The Watch Thread - Part 3

Seannie

Finally, after weeks of visiting ADs, browsing forums ... I've found the dress watch I want: Jaeger-LeCoultre Master Control.
9209433704_a52409d714.jpg

Thanks to those who have helped me in my search!

Sibeh swee. $7k wow, im ashamed to admit i cant afford it. Not in that league yet. Haiz. :(

Samfreak

Bro, do you have problem reading the time at night for the JLC?

Frankly, I have not had the opportunity to check the time in the dark yet. It has no lumes. But for a dress watch like this, lumes will be out of place. I would not have bought this watch if it had lumes.

Samfreak

Sibeh swee. $7k wow, im ashamed to admit i cant afford it. Not in that league yet. Haiz. :(

Nothing to be ashamed of. Only time will tell if I'm the fool to spend this type of money on ANY watch when a $50 Casio will work as well (actually it will work even better compared to the JLC and most watches you see here).:)

KohChris

I think I am not stupid.

But, I will still spend thousands on a real one and I am unwilling to pay hundreds for a fake one.

I will never support the shameless people who produce counterfeit watches and bags.

Just my opinion.

then you are supporting overpriced products like tag, rolex and panerai.
your funds goes to the CEO's pockets, marketing agencies, ambassadors as well as the fixed and variable costs for a boutique. probably 5% of the price you paid goes into the watch

the shameless people you have just described are only giving you an experience of the luxury at a fraction of the price. probably 50% of the price you pay goes into the watch.

they do not rip you off, give you what you want, and behave ethically.

Are they really shameless?

willing buyer, willing seller....different kinds of markets we are talking about =:p

Actually, most of the time people suspect the wearer not the watch. But then again, people thunk fake fake loh. Not end of the world. U enjoy can le.

U go **** **** not for people to see right? Ur 2nd bro song can liao, why u care people knw who u bang? :D

if wear rolex, confirm is suspect wearer wearing fake watch 100% of the time

some pple **** for whole world to see :s13:

anyway, if i buy real rolex, i ownself song

but pple spend $200 can get my rolex wor! :(

tts y i strongly discourage rolex purchases

KohChris

still showing these photos?

yes it is real. no point showing a photo of a real rolex and saying it is fake unless you can prove it. dont just say "font is wrong", "size is wrong". pls show the correct font and size then. wanna say "inside is ETA"? do you want to try to prove it? you cant prove it anyway.. are we to trust the photos of the movement you put up is of the same watch u just posted? there is no way to prove that the rolex is fake so you can just stop posting such nonsense.

its a fake, but since you have said its real, its real. hence, fake = real.

even you yourself also cannot distinguish between the real or fake rolexes.
den y bother lol.

why would you say its nonsense when i have posted pics of real rolexes?
are you saying that real rolexes are nonsense?

you just wanna show that there are fake rolexes around? we all know that. question is why are there AAA grade fakes? rolex are worth faking because they are the LV of the watch world. worth faking. unlike tag which has no fakes. even if there are, why are there no AAA grade? coz not worth faking.

Tag has AAA grade fakes too, but Rolex has AAA grades that is like the real thing.

You know why rolex fakes are so popular and no.1 in the world?

cos its the top watch company for poseurs and wannabes worldwide who want to buy their watches

poseurs and wannabes dont wanna buy other brands except for rolex

anyway, once the same thing happens to JLC, Patek, etc, we will see if you still like these brands. are fake JLC or VC easy to spot? right now, yes maybe. once JLC, VC becomes more popular, the AAA fake will be as common as the fakes rolexes. just like the fake panerais and fake hublots and fake AP.

nah, JLC and VC changes and improves on their design. It is not simple to copy what is haute horlogerie.

Rolex is not haute horlogerie

a AAA fake JLC is always far from the real deal.

and that is also because poseurs and wannabes cannot appreciate top watchmaking companies hence there is little effort to make it 100% similar

shouldnt anyone who wears AP or panerais fall into the same category as your definition of rolex wearers since there are so many AAA fakes? anything that becomes popular amongst the masses will be faked and become so common place. even the hermes "H" belts are so common that you wonder if they are all fakes. you may put JLC and patek etc on such a high pedestal now, but as the masses discover them, one day they will be the rolexes of the future and only independent brands will get your approval.

AP and Panerai fakes are not as loathful because AP fakes are like this

free-shipping-ap-quartz-mens-replica-watches-audemars-piguet-304614.jpg

and as for PAMs, their crown guards and levers are dead giveaways

nah, H belts, their buckle finish and leather is a dead giveaway.

People who crave for JLC and Patek are different from people who crave for Rolexes.

Almost all those who like Patek will buy the real one because of Patek's approach to marketing - it is an art to own one, you own it because it is so well-crafted, it is meant for the next generation.

Patek reaches out to the soul of the watch wearer.

Those who crave for Rolexes are opposite of Patek's demographic, and that explains why rolex fakes are widely proliferated.

Los-and-Diddy-with-matching-Rolexs.jpg

RickRoss-Rolex-1.jpg

oh and

if you look at rolex and crime....there is some relation.

hungpenglee

still showing these photos?

yes it is real. no point showing a photo of a real rolex and saying it is fake unless you can prove it. dont just say "font is wrong", "size is wrong". pls show the correct font and size then. wanna say "inside is ETA"? do you want to try to prove it? you cant prove it anyway.. are we to trust the photos of the movement you put up is of the same watch u just posted? there is no way to prove that the rolex is fake so you can just stop posting such nonsense.

you just wanna show that there are fake rolexes around? we all know that. question is why are there AAA grade fakes? rolex are worth faking because they are the LV of the watch world. worth faking. unlike tag which has no fakes. even if there are, why are there no AAA grade? coz not worth faking.

anyway, once the same thing happens to JLC, Patek, etc, we will see if you still like these brands. are fake JLC or VC easy to spot? right now, yes maybe. once JLC, VC becomes more popular, the AAA fake will be as common as the fakes rolexes. just like the fake panerais and fake hublots and fake AP.

there is no point loathing rolex because AP and panerai are now in the same league as the rolexes in loathability. shouldnt anyone who wears AP or panerais fall into the same category as your definition of rolex wearers since there are so many AAA fakes? anything that becomes popular amongst the masses will be faked and become so common place. even the hermes "H" belts are so common that you wonder if they are all fakes. you may put JLC and patek etc on such a high pedestal now, but as the masses discover them, one day they will be the rolexes of the future and only independent brands will get your approval.

I fully agree to this post!!!

I do not agree with the criticisms to any particular brands. Rolex has been around long enough to earn recognition. Why post Rolex fakes to loath at the brand?

We are all mature enough to respect each other's taste and preference. We do not wear a brand to show off, we wear them to enjoy our own appreciation.

There are still people who love Rolex watches and respect the fine things this brand has contributed to the watch and horology world.

"You dun like it, it's your problem. Dun Sterotype. It only proves that you are immature" - From someone who really appreciate and knows his stuff.

Seannie

Nothing to be ashamed of. Only time will tell if I'm the fool to spend this type of money on ANY watch when a $50 Casio will work as well (actually it will work even better compared to the JLC and most watches you see here).:)

hmm but your JLC receiving alot of compliments leh, i dont think you can be a fool la. Too bad my casio cant wear to work, so i thought it would be nice to own a decent dress watch before i become too old & retrenched then really got no chance in my lifetime to ever experience wearing one! And i must say im rather contented with my new tissot! Maybe nextime if i ever get a chance to have alot of $ then think of JLC. :s13:

KohChris

I fully agree to this post!!!

I do not agree with the criticisms to any particular brands. Rolex has been around long enough to earn recognition. Why post Rolex fakes to loath at the brand?

We are all mature enough to respect each other's taste and preference. We do not wear a brand to show off, we wear them to enjoy our own appreciation.

There are still people who love Rolex watches and respect the fine things this brand has contributed to the watch and horology world.

as a watchmaker, rolex does fine.

so does JLC, Hublot, Breitling, Cartier, IWC, Patek, RM, AP, VC, Omega, Tudor, Zenith and Lange.

The purpose of fake Rolexes is to show pple here that a fake Rolex is a real Rolex.

Do people want their Rolexes to be owned by others when it is a luxury and exclusive watch?

When we buy a Rolex or any other luxury watch for that matter, we are buying something held in high regard, and precious. We want to know that only people who have worked or earned enough can have the same thing.

However, how do we enjoy a Rolex watch when it has negative connotations, is 100% easily replicated, and is worn by everyone else?

People who do not know watches would buy one too.

A luxury products goes beyond watchmaking.

A luxury product like a JLC tells others and self, i am exceptional because everyone want me but not everyone can have me.

A Rolex is not a luxury product anymore. I am normal because everyone can have me and everyone have me.

How can i enjoy something unexceptional? Nobody can enjoy Rolex

billovee

Just in, robbery for rolexes 1 week ago

if there is no strong demand, there will be no supply ?

Demand and supply issue.

Why hate brand cos there is strong demand ?

Why make your life full of hatred just for 1 Brand ?

You making your own life difficult.

Even as you say that the quality is not there, there is no need for you to hate the brand.

Dont you admire that They (rolex) able to make consumer to buy their product even their product not up to your standard ?

Those people who make fake will find a brands that give the highest return and best turnover, and put the greatest effort on it.

Those not so well known brand to Mass consumer or demand not so great, they will not put effort on it.

If you can make a Brand just like Rolex, i will deeply admire your intelligent, your resourcefulness instead of here keep trying to bash the brand.

Save your precious time to do something that you think can create brand that can earn alot money or can win over Rolex than wasting your time bashing the brand.

Just go build up a brand that will make people crazy over it and people will fake it, then you consider yourself bashing Rolex Successfully.

Lurker_13

Frankly, I have not had the opportunity to check the time in the dark yet. It has no lumes. But for a dress watch like this, lumes will be out of place. I would not have bought this watch if it had lumes.

Thanks! Just got to know THG no longer carry JLC anymore... could you let me know where did you get your JLC pls, if it is ok with you? :)

KohChris

if there is no strong demand, there will be no supply ?

Demand and supply issue.
Why hate brand cos there is strong demand ?

Why make your life full of hatred just for 1 Brand ?
You making your own life difficult.

1. It is not exceptional
2. Fake one is real one hence its overpriced.
3. Everyone has it.
4. Limitless supply.
5. There is nothing that sets it apart from others
6. Spurs people to commit crimes
7. Shows off too much
8. People who don't love watches will own it
9. People with passion for watchmaking won't buy it

Even as you say that the quality is not there, there is no need for you to hate the brand.

Dont you admire that They (rolex) able to make consumer to buy their product even their product not up to your standard ?

Those people who make fake will find a brands that give the highest return and best turnover, and put the greatest effort on it.

Those not so well known brand to Mass consumer or demand not so great, they will not put effort on it.

thats because most people are quite stupid

That why its Rolex on one side.

omega, breitling, AP, IWC, VC, tag etc on other side.

going by your logic, i should admire toyota and lv.

i don't admire products made for everyone. if not, i would like seiko.

envious of rolex, yes. admiration, no. in fact, im more amazed by the idiots who buy rolexes.

If you can make a Brand just like Rolex, i will deeply admire your intelligent, your resourcefulness instead of here keep trying to bash the brand.

Save your precious time to do something that you think can create brand that can earn alot money or can win over Rolex than wasting your time bashing the brand.

Just go build up a brand that will make people crazy over it and people will fake it, then you consider yourself bashing Rolex Successfully.

If i want to create a watch company, i will not make it a rolex because rolex is an example of what i would not want it to become.

There is individualism and choice in a watch. There is character and personality in a watch.

A Rolex doesn't show that.

In fact, the watchmaking industry doesnt need another watch company.

What it needs, is the demise of Rolex so people can start to love watches for what it is

instead of what it stands for

Kenneth C

then you are supporting overpriced products like tag, rolex and panerai.
your funds goes to the CEO's pockets, marketing agencies, ambassadors as well as the fixed and variable costs for a boutique. probably 5% of the price you paid goes into the watch

the shameless people you have just described are only giving you an experience of the luxury at a fraction of the price. probably 50% of the price you pay goes into the watch.

they do not rip you off, give you what you want, and behave ethically.

Are they really shameless?

willing buyer, willing seller....different kinds of markets we are talking about =:p

Yes, to me, shameless.

billovee

How is a brand created in the first place ?

Bashing a brand will not bring anyone in no where.

Any market definitely got enough space to another brand.

Instead wasting energy bashing, why not create another brand since oneself so passionate about watches ?

Create a Singapore brand and we will be proud of you.

dmitri

To battle the heated arguments, here's my new acquisition (pardon the piss-poor mobile camera calibre). Don't see too many of it around.

20130708_131437_zpsf2917af2.jpg

20130708_132019_zps79618c60.jpg

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.