The Watch Thread - Part 5

Azrielsc

I wished I had a 312. I only have 005. Haha. You customised the length and holes right? But using the leather shown? Haha guess I am going to do that. Current on my strap, I am using the 2nd last hold which is hard to wear, have to stretch the leather so much to reach it. But the length is ok.

Oh, paiseh. Any Pam still looks great! :)

Yes, I customised the length because I wanted a bit more tail.

For my wrist, 6.25", I chose a 135/75mm length (Standard straps are 125mm in length). Thickness of the strap is about 4.56mm. Buckling hole is around 55mm from lug end of strap. As this was my 1st strap, I ask Ant to punch the standard number of holes. Subsequent straps, I told the strapmakers to leave the strap un-punched, so I can punch the buckling hole myself with a hole puncher that I bought from a DIY store.

The more straps you buy, the more stuff you tend to pick up so after a while, you will know what you want, and then you can ask the strapmaker to customise according to your wants.

How I have so much info? I actually have a spreadsheet of all the strap purchases that I made so I know what I want. :)

Things to look out for in a customised strap:

1. Length: 125/75mm / 135/75mm / etc
2. Width: 22, 24, 26mm
3. Thickness
4. Buckling hole
5. Stitching style: Box (closed) / Open / Stitchless / etc
6. Edge of the strap: Burnished / Raw-cut / coated
7. Keepers: 1 or 2 or how many you want / Floating / Fixed:)
8. Buckle: Thumbnail / Pre-V / GPF / etc

Yes I know, a bit geeky...

Have fun!

Scribblemyname

You know you want it, baby. ;)

Yup its covered!

damn. tomorrow shall head down to take a look at it :( ! the strap + watch total dmg? I only roughly remember it's mention 185$ for the watch and 15$ for the strap isit?(lazy go back the pages to find haha) but is that before discount or I need to haggle with him to get that price :s11:.

gaoxing84

I think if you going adjust your automatic watch frequently due to not wearing it, the screw down crown or the mechanism of the crown being pull in and out would wear out faster. Watches that requires manual winding probably have better construction to reduce the stress on that area due to the need to hand wound it 1-2 days.

It would be great to have a watch winder if you have like around 3(?) watches for daily rotation so you don't have to stress the crown area unnecessarily.

Unless is weekly or even monthly rotations then the winder probably won't be needed?

The movement no need worry so much! They are designed to "work" 3-5 years before they go back to their manufacturer and have it service.
The crown part is quite true. My tag the screw in crown abit loose alr. Sian man. Haha lucky I don't use it to dive, if not sure gged. Lol

I bought one from this SG roc guy. Waxima. He stores his stuff in Aljunied. Good variety and reasonable prices.

That's interesting. Haha. Will go bio! Any rough guide between normal or boxy winder?

slow_mo

Those who are going K2 can help me check the colours for the Paros Strap? Thank you in advance.

gaoxing84

Oh, paiseh. Any Pam still looks great! :)

Yes, I customised the length because I wanted a bit more tail.

For my wrist, 6.25", I chose a 135/75mm length (Standard straps are 125mm in length). Thickness of the strap is about 4.56mm. Buckling hole is around 55mm from lug end of strap. As this was my 1st strap, I ask Ant to punch the standard number of holes. Subsequent straps, I told the strapmakers to leave the strap un-punched, so I can punch the buckling hole myself with a hole puncher that I bought from a DIY store.

The more straps you buy, the more stuff you tend to pick up so after a while, you will know what you want, and then you can ask the strapmaker to customise according to your wants.

How I have so much info? I actually have a spreadsheet of all the strap purchases that I made so I know what I want. :)

Things to look out for in a customised strap:

1. Length: 125/75mm / 135/75mm / etc
2. Width: 22, 24, 26mm
3. Thickness
4. Buckling hole
5. Stitching style: Box (closed) / Open / Stitchless / etc
6. Edge of the strap: Burnished / Raw-cut / coated
7. Keepers: 1 or 2 or how many you want / Floating / Fixed:)
8. Buckle: Thumbnail / Pre-V / GPF / etc

Yes I know, a bit geeky...

Have fun!
Woah! Thanks for taking the time to type out all the info man. Haha appreciate it.

The open and close stitch I must go read up. Not sure what's the difference.

now my strap I have to pull all the way back to the 2nd last hold. Should I make the strap shorter or longer so that i can get the hole punched it further in front so that I don't need to pull it all the way back to get the buckle into the hole.. Lol I should illustrate with photos tonight. Don't think you will get what I mean. Lol.

yattokame

Snzh 53, 55, 57 all same price, parallel import no box. Pay by cash or nets.
K model : 175 (best price - good for those who want to mod$
J model : 185
Paros strap lookalike like sailcloth strap : $15

I bought the j model cos I brand ***** and paro strap.

Another kor kor was there to buy seiko monster. Please own up. On mobile, very hard to upload pictures.

Just went to K2. Uncle phone ring none stop.

Didnt get the SNZH55. But still have stocks if anyone still intersted.

Bought a black monster instead. Aim for the past two weeks. Today finally buay tahan and hoot it.

Dont think i will be able to wear all my watches. Poison.....

Hmmmm could u be the one...?:D

Azrielsc

Woah! Thanks for taking the time to type out all the info man. Haha appreciate it.

The open and close stitch I must go read up. Not sure what's the difference.

now my strap I have to pull all the way back to the 2nd last hold. Should I make the strap shorter or longer so that i can get the hole punched it further in front so that I don't need to pull it all the way back to get the buckle into the hole.. Lol I should illustrate with photos tonight. Don't think you will get what I mean. Lol.

Easy with some references:

1. Open (the stitching does not go across the lug end of the strap)

open.jpg

2. Box/Closed (Stitching goes across the lug end of the strap, from one end to the other)

IMG_5081333152114_large.11754917_std.JPG

Well, the strap that has the buckle will have to be shorter to "solve" your issue. In that case, your buckling hole has to be moved further from the lug end on the longer strap.

So you can try a 125mm (strap where the buckling holes are) and a 60-65mm (strap with the buckle). One way is to order a strap (125/65mm) from Ant and when you collect it from him, have him measure the buckling hole and punch it in front of you!

That's the beauty of having a local strapmaker!

Hope this helps! :)

gaoxing84

Easy with some references:

1. Open (the stitching does not go across the lug end of the strap)

open.jpg

2. Box/Closed (Stitching goes across the lug end of the strap, from one end to the other)

IMG_5081333152114_large.11754917_std.JPG

Well, the strap that has the buckle will have to be shorter to "solve" your issue. In that case, your buckling hole has to be moved further from the lug end on the longer strap.

So you can try a 125mm (strap where the buckling holes are) and a 60-65mm (strap with the buckle). One way is to order a strap (125/65mm) from Ant and when you collect it from him, have him measure the buckling hole and punch it in front of you!

That's the beauty of having a local strapmaker!

Hope this helps! :)
Yay! You solved my issue. Ok. Haha. Gonna go with your suggestion. Maybe make the hole strap longer to create the tail and one fixed and one free keeper. So going for the green one. Haha sorry ah. Copy you but the pic you took sold me. Haha.

luna_sea83

Great thread, have been following for quite sometime now.
Nice to see watches from all ranges and sharing of info!

Will post some of my collection soon. :)

Optrex

Hmmmm could u be the one...?:D

I think if you going adjust your automatic watch frequently due to not wearing it, the screw down crown or the mechanism of the crown being pull in and out would wear out faster. Watches that requires manual winding probably have better construction to reduce the stress on that area due to the need to hand wound it 1-2 days.

It would be great to have a watch winder if you have like around 3(?) watches for daily rotation so you don't have to stress the crown area unnecessarily.

Unless is weekly or even monthly rotations then the winder probably won't be needed?

The movement no need worry so much! They are designed to "work" 3-5 years before they go back to their manufacturer and have it service.

If i am not wrong, crown part will be replaced during servicing right? Or that is not the standard practice?

billovee

Here's his stuff.

http://stores.ebay.com.sg/Waxima-Watch-Winder-Store

I may have watch winder lobang.

If you guys interested i post some photo here and do mo.

but i know here cannot do mo....i don't want tio ban.

Anyone here of wolf winder ?

Azrielsc

Yay! You solved my issue. Ok. Haha. Gonna go with your suggestion. Maybe make the hole strap longer to create the tail and one fixed and one free keeper. So going for the green one. Haha sorry ah. Copy you but the pic you took sold me. Haha.

No worries. Glad to help out.

Check out my thread on sgroc on my strap adventure and what I have bought, can spread more Pam strap poison!

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.