The Watch Thread - Part 8

patryn33

Hi all sorry for asking so many questions today haha. I am looking for a watch for my GF for her work requirements.

1. If metal bracelet, can only be gold or silver
2. If leather strap, only black or dark blue or brown is allowed
3. Bezel and strap should be plain and not set with any stones
4. Diamonds on the numerals are permitted
5. Watch face must be gold/silver/black/white/dark blue/grey
6. Inclusive of casing, the watch face must not exceed 35mm (they never mention include crown haha)
7. Watch with cartoon faces are not allowed
8. Bulky watches are not allowed
9. Watches of plastic or rubber material are not allowed
10. (This is my GF own requirement: MUST HAVE GMT FUNCTION) If can include day date moon phase or whatever even better
11. Budget under 1k. Auto ot quartz is fine by her.

So with the huge amount of restrictions it is really hard to find a perfect match for her. Is really hard to find a GMT watch for ladies under 35mm. Can any bros help recommend such watches?

So far We have tried to surf online and walk around shopping but really no luck.

Sent from 10 Buangkok View, Buangkok Green Medical Park using GAGT

Try the below
- Victorinox Swiss Army 241259 Vivante GMT Ladies Watch
- Hamilton khaki gmt http://www.ashford.com/us/watches/hamilton/khaki+field/khaki+field+officer+auto/H70365183.pid?source=370000001&CAWELAID=120016340000008293&gclid=Cj0KEQjwvJqvBRCL77m2-uKczsIBEiQAkx8VjL9Gs0mHyWm22V5iKTydM9l8VnaWwstW6N8o2l55qq4aAirD8P8HAQ

- frederique constant just no gmt
https://www.jacobtime.com/osc/Frederique-Constant-Products-m-139.html
- longines Quartz also no gmt

tremor

Caught in the rain while getting daily dose of caffeine.

APPrzuu.png

PiPiChew

Wah...ur GF lawyer izit? Watch also so many regulations.

No la not lawyer. Lawyer GF too out of my league liao haha.

The gf air stewardess cos only the stupid SIA got these stupid requirements. Another giveaway is the gmt.

Bro, a lot of stewardess got the skagen dual time. Meet all requirements.

Haha my GF also mentioned she saw a stewardess wearing that but is kinda a grey area since width wise it is under 35mm but the longer length of the rectangle is way beyond 35mm.

No stones allowed on bezel but heys I have just learnt of a new brand so I'm checking out Philipstein haha thanks!

Wah how come so many requirements for watch by company Somemore! Pple don't normally focus on the wrists of stewardess lol.

Don't ask me ask SIA. They machiam army liddat one zzz :s22:

PiPiChew

@pipichew,

hard to find 35mm gmt imo.

Ya lo that's why I come here ask guru for help liao :(

Oops, I missed the under 1k budget.

That narrows the field down even more then.

Haha yea. We don't want to spend too much money just for the sake of her company asking for this this that that haha and of course is good to have some savings.

Try the below
- Victorinox Swiss Army 241259 Vivante GMT Ladies Watch
- Hamilton khaki gmt http://www.ashford.com/us/watches/h...Wm22V5iKTydM9l8VnaWwstW6N8o2l55qq4aAirD8P8HAQ

- frederique constant just no gmt
https://www.jacobtime.com/osc/Frederique-Constant-Products-m-139.html
- longines Quartz also no gmt

Heys thanks for the Victorinox and Hamilton. I'm surprised that I missed out the Hamilton especially since I was combing through their website. Thanks a lot!!! :D

randomgreen

hi guys. need some advice.

I just received this watch from my father. The watch was bought in the 1970's. The watch is currently still functioning but the exterior of the watch looks rugged (the dial and the crystal).

what are the considerations that I have to take note of should I decide to restore the watch in terms of looks or maybe movement? and usually how much does that cost.

and will the restoration maintains/increase/decrease the value of the watch? :s11::s11:

yKLQkyt.jpg

9brSkV1.jpg

HbQ1Sz6.jpg

56MdgHt.jpg

chickenbackside

I just received this watch from my father. The watch was bought in the 1970's. The watch is currently still functioning but the exterior of the watch looks rugged (the dial and the crystal).

what are the considerations that I have to take note of should I decide to restore the watch in terms of looks or maybe movement? and usually how much does that cost.

and will the restoration maintains/increase/decrease the value of the watch? :s11::s11:
I would just wear it as it is unless you are bothered by the "ruggedness". It's a common model and is not worth a lot whether restored or not.

What I'm trying to say is, to me, the patina that your father put into the watch is worth more than restoring the watch to a pristine condition. You can literally buy one that's in pretty good condition for a couple thousand bucks. Restoring your watch would probably cost around that.

Shiikamaru

I would just wear it as it is unless you are bothered by the "ruggedness". It's a common model and is not worth a lot whether restored or not.

What I'm trying to say is, to me, the patina that your father put into the watch is worth more than restoring the watch to a pristine condition. You can literally buy one that's in pretty good condition for a couple thousand bucks. Restoring your watch would probably cost around that.

I think he should send it in for servicing since its a 40 years old piece. I do agree that there shouldnt be any polishing done to the watch, just cleaning and lubing it up.

patryn33

Heys thanks for the Victorinox and Hamilton. I'm surprised that I missed out the Hamilton especially since I was combing through their website. Thanks a lot!!! :D

No gmt can try http://www.epos.ch/collection/ladies/ladies.htm

Henabi

I think he should send it in for servicing since its a 40 years old piece. I do agree that there shouldnt be any polishing done to the watch, just cleaning and lubing it up.

congrats random! inheriting a watch from your parents adds that special meaning to this watch.

My take on restoration and servicing? DO IT! I am sure this Rolex precision has served your father really well and clocked endless nights of stories with your dad.
I am sure your father would be delighted to see this watch being given its long overdue "spa" and see it restored to its former glory :D

imo, when it comes to something passed down from our parents, servicing cost should be considered but should never be primary concern.

PiPiChew

No gmt can try http://www.epos.ch/collection/ladies/ladies.htm

Wahh sibeh swee leh but no GMT really major deal breaker. Actually got lots of watches also very nice like Junkers Epos Tissot Casio Seiko all she like but no GMT :(

She already has a watch that fits her company criteria and has date display but without GMT. So to get another one that does the same is kinda pointless. Still hunting around hahaha.

At least we can afford to wait for as long as it takes before the right watch appear haha since she already has a proper watch. Thanks for all the help to you as well as the rest for the countless suggestions :D

Sent from 10 Buangkok View, Buangkok Green Medical Park using GAGT

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.