The Watch Thread - Part 12

TeenTitan01

Going back to the speedy discussion, i own a couple of speedies and would like to clarify my understanding so feel free to chip in:

• I believe its true that Omega did not design the speedy as a watch for astronauts. It was simply picked up and tested by NASA engineers. And that was the 321 or pre-moon series
  • Also NASA qualified meant something then as I believe the battery of tests included other brands that failed. But I am not so sure that even at that time the speedy was the ONLY one that made.
  • Nevertheless the russians also brought Russian watches into space and you know Russian movements ain't that great but still made the trip and back...not sure about their value now but certainly not like the Speedy, but good enough for space (but didn't land on the moon of course).
  • Seiko chrono also made it to space around the same time with other (NASA?) astronauts soon after and the movement was created around the same time as the speedy.
  • Point is many watches and movements of that time went to space and came back safely. but the speedy 321 landed on the moon. And the toughest part for the watch is takeoff and re-entry mainly due to vibrations, and extreme temperatures ( i doubt temperature on the moon i colder than space, given the sun shines on the spot where they landed).
  • And also an automatic winding system cannot work without gravity.

comments/thoughts, anyone and everyone? :s12:

some info on the moonwatch's history & calibre:

https://monochrome-watches.com/excl...ences-how-omega-speedmaster-became-moonwatch/

http://chronomaddox.com/moonwatch_cal_background.html

space watches: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J5L7y8zExKg

seiko6139-6002 Pogue went to space in skylab: http://wornandwound.com/gallery-seiko-6139-6002-pogue/

cichlid

Late lunch with MM300
IMG_20170131_151633_279_zpskgbikere.jpg

reikizi

(潮)一開年就安捏熱了?!!!

of course 熱 lah .. ah hia, when bring me eat some peanut, wipe hot towel sing some song to "tao liang" :s13:

every 50 pages must have one sagat... no sagat no talk!!! :s13:

we joint venture, create new app call GSGT NSNT ..beat GAPT hand down .. ho boh ? :s13:

不要那麼講咧。。。我的十五春花都是花將近二十年的時間搜集來的。你還有時間慢慢找,慢慢挑,慢慢集,我年過42,就要開始節制了。。。

買錶不必買貴,最重要是買可靠,買耐用,買信譽就好。至於保不保值,升不升值,跌不跌值,不應該是買錶的主要考量。因為買錶的主要,只是為了報時。買多過兩隻就只為紀念某個日子。。。

我年過42 ??!! u ish rabbikt .. I tot u cow ?? .. like dat no call u ah hia liao .. we must fight month to see who ish ah hia :D

gaoxing84

Oh, haha, I won't buy a watch that I don't like just because it's a good deal though. Cos sometimes good deals will get burnt, even if you check and check and check, later will have problem that crop up... Plus there are problems that won't be obvious during a 10 minute check when dealing. :s13:

That's why must do home work lol.
Just based on the previous saga. Lol
Can earn leh. AND I TOLD THE BUYER BEFORE HAND ABOUT THE OIL STAIN. LOL HE'S FINE.

Have to caps that sentence before I get Trolled.

Your pelagos is confirm earn if you ever get bored.

gaoxing84

Question to everybuddy! What sub 10K dress watch would you get? Why?

****i. Just buy the mut moon alr la
Lol. Ask here and there but you already know you want it.
At the price you can get. It's almost a no brainer.
Hoot ah hoot.
Mtl lol

Thai_Rak_Thai

Rolex 114060 or BatMan

BatMan because the polished links brings our the dressy part

114060 is because. this is THE Rolex. In my opinion

Small mention for Explorer also but it's not a Sub

gaoxing84

Rolex 114060 or BatMan

He meant a dress watch. Like leather strap and slim case.
That kind
He has a batman so no issue there lol

babychimz

****i. Just buy the mut moon alr la
Lol. Ask here and there but you already know you want it.
At the price you can get. It's almost a no brainer.
Hoot ah hoot.
Mtl lol

Basket, i ask you what YOU would get (not what i want). Nowonder always get targeted...

Troll ah troll.

Thai_Rak_Thai

Basket, i ask you what YOU would get (not what i want). Nowonder always get targeted...

Troll ah troll.

GX likes to scold me :( I feel like a minority. I answered the question to the point

but no one talks about Rolex Cellini - don't ask me why

babychimz

Rolex 114060 or BatMan

Thanks Boss TRT. Have the batty and had the 114060 so keen on more dressy watches.

A JLC MUT.

Bro slow mo, why u no recommend your favorite GS? Want to be sexclusive is it.

Orient Bambino lo :o

*flame shield activated*

:crazy:

This is a legit answer leh

Legit answer indeed... but seen the bambinos and it does not speak to me....

DW, it's perfect and u can buy the entire collection. :vijayadmin:

chiobu pwillie jin troll... but i already have one DW leh... no need anymore...

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.