The Watch Thread - Part 4

Jeremy1

haha. i'm expecting or hoping for a swatch vs richemont faceoff/deathmatch in this thread.

anyone wants to start/stir? lol.

totally agree with your above statement. independence, unbroken lineage, technically proficient in-house movements, consistent & sustained quality are valuable attributes in haute horology.

otherwise why pay 5 figures or more when a low 3 figure seiko 5 does the same job almost as well?

I think a high quality affordable high end luxury watch to make everyone of us here happy................................:s13:

And a better place to live in...........................:s12:

But then, if like that luxury watch no more value liao.....................:s22:

TeenTitan01

I had two. Daytona and daydate.

I do miss the dd

haha. the dilemma of the discerning wis: wise & savvy enough to see beyond rolex but occasionally have the need to broadcast the bling to those business associates who're stuck at the bmw-rolex-LV level.

what to do? if you really miss it so much (and it is an iconic watch worth collecting after all), just get a dd just for those occasions lor. but do consider the everose instead of yg. but the stick-style indices dial can't be found in stores anymore - not even nos. you've to go pre-owned. or settle for the current ones with the thicker stick lume instead of the classic dot lume.

All in a Day

haha. i'm expecting or hoping for a swatch vs richemont faceoff/deathmatch in this thread.

anyone wants to start/stir? lol.

totally agree with your above statement. independence, unbroken lineage, technically proficient in-house movements, consistent & sustained quality are valuable attributes in haute horology.

otherwise why pay 5 figures or more when a low 3 figure seiko 5 does the same job almost as well?
Nothing really to stir. The whole concept of luxury watch industry (or anything luxury for that matter) is about selling an image of desirability and sophistication. The product is really secondary. Is a $50,000 patek objectively 250x better than a $200 seiko?

The $$ going into preserving/enhancing this image is probably the biggest cost for luxury brands.

Not putting down anybody here but just stating what it is, and what it is certainly works, as least for all of us here discussing about these luxury watch brands.

chengkhi

At what age did you guys bought your first piece and what was it/occasion?

26, rolex exp II and yacht for wife, no special occasion, we were dual income no kids (DINK) then, no debts, just wanted to pamper ourselves...

Now gotta think extra hard cos got extra mouths to feed.

Jeremy1

Nothing really to stir. The whole concept of luxury watch industry (or anything luxury for that matter) is about selling an image of desirability and sophistication. The product is really secondary. Is a $50,000 patek objectively 250x better than a $200 seiko?

The $$ going into preserving/enhancing this image is probably the biggest cost for luxury brands.

Not putting down anybody here but just stating what it is, and what it is certainly works, as least for all of us here discussing about these luxury watch brands.

A matter of status............................;)

And haolian........................:s13:

TeenTitan01

I heard people who owned an PP will ventured into more prestige watch like RM and etc after that.......................:)

That's what one of the AD SA told me......................:D

somebody has to say it. might as well be me.

/rant.mode.ON.

at the risk of offending RM owners, i still have to say it: RM is WAY TOO LOUD!!!

and it is started by a paper-pusher after all whose only claim to fame is charging exorbitant, ridiculous prices on vulgar, ugly pieces to those with too much money on hand but too lazy to learn and appreciate the finer things about watches so they can out-peacock and showoff to their equally filthy rich crowd.

the flagrant, offensive vulgar audacity & temerity of it all!

i mean c'mon! if you want to burn money recklessly, i rather people consider minute repeater tourbillions from more respectable & established brands with lineage, prestige and technical chops. at least they don't look like a clown wearing p!ss ugly fashion pieces that will be consigned to the bin in no time to come.

look, tournea shaped cases are not evergreen, unless it's an iconic piece.

just look at frank muller. last time so hot. now like dead in the water.

so the take home message here is: steady longevity & thoughtful classic design >> current craze.

and 3 sided sapphire glass watch case? puhleaze!

corum's golden bridge (a breathtaking iconic watch if there ever was one) has already been there, done that - with FOUR sided sapphire glass watch case with a brillantly designed & elegant bridge movement that appears suspended in a cystalline case.

not cluttered, busy dials/designs with bad colour schemes that provoke epileptic seizures. green & yellow?! urggghhhh.............!!!

oh and the new materials thing? ap got there before rm long ago.

so rm is nothing new except amping up the crass and vulgarity.

it's only claim to fame is to overcharge so blatantly & offensively that the filthy rich layabout ignoramii see it as a default if they want to acquire yet another "**** you" watch just to out-peacock each other in their dos, soirees & cocktail circuits.

but at least have some gawd damn taste and discernment and not slap on an ugly-all-day piece of sh!t brick on your wrist, for crying out loud!

expensive =/= good taste and rm is the epitome of BAD TASTE!

money should be better spent of items of true beauty & refinement and not just the most expensive just to show off. that is already poor taste in & of itself!

it may be your money. but bad taste IS bad taste!!!

/rant.mode.OFF.

Jeremy1

/rant.mode.ON.

at the risk of offending RM owners, i still have to say it: RM is WAY TOO LOUD!!!

and it is started by a paper-pusher after all whose only claim to fame is charging exorbitant, ridiculous prices on vulgar, ugly pieces to those with too much money on hand but too lazy to learn and appreciate the finer things about watches so they can out-peacock and showoff to their equally filthy rich crowd.

i mean c'mon! if you want to burn money recklessly, i rather people consider minute repeater tourbillions from more respectable & established brands with lineage, prestige and technical chops. at least they don't look like a clown wearing p!ss ugly fashion pieces that will be consigned to the bin in no time to come.

so the take home message here is: steady longevity & thoughtful classic design >> current craze.

corum's golden bridge (a breathtaking iconic watch if there ever was one) has already been there, done that - with FOUR sided sapphire glass watch case with a brillantly designed & elegant bridge movement that appears suspended in a cystalline case.

not cluttered, busy dials/designs with bad colour schemes that provoke epileptic seizures. green & yellow?! urggghhhh.............!!!

it's only claim to fame is to overcharge so blatantly & offensively that the filthy rich layabout ignoramii see it as a default if they want to acquire yet another "**** you" watch just to out-peacock each other in their dos, soirees & cocktail circuits.

but at least have some gawd damn taste and discernment and not slap on an ugly-all-day piece of sh!t brick on your wrist, for crying out loud!

money should be better spent of items of true beauty & refinement and not just the most expensive just to show off. that is already poor taste in & of itself!

/rant.mode.OFF.

That I do agree, I really appreciate those complicated luxury watch workmanship but these kind of watch is really very very expensive.

Don't really know what really happen to Frank Muller...................:s22:

Heard it's was made famous because wore by Chow Yun Fat spoken by my friend long time ago.........................;)

Geeezz

huai is rm so ex ar? other than over pricing and the design is thr anythin such as the movement that made it so special? :s11:

All in a Day

/rant.mode.ON.

/rant.mode.OFF.

Back to selling of the luxury watch image. To you it is crass, vulgar, no heritage/originality. To others crass and vulgar = bold, fashion forward.

Taking it a step further, PP, AP, VC = traditional, original to some but dated, blowing the history trumpet tiredlessly to others.

Some new money guys deliberately avoid the holy trinity and jump straight to an RM, embracing the snub they get from the old money folks and showing support for a watch brand that is reflective of their status in society.

Others the exact opposite, hoping to gain acceptance into the old money clique.

For most people (old and new $), they just get everything simply because they can afford to :D

OK, that ends my TLDR post about selling watch image

TeenTitan01

Oh this morning I was at ION IWC. My skin tone doesnt suit the little prince. 66k or something. The normal ones look nicer.

if you're considering the iwc perpetual calender, you may wish to consider the jlc master ultra thin perpetual calender. it's 39mm diameter & low profile is sized PERFECTLY for an elegant dress watch. plus its dial is so much cleaner, clearer & classier than the cluttered multi hand dials of the iwc behemoth.

and its price for a perpetual calender is just awesome compared with other similar offerings from other manufactures.

the pink gold & egg shell coloured dial with brown croc leather jlc would look good.

Jaeger-LeCoultre Master Ultra-Thin Perpetual Watch Hands-on Exclusive | aBlogtoWatch

IN-DEPTH: Introducing The Jaeger-LeCoultre Master Ultra Thin Perpetual Calendar (Live Photos, Thoughts, Official Pricing)

Insider: Jaeger-LeCoultre Master Ultra Thin Perpetual. An Impressive, Easy-to-Read Perpetual Calendar in a Very Thin Case.

Jeremy1

huai is rm so ex ar? other than over pricing and the design is thr anythin such as the movement that made it so special? :s11:

Not only RM. Think still have other brands.

The question is looking at their watch making history, is it justifiable paying that amount of money ?

Maybe only applied to people having too much money and had nowhere to spend....................:s13:

TeenTitan01

welcome to basic econs 101: normal vs inferior goods, income elasticity of demand, indifference curves and budget constraints, diminishing marginal utility, etc.

let's dust off those ancient jc1/yr1 uni notes if they aren't burnt already, roflmao.

let's see them chart analysis... :D

sky00sky

/rant.mode.ON.

/rant.mode.OFF.

u tell them to forum celebrity?
:s13::s13::s13:

Henabi

Not only RM. Think still have other brands.

The question is looking at their watch making history, is it justifiable paying that amount of money ?

Maybe only applied to people having too much money and had nowhere to spend....................:s13:

Vertu??? Lolx... I personally don't appreciate RM too

Henabi

By the way... Raymond Weil, founder of Raymond Weil, just passed away.... age 85...

Pagani_Z0nda

A matter of status............................;)

And haolian........................:s13:

Yes u hit the nail on the head.

I dun really appreciate it. Really to haolian only. Brand ***** mah.

The Hermes, Chanels, LVs, Rolexes, PPs or even to the extend of ferraris and lambos would not have survived or be well received if there are no hao lian ppl. :s22:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.