The Watch Thread - Part 12

TeenTitan01

Usually auntie in office will shout wah buy rolex ah. Ehh fake one is it.

Sent from Xiaomi MI MAX using GAGT

shout back: "your head ah! your boobs are the fake. people do fake boobs can see lokang. yours worse than airport!" / "your so-called diamonds not even swarovzki crystal, but some cheapo glass nia!" / "people wear 18k gold, you wear gold plated!"

deafening silence.

auntie gets pwned.

benefit: she won't speak to you. EVER. you: profit.

TeenTitan01

Too bad my Sub is also my beater when I went drinking, which might explain why I was looking into Steinhart watches. I wouldn't mind an epic story to explain dents and scratches on my Sub if I ever do get into a drunken adventure though!

i see the chief issue here is the risk of having your sub nicked while you're drunk.

TeenTitan01

i did but no biters.

i put my 2254 for sale. no biters too. no la, no box and papers not so high.
can move above 2.2k i happy liao.
but not urgent, if nobody buy, i will keep it.

nothing is sacred when you need money lol

never underestimate omega wave dial, sword hands seamaster fans like me! :eek:

when i was hunting for my omega 2254.50, local online supply was drier than sahara dessert! i mean the last piece sold was like in 2015, for crying out loud, when i was looking early last year. even the odd piece (no box/papers) that's available was marked up pretty handsomely. i googled my way into swx.sg and other sites i can't remember now. i even saw oceania's ad from 2012 or was it in 2014 but all local online offers were all sold and snapped up at an average price of $2.4k then. it should be higher now.

sometime after i got mine, there's an ad in carousell at $3.8k (yikes!) for a full local AD set dated 2011. but it did had a full service at the authorized agent iirc. and it's no longer available!

so, as you can see, demand is there!

overseas pieces from WUS simply doesn't make sense after having to fork out expensive FedEx fees/charges and the annoying government GST. :mad:

anyway, it will fetch higher prices on WUS forums at their going rate. can try there. those americans also charge overseas buyers to ship via expensive FedEx. so do likewise for them.

i've since learn the value of the full set. cos serious collectors go for and are willing to pay for them. now i only aim for those. no full set, no talk. =:p

TeenTitan01

I won't give a rat's arse about people who laugh about homage.

Just hoot a Squale 30 Classic today, glossy ceramic bezel jin swee (and yes, I hoot again, sigh). I guess it helps me decide if I really want the real thing. :D

32599515781_23d42a2a8d_c.jpg

i know i want it bad if - after downloading many nice pics & videos of the watch in its dedicated folder, doing extensive research online to learn more about the watch, bookmarking relevant informative sites & url links for a year, have an idea of its indicative price from the forums - the passion & lust for it remains strong as ever! =:p

if the rolex sub has been your grail for the longest time, you've have thought long & carefully about it, don't mind it being the most copied / homaged diver on the planet, appreciates its robust design, engineering and quality, i think you can "stop worrying and start living": pull that trigger on that sub / sub-date before prices creep up again. :eek:

your personal choice of brand spanking new from AD, grey or carefully pre-loved. just ensure full set. :)

and bro cyrenic, do share the joy, strip tease unboxing and wrist shot(s) when the time comes! :D :s12:

TeenTitan01

I think... If replica and know, and admit it, still ok la.

Quite sad if replica and know and don't admit it.

Even more sad if replica and don't know and pay Rolex price. :s22:

nevertheless, there's still an element of deceit even if the wearer readily admits it, cos unless he tells everyone or wears a sign/T-shrit saying "yes, the rolex i'm wearing is fake!", there'll be others who will be taken in at a casual glance.

what's not often stated enough is that a replica is practically worthless, no matter how grade 'A' that counterfeit copy is, cos it's unlikely that anyone would buy a pre-owned fake when they can buy it new.

on the other hand, a savvy buyer of the genuine article can readily sell his and get his money back or even a slight profit as prices steadily creep up.

thus, he effectively wears his watch for free!

so tell me, who's really smarter? ;)

TeenTitan01

On the topic of homages, I've read somewhere before that the whole stigma stems from the fact that to most people, homages are just cheap copies of the "actual" thing. While it is true that affordability is one of the biggest strengths and selling-points of homages, there are also many other attributes that homages can improve on. An example would be design refinements e.g. less intrusive date window placement, matching date-wheels, ceramic bezels instead of aluminium, titanium cases instead of stainless steel, different finishes etc. So from a design point of view, homages can indeed be better pieces. It's just that a majority of makers doing homages have chosen to prioritise affordability, because it's profitable. (Count the number of homage models Steinhart has as compared to a more original OT500 which itself is not bad at all)

Having said all that... life is short, buy what you like and wear what you enjoy. They're just watches. :)

unfortunately, i've seen photos of the OT500 titanium clasp scuffing up badly. :(

TeenTitan01

actually just curious, how many people here (including the lurkers :D) are real certified divers who dive often? and what are your watches of choice? :o

dive = the one that you bloop into the water, not dive on table/play mahjong that diving

so now, all PADI turtle owners must all hold valid PADI diving licence to "keep it real"? :eek:

TeenTitan01

So would you go the PI route in the future?

ONLY if the savings are substantial, and only for cheaper pieces like my orange monster.

I can probably get a Gray one at around 400 plus abit

Let me know if need help in sourcing

thanks bro AyuReady for your very kind offer. i doubt if gray sets come with the bigger deluxe special edition PADI box. if it does, i AM VERY INTERESTED! :D

please pm me if that's the case. thanks! :)

TeenTitan01

It's the perfect situation for when you need the time of 4 different time zones, between two dates and when you are 300m underwater battling a Megalodon.

If I may suggest, the combo of the two watches can be named 'Megalodon', not sure why but I see some resemblance in the dials with the picture below.

800px-Megalodon_shark_jaws_museum_of_natural_history_068.jpg

it's the illusion caused by the inward pointing trapezoidal hour makers of my seamaster dials.

it's even more apt for the 2nd gen seiko monsters with its triangular "fang" hour markers.

C6HJHcv.jpg

but that huge, nasty looking jaw is just creepy. can't imagine the fear & terror of seeing it when that thing is alive.

TeenTitan01

good morning bros!

any love for the seiko alpinist here? any thoughts about them?

how do you all feel about the cream-dialed sarb013? :lick: :love:

attachment.php

SARB013.jpg

what's the market price for a BNIB, never been worn, still has its stickers on rare unicorn of a specimen?

how much do you think it's worth paying for?

AyuReady

No need so mafan

U wear the watch go out first

Ur wife carry empty box and go out later

Huat

wear the watch on wrist, keep the receipt and warranty card in your coat pocket, and mail the rest of the box & manual back to you?

AyuReady

Bro I on mobile, dunno how to pm.
U pm me and I will reply

Yes quite sure come with the full box and black case

:)

ONLY if the savings are substantial, and only for cheaper pieces like my orange monster.

thanks bro AyuReady for your very kind offer. i doubt if gray sets come with the bigger deluxe special edition PADI box. if it does, i AM VERY INTERESTED! :D

slow_mo

A different kind of "GMT" with a adjustable inner bezel for a second time zone.

mpcdude

good morning bros!

any love for the seiko alpinist here? any thoughts about them?

how do you all feel about the cream-dialed sarb013? :lick: :love:

attachment.php

SARB013.jpg

what's the market price for a BNIB, never been worn, still has its stickers on rare unicorn of a specimen?

how much do you think it's worth paying for?

It's gorgeous. Idk how much it's worth as I've never looked into it before. However, i owned the standard Alpinist before and regretted selling it.

Unclemun

I suppose you mean when compared to the AD prices and not like online stores? Australia Seiko catalogue online indicate their SRP but SGP does not.

Do you know close is the local prices compared to Australia?

Turbo-lised

but someone* here said if resist watch poison when already poisoned for too long will suffer internal injury wor... :eek:

dunno if serious or not... :o

but still wish you the best. (best don't come into this sibeh full of watch poison thread... and don't be gong kia like uncle here - ownself poison ownself from the internet!) :(

* ah it's bro snowver! :eek:

:(
dont like that lei..
hahaha i will endure.. HAHAHA last year also say last watch last watch then join that ventus mori.. that one must be my last watch for no hoot year this year :s22:

indigo22

Hump day!

pls go to a nearby Omega AD and buy more...

Swatch Group just reported its 2016 financials. Key points:
Sales declined by 10.6 percent.
Net income declined by 47 percent.
Watch and jewelry sales (the heart of the business) declined by 10.7 percent.
Operating profit margins for the watches and jewelry lines declined to 12.2 percent from 18.8 percent in 2015.

source

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.