The Watch Thread - Part 14

All in a Day

"H2HUB agent independent brand. . . You say?
The movement is Swiss. . . That's right But no one noticed that the movement used was the same as some of ROTARY's watches. ROTARY in the market some of the oldstock or marked with "IT ##" movement model, produced from now no INTER-T. WULF movement model or not so obvious, but the structure or the INTER-T, now produced by a Hong Kong registered company "SWISSTECH."

Correct. . . SWISSTECH's predecessor is INTER-T"

Wah.. in Ed Yeo's virgin Ang Mo post!

All in a Day

I got it at retail, which has been the point I'm trying to make. I also have to establish a relationship with the AD, put my name down and waited for the 5711. I won't die if I didn't receive this watch, I will just move on :)

As a matter of principle, I just hate scalpers and refuse to deal with them :)

Similarly, I will not buy a watch I don't want at the expense of others so that I can make a quick buck :)

If everybody thought like u then the grey/outside market GG liao.

But where there is demand there is supply.. many rich people will to pay premium in exchange for instant gratification/bragging rights and hence the scalper market.. as with concert tickets, iphones.. the list goes on!

gaoxing84

The fact u still can get it at retail and have a established relationship with AD makes you different from a lot ppl here. I would say most buy grey or 2nd hand here. There are also many one time buyer who save till they buy their one luxury watch.

So I dun think your advise can apply to many ppl. You need spend money to save money later. Most dun have the money to spend first.

100% haha.
So we all suck thumb

gaoxing84

But where there is demand there is supply.. many rich people will to pay premium in exchange for instant gratification/bragging rights and hence the scalper market.. as with concert tickets, iphones.. the list goes on!

To some, I am rich, I want it now. What's that little premium gonna cost.
To the middle class, wear alr got bragging rights, hoot first.
Sometimes there's no alternative to something you really want.

couscous

i agreed with u

I agree with your points. I also feel not so bad paying a slight premium for my 5167 (although you paid much more in tandem for your Daytona)

luxury watch prices will only keep going up, so best to buy now if one has the means instead of hoping for a bubble and all of it goes to fire-sale mode

BigStick

The real rich people won't buy from scalpers. They will just go to AD and tell them they want a 5711/Daytona, and they will get it within a month :)

Some people don't seem to understand a luxury watch is not a necessity, even more so a "grail watch" :) you can survive without a Rolex on your wrist you know?

Worse are people who buy watches for the wrong reasons, ie to brag :(

Seriously

Thai_Rak_Thai

i'm not rich like Biggie but all i will say is the comfort of buying from AD to me is security

you already going to drop SGD10,000 or more, why save a bit in case you get a lemon or some inconvenience? Even for experienced buyers and sellers, you can't say they are 100% certain themselves

Grey sellers will always be around to cater for others

Also, Patek and Rolex making changes to some of their policies - "no premium price" , "no double sealed" shows they do want to combat such issues. If anyone wants to believe they're just doing that to keep demand high - that's fine too

BigStick

i'm not rich like Biggie but all i will say is the comfort of buying from AD to me is security

I'm not rich bro :s13:

I just want to share some painful lessons that I learnt when I was younger - chasing after popular pieces for the wrong reasons :o

I have since mastered the art of switching my mind from the Daytona-mania and learnt to appreciate many other fine watches that I was previously "blinded" from. If I can do it, so can many others :)

Peace be to all :D

All in a Day

I just want to share some painful lessons that I learnt when I was younger - chasing after popular pieces for the wrong reasons :o

I have since mastered the art of switching my mind from the Daytona-mania and learnt to appreciate many other fine watches that I was previously "blinded" from. If I can do it, so can many others :)

Do share the other fine watches u've discovered! Will be interesting and educational for the folks here! TIA :D

mpcdude

Wah now Holiday season so busy. I bought a watch from JP and it has been in Japan customs since Saturday :(

AyuReady

Hopefully we will see the light too

Haha not speaking for others but a SS Daytona was the first luxury watch I set my eyes on.

Now come full circle the feeling is diff from other pieces so far

Hopefully can endgame for at least a while longer

FireWaller

Hopefully we will see the light too

Haha not speaking for others but a SS Daytona was the first luxury watch I set my eyes on.

Now come full circle the feeling is diff from other pieces so far

Hopefully can endgame for at least a while longer

Can totally understand bro. The Daytona is a nice watch.
Personally I'm more into IWG and Hublot, but if I were to get a Rolex, it would be a Daytona.

slow_mo

Some painful lessons need to be experienced and not taught via hearsay.

I guess some of us here will have a fair share of buying and selling before we know what we really want. Even then, is that what we really really want?

Season greetings to all!

AikiBoy

"H2HUB agent independent brand. . . You say?
The movement is Swiss. . . That's right But no one noticed that the movement used was the same as some of ROTARY's watches. ROTARY in the market some of the oldstock or marked with "IT ##" movement model, produced from now no INTER-T. WULF movement model or not so obvious, but the structure or the INTER-T, now produced by a Hong Kong registered company "SWISSTECH."

Correct. . . SWISSTECH's predecessor is INTER-T"

so is it good or bad?:s13:

FireWaller

Some painful lessons need to be experienced and not taught via hearsay.

I guess some of us here will have a fair share of buying and selling before we know what we really want. Even then, is that what we really really want?

Season greetings to all!

Am noob in this forum, apologies for "crashing".

My latest hoot is nothing fancy, a Raymond Weil Maestro skeleton. I have a tendency to go for the under-statements. :s13:

gaoxing84

The real rich people won't buy from scalpers. They will just go to AD and tell them they want a 5711/Daytona, and they will get it within a month :)

Some people don't seem to understand a luxury watch is not a necessity, even more so a "grail watch" :) you can survive without a Rolex on your wrist you know?

Worse are people who buy watches for the wrong reasons, ie to brag :(

Seriously

You know why rolex popular pieces so popular?
Because when need money, can offload fast.
Very liquid.

That is why it's popular to the masses.

BigStick

Do share the other fine watches u've discovered! Will be interesting and educational for the folks here! TIA :D

I have previously posted these:

One way not to pay premium for these popular Rolex sports models is to forget about them - don't buy

Buy other brands such as JLC, AP (Some Rolex are priced like AP now), GP, Piaget and Blancpain

There are so many great choices out there

For S$10k, I will buy the JLC Master Control, the Grand Seiko Snowflake, Omega Globemaster. I may also consider the Datejust 41 because that piece has the 3235 movement, and is readily available with a nice discount

For S$15k, my 1st choice is the new GP Laureato, 2nd choice is Blancpain 50 fathoms, and 3rd choice is Piaget Polo S

For S$20k, I really can't think of anything I want to buy at this price...

For S$25k, my 1st choice is the Aquanaut, 2nd choice is the AP Royal Oak, 3rd choice is the new VC Overseas with the 3 straps

Apologies I'm not a fan of thick watches, so Speedy is out for me. Please feel free to add as I'm very sure my list is not to everyone's liking.

Most of above watches (except Aquanaut) you can walk into AD and get a 10-20% discount. At the end of the day, you have to discover for yourself what you really like (and not what others like, unless the 2 converge) :D

FireWaller

Very liquid.

My late FIL did that a lot: when his business cashflow is bad, he would pawn his old school Datejust, then redeem back when business turns for the better.

Repeat cycle.

BigStick

Very liquid.

I'm not disputing the liquidity of Rolex sports watches given I have owned a few in the past :)

My question - is that the reason why you are buying a luxury watch? :s11:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.