The Watch Thread - Part 4

RadEoNic

Went to WINS during lunch time just now. They have the watch on display. Outcome...........................I didn't buy.

The pic looks 10x better than the real one. The real one looks very plain jane in person. Maybe the overall image will be very different after the bracelet is chagned to a blue leather strap.

Will wait for VW's wrist shot...
I got 60th anniversary version at home. Jin nice, but I can't bear to wear. Maybe I'll give my father

Paladium

Looking for a ladies leather watch. Budget $2k to $3k. Any recommendations?

Longines and Raymond weil comes to mind.

Perhaps you can provide more info like square or circle case, big or small, any preference to brand or anything you have already seen, sporty or dress style, etc.

lingalong

I am very familiar with Arbutus actually.

MIC movement, many claim it's seagull, I can only confirm they do use swiss parts for their movement, say for example the mainspring and barrel used are swiss made, 2 years warranty should be good enough "insurance".

BUA5DDkSuXASRnSnxSl5UKSwf3VqYvs8ZCpoCN3UkEo=s577-no

I have a piece myself, supposedly ETA movement, limited run for this particular model, did a side by side comparison looks exactly the same, oem or not I didn't dig deeper.

I have a particular lobang for this piece, brand new, anyone interest can pm me, non profit.

2977400.jpg

HOO MAI THE ROSE GOLD ONE :love::love::love::love:

ahboy82

That's really small.. The lugs will overshoot ah?

Got wrist shot wearing your current watch(es)?

I m a small size guy leh lol sianzzz. Ya the lugs overshoot

Anything over 40 is oversized for me le

Vanilla Way

Vanilla Way, time for you to reciprocate, give advice for ladies watch! hehehe

Looking for a ladies leather watch. Budget $2k to $3k. Any recommendations?

Watches are very personal, so it is important to find out the wearer's preference first. Is it for yourself or a gift to someone else? What type are you looking at? Dressy? Sports? There's many types around. How old is the wearer and what's her style like?

Important to know all these as to find the best one :) For example, I'm a lady but I have no qualms spotting a pilot watch but not all ladies will like/pursue this choice.

While I am not too familiar with prices of most watches in the market right now perhaps I can give suggestion to styles or some brands?

Some other questions:
- What kind of movement are you looking at ? (Automatic or quartz etc)
- Does it have to be swiss made or you are open to choices?

All in a Day

Watches are very personal, so it is important to find out the wearer's preference first. Is it for yourself or a gift to someone else? What type are you looking at? Dressy? Sports? There's many types around. How old is the wearer and what's her style like?

Important to know all these as to find the best one :) For example, I'm a lady but I have no qualms spotting a pilot watch but not all ladies will like/pursue this choice.

While I am not too familiar with prices of most watches in the market right now perhaps I can give suggestion to styles or some brands?

Some other questions:

Well done! very comprehensive leh! Just to chip in my 2 cents. For 2-3k price range, ladies watches can go 2 ways. Really depends which one your lady prefers. I think 1st option is more common..

1. Go for the brand recognition, "usual suspects". Nevermind quartz or auto, more important is swiss made. At that budget probably like tag heuer, omega constellation (not sure of prices these days still can make it or not), longines, B&M. These brands are conscious of the market esgment that I described and are happy to serve it. They have the watch models that fit the budget as well as look elegant enough for most occasions.

2. "Watch enthusiast" perspective. Must be mechanical. Try to squeeze out in-house movement or heritage design (micro brands even more attractive, unique and show your taste for good value). Or go the pre-owned route, got brand + got mech movement, more bang for buck but only if don't mind 2nd hand. Like what VW did, can get a rolex at budget prices.

bravo86

Some other questions:

Woah! Sounds like a seasoned hobbyist! =:p:D:s13:

Emospence

You guys have any of the Sea-Gull watches?

Just realised my colleague has one, got date, power reserve and tourbillion.. About $400.. What the sheet!

Denieru82

I Google it and it seems like 10k..? Chinese movement tourbillon.. Wannabe tourbillon people can maybe try other chinese brand because cheaper..? Haha.. Seagull tourbillon still ex for normal people.. :)

Anyway, anyone have any idea on how the Maurice lacroix brand compare to other Swiss made watches..? In term of brand recognition..? :)

You guys have any of the Sea-Gull watches?

Just realised my colleague has one, got date, power reserve and tourbillion.. About $400.. What the sheet!

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.