The Watch Thread - Part 13

cyrenic

Btw. A review on the tool. I just took it out for a round of abuse. Before it is put to the test, it alr broke.

Please do not purchase it guys. The claw just broke.. too flimsy. Tool feels solid but those claw they provided are of low quality
nglFdeOl.jpg

Sent from OnePlus ONEPLUS A3010 using GAGT
Can see if it uses replacements.

TeenTitan01

Btw. A review on the tool. I just took it out for a round of abuse. Before it is put to the test, it alr broke.

Please do not purchase it guys. The claw just broke.. too flimsy. Tool feels solid but those claw they provided are of low quality
nglFdeOl.jpg

sorry you wasted S$57+postage? (CNY280?) on an expensive copy of the authentic S$290 burgeon springbar tool http://www.khatena.com.sg/watchmaker-tools/spring-bar-tools/bergeon-spring-bar-plier-6825-pf

any way to purchase the authentic burgeon claws that can perhaps salvage the situation?

osirisx

honest, sincere opinion: skip the tag and get a pre-owned omega seamaster professional chronometer 2254.50 (full set with box and all 3 cards plus manual if possible) and thank me later.

why? tag's value tank while selected watches in good condition like the 2254.50 (and of course any rolex sports watch) hold their value well and even rise over time.
On the topic of watches holding their value, which brand of dress watch hold their value well?

Sent from Samsung SM-G935F using GAGT

TeenTitan01

haha i have 4 liao..full collection but wanna sell it :D

these few weeks i drink milo until wan puke le

although not LE, still collectible cos probably a once-off. keep lor, unless really no space liao or kena nagged to death (by mum or gf =:p). you definitely don't need the money what. :s13:

TeenTitan01

On the topic of watches holding their value, which brand of dress watch hold their value well?

Sent from Samsung SM-G935F using GAGT

i'm not as familiar with dress watches. but if you're buying brand new, you'll definitely take a big depreciation hit upon resale. the market for dress watches is definitely smaller & less liquid than s/steel sports watches like divers & GMTs.

i suppose a fair compromise would be to wear a rolex on a leather strap for dress watch duty, although the exp / exp II / GMT II / GMT IIc / sub / sub date / sea-dweller 4000 / day-date on bracelet all wear well in a suit.

bonus: with a rolex, you own a watch that would lose you little/lesser than other watches/even breakeven or profit a bit should you want to resell years down the road.

gaoxing84

nglFdeOl.jpg

best way to remove springbar is the traditional way, use a precision flathead screwdriver.
practice till u get it, its not difficult. no need expensive tools.

or use iphone pin (original steel one, use chiong one before, it snapped). confirm can work.

i removed my rolex bracelet using iphone pin. the pin fits nicely into the lug openings to gain access to the spring bar

Nakedtoes

imho, unless you own an automatic perpetual calendar watch, a winder is really optional.

ask yourself: do high end boutiques put their entire stock on winders? that should provide anyone much food for thought. ;)

when i choose to wear a particular automatic that has stopped running from my collection, i just give it several winds, adjust it to my laptop clock, strap it on my wrists and i'm good to go. :D

a watch with a windable movement is designed and meant to be handwound if necessary. you won't break nor wear it down prematurely. if so, all handwound watches (the ever popular omega speedmaster moonwatch is a prime example) all kaput early liao. ;)

just make sure you DON'T ADJUST THE DATE between the hours of 9pm to 3am or you'll break something in the watch mechanism. :eek:
But also think if put all watches in high end boutique then the maintenance cost is high.. Still a winder is useful and such u dun need adjust watch except month wo 31st

jonleelk

gaoxing84

But also think if put all watches in high end boutique then the maintenance cost is high.. Still a winder is useful and such u dun need adjust watch except month wo 31st

winder is damn useful, for watches with grand complications and old movement without quickset date

DXMachina

Seen quite a few Rolex here but hardly SD4k, any comments on this or any reasons for the 'lack' of interest? Just wondering since got recently discontinued again.

I think the supposed "lack of interest" of the SD4k boils down to its value proposition. 2 main points:

1) If you're going for a more "vintage" piece, the earlier SDs can be had for less than 10k (unless you're talking about rare unicorns like the legendary Double Red or other early vintages)

2) For a modern Rolex diver, most people go for the Sub because the differences between a Sub and the SD4k may not be significant enough to justify the price diff (10k for a Sub nodate VS 14k for a SD4K). From a pure aesthetic point of view, there are very little differences between a modern Sub and a SD4K, and 99% of wearers won't need the diving upgrades (extended clasp, more water resistance) anyways.

For me, I went with a SD4k because of the following reasons:
- I like the extra thickness of the case (but yet still within reasonable means unlike the DSSD) compared to the Sub. The case just has a balanced substantial aesthetic to it.
- Date function without the cyclops (best of both worlds IMHO)
- I like the full minute graduations around the bezel.
- I prefer a modern piece with ceramic "bling" bezel.

All in all, it's just a nice balance / in-between of the Subs and the DSSD, and checks off the boxes in 1 nice package for me. :)

In fact, I wear it so often that it has become my daily beater (almost). :eek:

you mean besides the sd4k being thicker, heftier and cost more than your sub/sub-date?

fitzai bro DXMachina has one and he swears by it! he even forgo the DSSD, although his powerlifter physique can easily take the heft.

the majority of owners who posted their rolex divers here seem to want to stand slightly apart from the usual rolex crowd with their choice of subs:

- cyclops-free, no date 114060/14060m subs that go back to the basic tool watch vibes, aesthetics & dial symmetry, and
- cyclops-free 116600 sd4k with the mil-sub bezel.

Couldn't have given a 2 cents worth on the SD4k better myself! I'm glad I ditched the idea of the DSSD because of the thickness (not as versatile as SD4k and the Subs), so it can't fit well underneath a cuff when the occasion calls for it.

NeonX

Wise to get a maybe used 2008 sea master planet ocean for diving? Or should I go for a new one?

TeenTitan01

I think the supposed "lack of interest" of the SD4k boils down to its value proposition. 2 main points:

1) If you're going for a more "vintage" piece, the earlier SDs can be had for less than 10k (unless you're talking about rare unicorns like the legendary Double Red or other early vintages)

2) For a modern Rolex diver, most people go for the Sub because the differences between a Sub and the SD4k may not be significant enough to justify the price diff (10k for a Sub nodate VS 14k for a SD4K). From a pure aesthetic point of view, there are very little differences between a modern Sub and a SD4K, and 99% of wearers won't need the diving upgrades (extended clasp, more water resistance) anyways.

For me, I went with a SD4k because of the following reasons:
- I like the extra thickness of the case (but yet still within reasonable means unlike the DSSD) compared to the Sub. The case just has a balanced substantial aesthetic to it.
- Date function without the cyclops (best of both worlds IMHO)
- I like the full minute graduations around the bezel.
- I prefer a modern piece with ceramic "bling" bezel.

All in all, it's just a nice balance / in-between of the Subs and the DSSD, and checks off the boxes in 1 nice package for me. :)

In fact, I wear it so often that it has become my daily beater (almost). :eek:

Couldn't have given a 2 cents worth on the SD4k better myself! I'm glad I ditched the idea of the DSSD because of the thickness (not as versatile as SD4k and the Subs), so it can't fit well underneath a cuff when the occasion calls for it.

excellent review, bro DXMachina! :s12:

your SD4000 has just become an instant classic with rolex replacing it with the 43mm red SD.

make sure you keep the full set safely tucked away with all the paperwork, cards, sleeve, tags, and whatever bits that came with your purchase intact and as virgin as possible (maybe even that golf umbrella, roflmao) and ... in 30 yrs time, take profit gao gao ah! :D

damn, should i buy a SD4000 now? or perhaps the previous gen SD? :s11: :eek:

ps. i read somewhere online that some people have franken their sub date by removing the cyclops to mimic the SD, cos they can't take the thickness/heft yet dislike the cyclops but still want the date - go figure! haha.

DXMachina

excellent review, bro DXMachina! :s12:

your SD4000 has just become an instant classic with rolex replacing it with the 43mm red SD.

make sure you keep the full set safely tucked away with all the paperwork, cards, sleeve, tags, and whatever bits that came with your purchase intact and as virgin as possible (maybe even that golf umbrella, roflmao) and ... in 30 yrs time, take profit gao gao ah! :D

damn, should i buy a SD4000 now? or perhaps the previous gen SD? :s11: :eek:

Whole package of box and papers already safely tucked away under lock & key. :D

Get the SD4K cos it will be known as "The only 40mm SD with ceramic bezel without cyclops". Value sure go up? :D

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.