The Watch Thread - Part 13

storm913

I have a simple Tag and I hate having to adjust the time every Monday as I don't wear it on weekends. Any cheap solution or do I have to invest in an automatic winder? If so, any to recommend?

Sensible_

Actually I see some posts talking about rubber b, everest and other rubber straps...i changed my sub strap to an everest strap for $220 at Chuan Watch.

There is a shop on the 2nd floor of the same building selling rubber b for $230.

So far no regrets for the everest strap. Feels nice and I like the look.

mpcdude

Actually I see some posts talking about rubber b, everest and other rubber straps...i changed my sub strap to an everest strap for $220 at Chuan Watch.

There is a shop on the 2nd floor of the same building selling rubber b for $230.

So cheap? Was it after discount? The website stated $320 for the one with buckle leh.

TeenTitan01

Ah thanks bro, yes I am looking at a 'cyclops-free'. Either a Sub or SD4k. I do not buy watches often so was thinking just go for the ONE

well, you won't go wrong with a s/steel watch from rolex sports series, be it an older/latest explorer, explorer II, submariner, submariner date or sea-dweller.

they suffer the least depreciation among luxury watches and if you're able to buy pre-owned at a good price, you can easily breakeven or even make some money on the side when you sell it later (or 30 yrs later when your brand new rolex becomes vintage).

but please remember to keep all the inner/outer boxes, cards, card sleeve, hangtags, manuals, booklets and every scrap of paper or whatever that came with your AD purchase. and i mean ALL. cos these are what would make your rolex 30 yrs down the road more valuable than just the watch only.

do your homework/research if you plan to buy pre-own.

if you're paranoid about authenticity, buy at an authorized rolex dealer. sure it costs more, but you're sure you're getting a genuine rolex- and you get premiums like the golf umbrella, etc (remember to ask, hor. no ask, no get. :D)

since the sd4k will be defunct with the introduction of the new 43mm red SD, a case could be made to go for the sd4k (if your wrist can take it) as it will surely grow in value over the years.

anyway, that's my observation about this crazy watch collecting hobby: the rarer, the more valuable - no matter how fugly the watch is/was and that it sold poorly when it was available. cases in point: the paul newman daytona & the 1655 exp II. :s22:

BallGag

Always sensible to use a rubber

Sent from Samsung SM-G935F using GAGT

TeenTitan01

I have a simple Tag and I hate having to adjust the time every Monday as I don't wear it on weekends. Any cheap solution or do I have to invest in an automatic winder? If so, any to recommend?

<in before "it's a quartz tag" :eek: :s22: :s13:>

assuming your tag is equipped with a windable movement, wind it up with 40-50 turns on the crown before laying it down.

kennycancan

Hello guys , just wondering how much would a 1year old aquaracer like these worth buying?
llV60ngl.jpg

Sent from Huawei NEXUS 6P using GAGT

Sarbmariner

Christopher Ward having a 50% off clearance sale on selected models.

Jumping hour looks very tempting...

TeenTitan01

Hello guys , just wondering how much would a 1year old aquaracer like these worth buying?
llV60ngl.jpg

Sent from Huawei NEXUS 6P using GAGT

honest, sincere opinion: skip the tag and get a pre-owned omega seamaster professional chronometer 2254.50 (full set with box and all 3 cards plus manual if possible) and thank me later.

why? tag's value tank while selected watches in good condition like the 2254.50 (and of course any rolex sports watch) hold their value well and even rise over time.

storm913

<in before "it's a quartz tag" :eek: :s22: :s13:>

assuming your tag is equipped with a windable movement, wind it up with 40-50 turns on the crown before laying it down.

It's an automatic. Am I correct about an automatic winder for an automatic watch? or should it be something else? Sorry, I'm not really sure. Watch was a gift. :s13:

TeenTitan01

It's an automatic. Am I correct about an automatic winder for an automatic watch? or should it be something else? Sorry, I'm not really sure. Watch was a gift. :s13:

imho, unless you own an automatic perpetual calendar watch, a winder is really optional.

ask yourself: do high end boutiques put their entire stock on winders? that should provide anyone much food for thought. ;)

when i choose to wear a particular automatic that has stopped running from my collection, i just give it several winds, adjust it to my laptop clock, strap it on my wrists and i'm good to go. :D

a watch with a windable movement is designed and meant to be handwound if necessary. you won't break nor wear it down prematurely. if so, all handwound watches (the ever popular omega speedmaster moonwatch is a prime example) all kaput early liao. ;)

just make sure you DON'T ADJUST THE DATE between the hours of 9pm to 3am or you'll break something in the watch mechanism. :eek:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.