The Watch Thread - Part 4

Paladium

lets find a saturday to meet up bah :) where's all the talk about the gathering?:s12:

Now CNY approaching no doubt most of us will be busy with prep and chores etc, I suggest we can do one after CNY, like say 8th Feb, maybe in the afternoon so after meet up can go accompany family, wife, gf, etc. :D

All in a Day

Exactly. Beyond a certain reasonable amount of money, it's no longer watches we are buying but the brand, prestige, technology, history, status, feel good factor, etc.. :D

V true. In fact with smart phones, i tend to check time more often on my mobile than on my watch.

popdod

Exactly. Beyond a certain reasonable amount of money, it's no longer watches we are buying but the brand, prestige, technology, history, status, feel good factor, etc.. :D

f7c5b6cafe06d00e79cfea549472a98fb32e2fd7_m.png

Heng my taste ish bad and I'm old.
Hard Aesthetic Truths.

:o :( :o

xtwis7

It's tough to think about getting one, but not actually getting it soon enough... but I applaud your "endurance" in setting your priorities right.

Personal motto, get what you really like and within your means, and means is subjective :s13:

PS- I don't think there is a Need for high end watches... It's always a Want.

Even though this 40-mth instalment plan is very interesting I want to be able to say I can buy a luxury watch with upfront cash. Plus normally people will say I got the watch from laopeh or something. Anyway, I feel I'm still too young to wear one so when I'm the right age I'll get it.

As for the outing, all of you wear those 5 digit watches, I think I wear my casio better.

patryn33

To be honest, at your budget or even upping it to 1K, your German or Swiss made watch will probably be by name only. Thanks to industry standards, manufacturers need only get a Swiss factory to say attach the watch strap to a watch made and assembled in China to qualify for use the term "swiss made" for their product.

OK I am exagerrating but u get the picture.

That is incorrect read Swiss made regulation.
Today a new law is in effect.
http://www.ablogtowatch.com/swiss-made-2/

patryn33

can anyone recommend me a good watch brand probably a German or Swiss made watch? budget about 400 to 500 SGD. can be either mechanic or quartz

Try
Mondaine
Tissot
Buy online try
Ocean7 watch
Christopherward

Henabi

Wa piang... retire by 40!!!!! Jin envy :(

Xtwis7....don't steal my idea... I was planning to wear my Kenneth Cole skelly...

All in a Day

That is incorrect read Swiss made regulation.
Today a new law is in effect.
http://www.ablogtowatch.com/swiss-made-2/

Thanks for sharing the article. As i said, my example was an exaggeration. But i stand by my opinion that at the low end of swiss made, german made etc, u are not getting much of so-called swiss quality.

ahboy82

sheet bit tempted by the yacht master 40mm.

anyone noe the price?

Paladium

Heng my taste ish bad and I'm old.
Hard Aesthetic Truths.

:o :( :o

Hang I work within my budget and go for versatile items. 1 item = many uses = value gao gao ;)

As for the outing, all of you wear those 5 digit watches, I think I wear my casio better.

Just wear whatever u feel comfy with lor. Doesn't matter is Casio or ap or whatever brand. As long is watch enthusiast all are welcome. :D

rboyboy

Hang I work within my budget and go for versatile items. 1 item = many uses = value gao gao ;)

Just wear whatever u feel comfy with lor. Doesn't matter is Casio or ap or whatever brand. As long is watch enthusiast all are welcome. :D

Can wear my Greubel Forsey a not har? :s13:

xtwis7

Wa piang... retire by 40!!!!! Jin envy :(

Xtwis7....don't steal my idea... I was planning to wear my Kenneth Cole skelly...

Haha. Casio it is. All the buttons corrode alr but still can function. Amazing that I've not replaced the battery on the watch since 8 years ago.

Jeremy1

sheet bit tempted by the yacht master 40mm.

anyone noe the price?

Thought that time u asked b4 liao ?

The Yachtmaster with steel and pat man size is at $14571 after 10% discount.

TeenTitan01

the platinum dial may cost a bit more but looks bland. the blue dial is more outstanding.

ahboy82

Oh? Muz be getting old i forgotten. Is that the blue dial u toking abt? I m interested in the blue dial one

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.