolution when you are already half way in breaking it? I thought you've registered interest for Speedy Tuesday (even though technically no cash commitment....yet) ?

No new watch for me during CNY... Sob Sob

TeenTitan01

gx84 (or anyone else with some knowledge about these watches), between the 16660, 16600 and 116600, what to get??

i really want a 116600, but i thought since already have a modern rolex with the new case and ceramic bezel, could look for something with more vintage...

first up, disclaimer: i'm a vintage watch noob. and a poor noob at that.

nevertheless, bro coern, may i suggest an all-original rolex sub ref 1680 from your birth year, hopefully with b+p+hang tags?

do note, however:
- scratch magnet plexiglass plastic crystal. check. :(
- no SELs. check. :(
- maybe even folded links for older iterations? check. :(
- crumbling, aging tritium lume that barely glows. check. :(
- crappy stamped metal clasp. DOUBLE check. :eek:
- warranty? what warranty?! :s13:
definitely not your sleek, over-engineered, modern sub. ;)

but a damn sexy beast with if you can get one with even, intact creamy lume patina on all hands & hour makers and a joy to behold through its warm, plastic high dome crystal! BONUS if you can score a RED sub.

definitely not a problem at your level given the state of your watch collection. :D

Rolex Submariner 1680 or 16610 or 5513 worth to get? http://www.rolexforums.com/showthread.php?t=268437

Evolution of the Red Rolex Submariner Ref 1680… http://rolexpassionreport.com/174/evolution-of-the-red-rolex-submariner-ref-1680/

http://www.chrono24.sg/rolex/ref-1680.htm

http://www.watchrecon.com/?query=1680

plenty of wrist shots please when you finally get it, bro! and if possible, invitation to get up close and personal to admire and molest that sexy thing!

imho, anyone going down the vintage track must prepare for serious study and intensive research, apart from a healthy budget.

vintage can be a potential minefield cos this lucrative & murky market is plagued by lack of knowledge/information/provenance, frankenwatches, chop shops, the unscrupulous out to screw collectors, and the fragile nature of such aged pieces.

finding an honest and capable watchmaker with access to proper parts to maintain the watch is another source of expensive stress.

TeenTitan01

New purchase yesterday...
Tot a monochrome will be suitable since this fellow is older than me..

z4bCnszl.jpg

Sent from HUAWEI MHA-L29 using GAGT

grammar of design good taste, bro! :s12: i see your KS was from the daini seikosha factory! :D

so... where did you managed you score this? local or online?

is yours is 1st gen with the gold medallion?

what's the damage?

TeenTitan01

Just something to share.. I was recently quoted +50% premium for 116500LN by AD. I ain't paying that sum, period. Would rather wait till the price drop or get a different piece.

demand vs supply. ;)

prepare to be patient to wait long long. :s22:

TeenTitan01

transition models to me, are not vintage. like they're call, transiting from the old design to modern.

Plus tritium painted plots are way nicer than the mini white gold surround plots which doesn't seem to pop up (don't have the fweels)

1665 great white can be gotten around 18-20k iirc
1665 double red def 25k and above.

if not a 5513 would be solid too. to complement the hulk.

because 5513 > hulk oops. haha

just like our omega 2254.50 :D

your thoughts on the 1680 vs 1665?

TeenTitan01

i was sad to sell my 114060, then i got the 116600 before i sold that too. both are good but i preferred the 114060 more.

....i hope not to slap my own face again by getting another 114060. But at least new year resolution for now is no new watches

there's always a place for the 114060 in any gentleman's watch collection! :D

bro, why make it hard on yourself? don't deny things that gives life pleasure! ;)

reaching "end-game" doesn't mean we can't enjoy other watches, right? there's always the vintage route. but thread carefully!

MrSenG

transition models to me, are not vintage. like they're call, transiting from the old design to modern.

Plus tritium painted plots are way nicer than the mini white gold surround plots which doesn't seem to pop up (don't have the fweels)

1665 great white can be gotten around 18-20k iirc
1665 double red def 25k and above.

if not a 5513 would be solid too. to complement the hulk.

because 5513 > hulk oops. haha

Perhaps its due to my inexperience towards vintage, and many of the points mentioned by TeenTitan01, such as the worry of the maintenance (rarity of parts etc.), which is why I lean towards the transitional models. However, the allure and satisfaction of owning the right vintage can definitely be worth it despite the extensive research to looking for the right piece.

End of the day, it boils down to personal choice and I chose the 114060 (hint, hint, TRT) as a timepiece to start my journey into this hobby.

As said by an article from Wound For Life (http://www.woundforlife.com/2015/05/01/a-rolex-sea-dweller-showdown/)

"The Triple 6 is a classic vintage piece that often gets overshadowed amongst the sea (pun intended) of 5513s, 5512s, 1680s and 1655s . When it comes to vintage Sea Dwellers, a 16660 is the perfect choice for someone that wants a vintage Rolex diver without having to treat it like one."

16660-matte-dial-from-doubleredseadweller.com_.jpeg
Picture taken from the article.

Zon

grammar of design good taste, bro! :s12: i see your KS was from the daini seikosha factory! :D

so... where did you managed you score this? local or online?

is yours is 1st gen with the gold medallion?

what's the damage?
Local off carousell. No gold medallion but condition pretty good. $450.

One more clearer pic in colour.
Likes it so much that I keep looking at it.
ll0v19tl.jpg

Sent from HUAWEI MHA-L29 using GAGT

All in a Day

i was sad to sell my 114060, then i got the 116600 before i sold that too. both are good but i preferred the 114060 more.

....i hope not to slap my own face again by getting another 114060. But at least new year resolution for now is no new watches

Highlighted dai kor's key words.

Men of status are known to be extremely dynamic. The post sounds like a mere rhetorical pause moment. Looking forward to your new watch sharing very soon! :D

TeenTitan01

consider biting the bullet and get the real deal 16710 aluminum pepsi bezel gmt master II before prices go up even higher? ;) currently $10k nia with some spare change left over for a kopi c siu dai and mrt fare home. :eek:

rolex passion report speculated a coke ceramic s/steel gmt IIc may be unveiled at basel 2017. if it happens, there'll be another stampede to the ADs by the fan boys/speculators again! :s22:

Zon

if no gold medallion and has screw-in engraved case back, then is 3rd gen KS liao.

you may wish to change out your strap. it's too narrow. cheers!

Humm. Well i read that the special is supposed to be one of the last model of KS.

Any straps to recommend?

sleepyman

gx84 (or anyone else with some knowledge about these watches), between the 16660, 16600 and 116600, what to get??

i really want a 116600, but i thought since already have a modern rolex with the new case and ceramic bezel, could look for something with more vintage...

Go for the "everyone's" watch la.. the 116600!

For me, it'll be a nice matte 666 SD with warm patina and faded insert.
It will be "noone's" watch cuz not possible for another that ages exactly.
I can wear it, beat it, scratch it.. but it could still appreciate in value!

money isnt a problem..
But...

Are you prepared for the risks of paying for refurbished/relumed dial?
Worse..
Are you prepared for the risks of getting a franken?
Worse..
Are you prepared for the risks of getting fake parts?

Who can u trust?

Beauty aint for the faint hearted bro.

Offerring 2c while choosing my match for CNY :)

Ed.YEO

becos sale is over??
my god, full name as logo i prefer old logo
左邊舊商標的促銷還是有啦。。。右邊新商標的,三月上市。要買就要打鐵趁熱了。。。新幣對英鎊看來有轉弱的趨勢。。。

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.