The Watch Thread - Part 8

iamxinw

U may wan to check 390 out. Clean. Sealed back case.

Point to note. 44mm and non pam made movement. Theres this blog post that open up 390 movement. Not exactly nicre.

Maybe you can get from dealer with shop front. At 2nd hand price.. You get a bigger range of selection. If you like simple and large watch.. I suggest 372. 422. This should fit the 9k range at 2nd hand price. Cheers

Sent from my travelling buddy using GAGT
Missed the point of smaller ones. The 372 and 422 is 47mm.

Maybe u wanna try to que for 634.
Fl8ir7Ql.jpg

K5gLCVkl.jpg

Sent from my travelling buddy using GAGT

AuroraRain

My budget is about $300-600. Quite low as still a student.

My initial target was Seiko Sumo but some people that i show the picture to, they don't like it. so i'm wondering is it really a need to get automatic? As if its quartz, so many other watches choices open up.

Maybe you would like to take a look at the Seiko SARB series?

soilwork

lets say with a budget of less than 9k

what Pam models are readily available for purchase at boutique and ADs?

all the basic entry PAMs seem to be sold out, with a long waiting list.

with my budget which models can i consider? preferably smaller models... prefer a clean design with no date,no seethrough caseback

Go Panerai Ion. Smile and talk to the sales people. Let them bring all the watch out and try as many as you want and them

1) buy or go for waiting list if you enjoyed the service and wants to build a relationship. Maybe one day they do a pop up store and invite donnie yen come, they will invite u also :)

2) take down the reference number. Smile and thank them for their time. Go to grey dealers or sgroc and start finding for a cheaper price then worried abit about is it real or fake. Hahaha

No pun intended. I really do enjoy the process of buying a watch.

Btw watchlink got a brand new 000 for a reasonable price. I am not related to them btw. Mo conflict hor. U can google watchlink website and call uncle sam

Chronology

Of course I understand where you are coming from. But I guess I also want a watch that is liked by everyone.

Btw, could you recommend any watches within the budget? Would love to hear people's opinion as well.

My apologies for not looking from your point of view too.

I think watches that are value for money in that price bracket would be Orient Bambino? Seiko Sarb033, Seiko SKX007/009 (this opens up modding options for you), Seiko SRP639?

For Swiss equivalent.. Tissot Visodate?

The main reason why I personally prefer Seikos is simply due to the fact that they are robust and the movements are produced by them too.

Happy hunting!! :)

soilwork

My apologies for not looking from your point of view too.

I think watches that are value for money in that price bracket would be Orient Bambino? Seiko Sarb033, Seiko SKX007/009 (this opens up modding options for you), Seiko SRP639?

For Swiss equivalent.. Tissot Visodate?

The main reason why I personally prefer Seikos is simply due to the fact that they are robust and the movements are produced by them too.

Happy hunting!! :)

I go for SRP639 also. But your friends will like? later they ask why Seiko? Ah pek brand then you sian hahahaha

patryn33

Of course I understand where you are coming from. But I guess I also want a watch that is liked by everyone.

Btw, could you recommend any watches within the budget? Would love to hear people's opinion as well.

It's hard to please everyone. It's best to please yourself.

If you open to order direct online or microbrands you have more choices
Else I have to agree with most ppl try seiko orient

patryn33

I go for SRP639 also. But your friends will like? later they ask why Seiko? Ah pek brand then you sian hahahaha

Well rich friends will go no money don't buy watch, use your phone!
Rolex is ah pek brand
Get a Pam today or an RM.
If don't match outfit how? Friends miggle with one cause how one dress?

Opinions are like ass, they all stink! Lol

soilwork

Well rich friends will go no money don't buy watch, use your phone!
Rolex is ah pek brand
Get a Pam today or an RM.
If don't match outfit how? Friends miggle with one cause how one dress?

Opinions are like ass, they all stink! Lol

ya loh. 5 years ago, my friends all ask me why Rolex. 5 years later they all buying Rolex

My wife even better.

Till today she said Rolex ah pek, uncle, old. I always stir her and say ok loh i sell away. Then she will ask why, its quite nice lah. neat and clean blah blah #truestory

Panerai 112 she said not dressy enough, hard to match me cause i am more casual. Flip it to 372 and she said why flip, the 112 with croc strap is outstanding. 372 is too big and not modern enough blah blah. Then i tell her ok i sell 372. Then she say why sell, should keep cause its nice and suits me. hahaha

hahaha the fun i have sometimes :)

PS the only watch she dont complain is my g shock and that g shock is giving me rashes :/

Novelty77

55bc37ca_PhotoGrid_1439886085884.jpeg

Just collected my 5035G. Boy i miss the heftiness of this watch and certainly missed it on my wrist. Horolab did a great job in removing the 1mm deep ding as well, good as new. I was quoted $1800 SGD just for serving by the authorize service center and a 3 months down time. Hence, went to Horolab and get my watch service and polish for $1700 and a down time for ard 2 month. Not cheap per say but looking at the equipment and professionalism they have, i left my watch with them.

Fun fact: the 5035 is the only Patek model that feature the roman numeral IV on their dials rather than the watch makers 4, IIII. Not to be confuse with the XMM rolex saga at EDMW.

Next up, my lange which i send for polishing and service.

e1cfcc4b_20150818_135037.jpeg

Bought a lil something from them as well, to appreciate my watch more hehe.. a made in swiss eyesglass.

LL

Anyone has any idea how what these watchmakers see in the movement whether the watch's lub has dried up and requires serving? And links on how they remove the deep dings on watches?

Thai_Rak_Thai

Horolab did a great job in removing the 1mm deep ding as well, good as new. I was quoted $1800 SGD just for serving by the authorize service center and a 3 months down time. Hence, went to Horolab and get my watch service and polish for $1700 and a down time for ard 2 month.

Seems not that far off in price other than time factor. Thanks for sharing. May be an alternative if i send in my Calatrava one day.

Truth be told, there are many watch masters our there but who could blame us peasants for being apprehensive other than the obvious of sending to authorised service centre :)

Henabi

Seiko 5...seiko automatic
citizen...
Orient bambino...
Arbutus ny...
Kenneth Cole...
Rotary...

G shock...edifice...

Make a trip down to Bencoolen... you might even be able to hoot a vintage omega for slightly above 600 if lucky ^.^

TEEN TITAN IS BACK!!!!!!!!!

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.