The Watch Thread - Part 12

TeenTitan01

mini GMT watch primer

you can read up to 3 timezones from your rotatable external/internal 24 hour scale bezel equipped GMT watch by rotating the bezel to whichever timezone you're in relative to london GMT time:

1. local time - hours/minute hands on the "normal" 12 hour scale - like any 3 hand watch.

2. GMT time - i set mine to london GMT time. so GMT time is whatever the GMT hands shows when the 0000/2400 hr marker on the outer bezel aligns with 12 o'clock.

3. home time - since sg is +8 hrs from london GMT, all i need is just rotate my outer bezel ANTI-clockwise by 8 hours on the outer bezel scale, so "8" on the outer bezel is directly above 12 o'clock, to read off current sg time from the GMT hand on the outer bezel scale.

of course there're variations to how one uses a GMT watch with an analog outer bezel/inner ring.

alternatively, i can rotate my outer bezel to whichever timezone relative to london GMT to get local time if i want to preserve my hour/minute hands on home time.

eg. LA is -8 hrs from london GMT (assuming daylight saving is ON). to know what the time is in LA upon landing, if you choose not to unscrew and pull out your crown to position 1 to fiddle with your hour hand, just rotate your outer bezel CLOCKWISE by 8 hours until "16" on the outer bezel is above the 12 o'clock position. the GMT hand now shows you what hour it is in LA.

i personally wouldn't use this method as i'm more conditioned to reading local time off the hour/minute hands on the 12 hour scale. imagine forgetting to use the GMT hand to read off local time and being late for that important meeting cos my eyes are more accustomed to the regular hour/minute hands.

i hope it's not too confusing.

it helps to have a GMT watch on hand and know what timezone a destination city is in to try out the above.

cheers, folks. :)

slow_mo

bro BallGag, you can't go wrong with any of the following mechanical true "traveller" GMT watches where the hour hand can be moved independently to whichever local time zone you're at without the watch stopping. the second hand continues running and keeps on ticking without missing a beat (unlike most other "office" GMT watches which only adjust the GMT hand independently, thus losing a fixed GMT reference time).

- rolex explorer II - older 40mm or newer 42mm. comes only with fixed outer 24 hr scale bezel. limited to only 2 time zones. just use the GMT hand to indicate home time. adjusts hour hand to local time upon arrival.

- rolex gmt master II - the prices of older 40mm aluminum bezel has gone crazy, but if you're a fan who enjoys wearing what he has, why not. otherwise:

- rolex gmt master IIc - newer ceramic bezel gmt II with upgrades like anti-magnetic parachrome hairspring, longer lasting bluish chromalight lume, scratch resistant ceramic bezel.

last but not least:

- omega seamaster gmt chronometer ref 2538.20 aka the "great white" (the one i have) - oop like for a decade, COSC certified chronometer, has true 300m diver depth rating vs 100m for the above. cost $1k+ to ~$12k lesser depending on which rolex model/year of production/whether it's half-gold. it's a rare, sought after piece and sexy beast imho for fans like myself. :D

Never recommend GS's GMT? Got GS Mechanical, GS Spring Drive and GS Hi Beat.

Crexzz

sbge039-lg_1.jpg

TeenTitan01

You can make the buckle side, she can make the other side (whatever it's called). :s13:

anatomically, chiobu bro (yeah i know this sounds weird) indigo22 should be the opposing strap end, while his ex should be the buckle... cos the opposing strap end gets threaded INTO the tang/buckle, yo! :D

TeenTitan01

Thought there is international warranty? So if u buy a GS, does it mean I can only send back Japan on my own?

need to ask GS owners here like bro slow_mo.

unsure if thong sia repairs any GS on their own. i doubt if they've the means to repair the spring drive. so even if they honour JDM GS with valid international warranties, they most likely will send back to japan...

TeenTitan01

sorry boss! before i amend my post to correct for my oversight, can i confirm if the hour hand of GS GMTs can be independently adjusted in position 1 with the second hand still running, effectively being a true traveller GMT like i described?

thanks.

TeenTitan01

this is zimbe, not padi

:s22:

i know the $1k is for the zimbe lah. :s13:

i just added a query on current PADI turtle prices mah. so is the PADI turtle prices still refusing to slide after so long? craze still hot? :s13:

change dial/bezel/strap color nia. call it limited edition. can charge more than double the normal turtle. :s22:

slow_mo

sorry boss! before i amend my post to correct for my oversight, can i confirm if the hour hand of GS GMTs can be independently adjusted in position 1 with the second hand still running, effectively being a true traveller GMT like i described?

thanks.

Gold hand shows 24 hr timing (home time). Silver hand shows local time in 12 hr timing. Silver hand can be independently adjusted without adjusting the minute hand (also doesn't hack the second hand). Silver hand can forward or reverse the date.

Old pic:

gaoxing84

i just added a query on current PADI turtle prices mah. so is the PADI turtle prices still refusing to slide after so long? craze still hot? :s13:

change dial/bezel/strap color nia. call it limited edition. can charge more than double the normal turtle. :s22:

1k for Zimbe ex meh?
Original price is 900+. Lol OK what

slow_mo

need to ask GS owners here like bro slow_mo.

unsure if thong sia repairs any GS on their own. i doubt if they've the means to repair the spring drive. so even if they honour JDM GS with valid international warranties, they most likely will send back to japan...

Should be back to Japan.

TeenTitan01

Gold hand shows 24 hr timing (home time). Silver hand shows local time in 12 hr timing. Silver hand can be independently adjusted without adjusting the minute hand (also doesn't hack the second hand). Silver hand can forward or reverse the date.

Old pic:

got it, boss! i amend my post to correct for my oversight! :D

beautiful, beautiful red-coloured GMT! :lick: :love: :s12:

hmmm... unless your internal bezel can be rotated, it's more like the explorer II rather than the gmt II, though. :)

ps. love that speedy-style bracelet on your lovely GS HB GMT. have them on BOTH my seamasters! :D

TeenTitan01

Because I'm also a Chiobu

wait just a minute there... so the classy, debonair, sartorial, charming gentleman... is also you?!! :eek:

*mindblown* :D

so the current tally of "chiobus" in this thread so far are:
- pwillie :love:
- Thai_Rak_Thai :love:
- indigo22 :love:

got anymore? please own up now. :s13:

AyuReady

Padi probably soften liao

Now is green turtle followed by the samurai turtle

Thai_Rak_Thai

er bro, there's a double negative in there... reads like "a gentleman is one who hurts anyone's feelings intentionally" once the double negatives cancel out each other... or am i wrong? :s11: maybe you made a typo? :s11:

should it read as "a gentleman is one who never hurts anyone's feelings intentionally"? :s11:

grammarnazititan01 =:p

...a gentleman does not kiss and tell bro ;)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.