The Watch Thread - Part 3

Syraxius

My dad found this in the store room while cleaning up! Nobody knows who it belongs to actually. Mixed with other jewellery in some case.

Anybody knows what make/model is it and what is it worth? It's a Hamilton watch.

xb4t.jpg

The top and bottom of the watch has a small ring of what appears to be diamonds.

9ns1.jpg

The back of the watch has the Hamilton wordings, and the other side says "14K Gold".

tzba.jpg

Every single section of the band has the words "Speidel USA" engraved in it.

nssf.jpg

Anyone knows what series it belongs to, or the model, and its approximate value?

http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/e...tch-experts-lip-lai-4510655.html#post82134207

Anyone can recognize what series this watch belongs to?

lemonchicken

just got quoted 50500hkd for an explorer II by a HK AD. Watch bros, is that a good deal? :D Understand theres no where in SG for a better price liao..

hwaa

just got quoted 50500hkd for an explorer II by a HK AD. Watch bros, is that a good deal? :D Understand theres no where in SG for a better price liao..

wah, nt a bad deal.. although grey can get abit cheaper.. but nth beats u getting yrself at AD.. can save the verification fees also.

dmitri

216570? Definitely way better than any local ADs that I have access to. But still doesn't beat the local grey dealer price.

ah_ben69

Hi guys, care to share how you actually clean/polish your watch? Especially those with stainless steel bracelet with both polished and brushed surface. Thanks

Henabi

hey guys...

need some guidance about the different series for Rolex Sub, as I am expanding my knowledge and understanding about Rolex watches before I take the plunge.

went down to Golden Landmark last Thursday to see see look look after my company's X`mas Lunch but was really confused by the Y series, F series, G series, V Series, E Series or AN Series.

tbh, the only way I was able to differentiate was by the slight difference in design...
like got pinhole...no pinhole...got date...no date...
Jubilee bracelet or SS bracelet...

Is there a significance to the "Series" thing, like is it to identify the manufacturing year or manufacturing batch?

yattokame

hey guys...

need some guidance about the different series for Rolex Sub, as I am expanding my knowledge and understanding about Rolex watches before I take the plunge.

went down to Golden Landmark last Thursday to see see look look after my company's X`mas Lunch but was really confused by the Y series, F series, G series, V Series, E Series or AN Series.

tbh, the only way I was able to differentiate was by the slight difference in design...
like got pinhole...no pinhole...got date...no date...
Jubilee bracelet or SS bracelet...

Is there a significance to the "Series" thing, like is it to identify the manufacturing year or manufacturing batch?
pic taken from rolexblog.blogspot.sg (very very good read, u can start from there)

Rolex Serial Numbers & Production Dates Lookup Chart | Bob's Watches

scroll down a bit - there's a chart there :)

with pinhole is older series; newer ones no pinholes

sub has 2 models, with date or no date. some prefers the no date and it looks cleaner.

newer ones also got "chapter ring" or the inner ring (rehaut) engrave the rolexrolexrolex like this:

PC-Claus.jpg

bracelet got jubilee, president and oyster mainly.

yes, the series is year of manufacture.

you probably went to precision watch eh? quite a lot of my frens buy from there.

Henabi

Thanks yattokame.
The link is a great help.

Yea lah... my uncle also recommend me to go that shop. :) Their service is very good even though I told them I was just browsing and wanna understand the rolex 2nd hand market better... one of the SA, I think his name is vincent. He even show me some sub with different type of straps, like nato, gator, rubber...

I saw an explorer two tone brown and gold I think I... damn nice...

yattokame

Thanks yattokame.
The link is a great help.

Yea lah... my uncle also recommend me to go that shop. :) Their service is very good even though I told them I was just browsing and wanna understand the rolex 2nd hand market better... one of the SA, I think his name is vincent. He even show me some sub with different type of straps, like nato, gator, rubber...

I saw an explorer two tone brown and gold I think I... damn nice...

no problem man.
I'm still learning too.

but the black sub on steel bracelet is THE watch to get.

Triste

Finally visited jackroad and kame-kichi. Long story short- Jackroad's prices aren't really that competitive as compared to kame-kichi.

I didn't manage to get my AP openworked steel... but i did get a rolex everose full gold with the correct dial.

Man, the prices there for rolex are cheap!!!

Yatto bro, you will definitely enjoy shopping there.:)

yattokame

Finally visited jackroad and kame-kichi. Long story short- Jackroad's prices aren't really that competitive as compared to kame-kichi.

I didn't manage to get my AP openworked steel... but i did get a rolex everose full gold with the correct dial.

Man, the prices there for rolex are cheap!!!

Yatto bro, you will definitely enjoy shopping there.:)

steady bro....

now...where are the pics!??!?! am waiting until neck long long to see a wrist shot of the AP skeleton!

how r the prices man? although I'm off Rolex a little now......

Triste

steady bro....

now...where are the pics!??!?! am waiting until neck long long to see a wrist shot of the AP skeleton!

how r the prices man? although I'm off Rolex a little now......

Jackroad sold out on this piece.. AP prices arent that great. But rolexes are reasonable...especially the full gold ones. I saw the one i really wanted and which was just 3 days old shipped from Germany. Took it and whacked!

If you pay by card, there's a discount of 2 percent only instead of 5 percent as there is a 3 percent surcharge.

We wanted a lange as well, but that got reserved a day before already.

I'll post some pictures up later... Am now in shinjuku eating yakiniku lol...

yattokame

Jackroad sold out on this piece.. AP prices arent that great. But rolexes are reasonable...especially the full gold ones. I saw the one i really wanted and which was just 3 days old shipped from Germany. Took it and whacked!

If you pay by card, there's a discount of 2 percent only instead of 5 percent as there is a 3 percent surcharge.

We wanted a lange as well, but that got reserved a day before already.

I'll post some pictures up later... Am now in shinjuku eating yakiniku lol...

Oh man.......I was quite keen in the AP skeleton, awaiting wrist shots though. They didnt update their website that its sold. Rare and good price.

Could have recommended u a cheap and good yakiniku place in Ueno ard ameyokocho area. Even my jap frens say its pretty good.

Which full gold did u get?

Enjoy the rest of your trip! Hope I can find something when I'm there next yr.

Henabi

no problem man.
I'm still learning too.

but the black sub on steel bracelet is THE watch to get.

Yes!!!! Black sub on SS bracelet is damn chio.
Two tone blue+gold also damn blink but don't want my hands to get chop off >. <

yattokame

Yes!!!! Black sub on SS bracelet is damn chio.
Two tone blue+gold also damn blink but don't want my hands to get chop off >. <

actually hor.....

the first rolex that caught my eye was the blue + TT sub! no lah won't get chopped off, really. TT is quite safe. even now the blue sub TT is still quite popular.

Not wanting to sound arrogant but after a while the TT looks like some....cheaper mass market brands. that was why I went full gold. But I made the wrong choice - the full gold daydate is way too loud - the GMT or Sub would have been the better choice.

then I was interested in the "pepsi" but it looked weird on me. then daytona but the black face one looked weird on me.

try the watches and see how it "speaks" to you. if the black sub on SS is good on you, take it. you won't go wrong with it.

Triste

Finally back in the hotel. The visit to Jack Road and Kame-Kichi was a real eye opener.

The SAs are definitely non proficient in English and it took quite a bit of communication and patience to communicate things to them. When we went there initially, we went WAH at the size of the shops. Even for a monday evening, the two shops were really crowded.

Jackroad even has a separate room for clients for them to sit down and discuss the deals.

Unfortunately, i couldn't seem to get a deal done with them, so I went over to Kame-Kichi and saw the exact same watch that I had in if my first choice wasn't there. I wanted the AP skeleton steel, but they told me it was out of stock at Jack Road.

The savings on the rolexes can be quite substantial. I got quoted at one of the grey dealers here for the exact model I got for SGD 38,000. I got it way lesser than that at Kame-Kichi, with the warranty just being 3 days old and brand new shrink wrapped

It was a little strange though as the ever rose full golds were priced differently depending on the dial. I was deciding between the one with the black dial vs the chocolate dial, but the arabic numerals and newer model just won me over.

I'll let the pictures do the talking. For those who head to Tokyo, it's definitely worth a visit to get your watches given the extremely weak yen now.

The entrance of Kame-Kichi, with the big TAX FREE logo displayed outside.

11515032146_5470b2ea0e_b.jpg

The entrance of Jack Road, which spans a good 3 shop spaces, including Betty Road and the room for just talking to clients.

11514987205_86da81c225_b.jpg

The Lange Arkade, which was unfortunately reserved the day before we arrived. My missus really wanted this.

11515035934_7d6be307c8_b.jpg

And finally my 116505 with the arabic dial in my hotel room. At the rear is the rainbow bridge.:D

11514739486_ec71b93b9d_b.jpg

I've got more pictures of the cordial gentleman serving us and pictures of the shop, but for some strange reason, uploads are really slow.

Enjoy!

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.