The Watch Thread - Part 4

yattokame

I know of 1 reservist mate told me his uncle save all those "cannot see $$$" in one of his HDB flat room and the pile of $$$ in the room is..................:s22:

I know a soccer bookie like that.
Landed house in central area. Been inside the room. Stacks of cash to chest level.

I thought he run a photocopy service company. LOL

hwaa

can anyone recommend me a good watch brand probably a German or Swiss made watch? budget about 400 to 500 SGD. can be either mechanic or quartz

400-500 maybe up abit more can consider steinhart, from germany.. using swiss movement. :p

if not 400-500 can try consider jap watches instead :D

All in a Day

I know a soccer bookie like that.
Landed house in central area. Been inside the room. Stacks of cash to chest level.

I thought he run a photocopy service company. LOL

Singapore football team maybe crap but we have world class soccer bookies. (In)famous internationally.

Speckrt

To be honest, at your budget or even upping it to 1K, your German or Swiss made watch will probably be by name only. Thanks to industry standards, manufacturers need only get a Swiss factory to say attach the watch strap to a watch made and assembled in China to qualify for use the term "swiss made" for their product.

OK I am exagerrating but u get the picture.

Not sure, I saw Zeppelin has watches that have price of 400 or 500.

coern

one thing i dont understand maybe i unlucky or wad

but many of my swiss watches got qc issues.. damn dulan

iwc got dent on dial, sent for service end up sapphire crystal got problem, replaced sapphire glass n came back with a patch on underside of sapphire glass. was told since they change one for me, they cant change again,,

tudor got dirt on dial, need also send for service..

how come swiss watches so many ****ed up problems?? even my cheap seiko got no qc problems.

Are swiss watches overrated??

From the recent interview with Shinola Creative Director:

'Mr Caudill says during the interview with Urban that the label makes margins that are only four times its costs. Shinola watches range in price from $845 to $1,165. He adds that the typical margins for luxury watches are about eight times.'

Cheap seiko margin is probably much lower, so the relative cost of the watch may be similar, if you factor in the relative cost of labour. japanese are known to be meticulous as well... :s13:

xtwis7

No hurry then. perhaps your taste will have changed by then and u will like full gold watch, or a simple dress watch, etc. Just enjoy look look see see read read now. :s13:

Yea. Keeping options open. One thing for sure, even if I strike it I also won't buy certain*watches. I won't be able to wear full gold having a peace of mind, especially some overseas places but I know it's sounding a bit exaggerated. Anybody first to hoot in 2014?

yattokame

Probably triste and his skydweller.

I'm probably buying a watch for the wife's bday in two weeks' time. Maybe a patek or an AP.

Triste

I'm probably buying a watch for the wife's bday in two weeks' time. Maybe a patek or an AP.

wah bro, how come my name suddenly popped up?

Anyway I'm checking prices for the sky dweller RG already...:s13:

Cannot resist.

Anyway I'm no elite, I just worked really hard for my money...

No old wealth here sadly.

Henabi

Npnt =p

Getting a PP gondolo?? Or nautilus with diamonds??

yattokame

Npnt =p

Getting a PP gondolo?? Or nautilus with diamonds??

hahaha all wrong.

maybe the twenty4. she LOVES the shape of it.
as much as I am against a quartz..... it's her birthday so it's gotta be something she likes.
wife is very gu-niang kind of girl. no big watches, must all be lady size small small you-xiu types.

I even told her nowadays ladies wear big watches and only aunties still wear the ladies datejust.....she still insisted on buying one.

same here. worked very hard. feeling burnt out already and already considering retirement by 40. if things work out well though.

yattokame

jin envy sia. :o

i always believe life is fair - u have some strengths which I dont.

you probably have a body to die for and looks like every girls' dream.
you probably also know more things which I don't (spectacles, remember?).

no need to be envy. no man is better than the other.

lets find a saturday to meet up bah :) where's all the talk about the gathering?:s12:

yattokame

wah bro, how come my name suddenly popped up?

Anyway I'm checking prices for the sky dweller RG already...:s13:

Cannot resist.

Anyway I'm no elite, I just worked really hard for my money...

No old wealth here sadly.

other than working hard, luck also plays a part in it. at least for me.

lai lai lai mai tu liao more pictures from you!!! ;)

pwillie

Yea, I understand. But it's just a 'Want' so I want to be very secure before buying this. There will be many more priorities ahead of me.

It's tough to think about getting one, but not actually getting it soon enough... but I applaud your "endurance" in setting your priorities right.

Personal motto, get what you really like and within your means, and means is subjective :s13:

PS- I don't think there is a Need for high end watches... It's always a Want.

Paladium

PS- I don't think there is a Need for high end watches... It's always a Want.

Exactly. Beyond a certain reasonable amount of money, it's no longer watches we are buying but the brand, prestige, technology, history, status, feel good factor, etc.. :D

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.