The Watch Thread - Part 8

Lurker_13

At the risk of being totally out of my league here with all the high end watch lovers, can I trouble some helpful men to help with my question? I'm looking to buy a watch for my husband who is an assistant GM.

Unfortunately, I am only hoping to spend 1k at most as we are saving up for our home and renovation costs (2years later and we do not want to take any loans), we have yet to go on our honeymoon (due to timing issues and me still being on probation at my new job) and I'm just generally not about spending big money on stuff (I don't even buy branded stuff for myself). :s13:

Is 1k enough to get a proper watch befitting of his position or should I consider increasing my budget?

Also could you suggest a few brands I could look at as well that are in this range?

A little background on my husband is that he is not into branded goods as well and his most expensive items on his person is probably the prada wallet and belt that I gave him in the past 3 years. However, he has mentioned that he feels he should get a "proper" watch and joked about getting a Rolex (at least I think he was joking) one day. His last watch was a Seiko that his brother gave him (like I said.. not into brands... =:p), hope that's enough information.

I know nuts about watches so any and all help would be much appreciated! TIA!

So sweet of you...:D Your husband into automatic or quartz watches? Are you looking at sporty or more dressy ones?

Ed.YEO

At the risk of being totally out of my league here with all the high end watch lovers, can I trouble some helpful men to help with my question? I'm looking to buy a watch for my husband who is an assistant GM....
买只贵表俾副经理老公???
其实1000蚊可以买只靓表佐。唔驶名牌。最紧要系要低调不失贵气,斯文不失严肃。
如果要买瑞士表,雷门威,浪琴有斯文款,预算要up些小,可能唔驶1500蚊就可入一只机械款,雷门威要再高些。
如果要低过1000,市面上唯有日本表款选择。东方最多,精工排二,星辰第三。

greatpoke

At the risk of being totally out of my league here with all the high end watch lovers, can I trouble some helpful men to help with my question? I'm looking to buy a watch for my husband who is an assistant GM.

Unfortunately, I am only hoping to spend 1k at most as we are saving up for our home and renovation costs (2years later and we do not want to take any loans), we have yet to go on our honeymoon (due to timing issues and me still being on probation at my new job) and I'm just generally not about spending big money on stuff (I don't even buy branded stuff for myself). :s13:

Is 1k enough to get a proper watch befitting of his position or should I consider increasing my budget?

Also could you suggest a few brands I could look at as well that are in this range?

A little background on my husband is that he is not into branded goods as well and his most expensive items on his person is probably the prada wallet and belt that I gave him in the past 3 years. However, he has mentioned that he feels he should get a "proper" watch and joked about getting a Rolex (at least I think he was joking) one day. His last watch was a Seiko that his brother gave him (like I said.. not into brands... =:p), hope that's enough information.

Mai tu liao. Inject steinhart poison in her

Sent from OnePlus A0001 using GAGT

talonn

Hmmm..Tissot Visodate came to mind..dunno why...

Donten

Seiko, look at seiyajapan.com and tell us what caught your eyes. We'll feed back accordingly.

PiPiChew

Tissot Visodate for dress watch.
Steinhart Ocean One for the "Rolex" feel :D

Sent from 10 Buangkok View, Buangkok Green Medical Park using GAGT

denial86

So sweet of you...:D Your husband into automatic or quartz watches? Are you looking at sporty or more dressy ones?

Haha thanks, I hope he thinks so too since unfortunately, I'm not planning to buy a Rolex or Panerai for him anytime soon (maybe when we're like 60 :s13:).

I think from his character, a quartz watch might be more practical because he's quite low maintenance and might ill-treat the watch (like not bother to bring it for maintenance). I think a dressier watch would be good for when he has to attend events and/or meet clients. Any suggestions?

买只贵表俾副经理老公???
其实1000蚊可以买只靓表佐。唔驶名牌。最紧要系要低调不失贵气,斯文不失严肃。
如果要买瑞士表,雷门威,浪琴有斯文款,预算要up些小,可能唔驶1500蚊就可入一只机械款,雷门威要再高些。
如果要低过1000,市面上唯有日本表款选择。东方最多,精工排二,星辰第三。

Ehhh my Chinese is atrocious so I had to use Google translate on your reply. I think you're saying I should either up my budget to get a Longines or Raymond Weil, or get a Japanese watch? But not sure what's 东方,精工(Seiko?) and 星辰.. Thanks, I will take the two Swiss brands into consideration and up my budget if I can't find anything nice in the 1k range.

Mai tu liao. Inject steinhart poison in her

Lol sounds scary leh.. Googled some images of the brand and looks quite nice.

Hmmm..Tissot Visodate came to mind..dunno why...

hi 5... me too too...:s13:

Haha thanks for the specific model, this watch looks very simple and si wen, is it a popular model?

Seiko, look at seiyajapan.com and tell us what caught your eyes. We'll feed back accordingly.

I got no preference for guy watches leh. For me, a guy should wear big and bulky so they look more man. I don't think my husband agrees with me though that's why hoping the watch gurus here can give me some ideas haha.

Tissot Visodate for dress watch.
Steinhart Ocean One for the "Rolex" feel :D

Sent from 10 Buangkok View, Buangkok Green Medical Park using GAGT

Haha another one who recommends the Visodate, interesting.. I quite like the look of the Ocean One, but I have this idea that dressier watches tend to have leather straps? Not sure where I got the idea from though, would this watch be considered dressy?

Wow thanks guys, so many responses within minutes!

talonn

If you like the look of "Rolex" but don't wanna spend that much, then just give up and drink the "steinhart" poison. Dive watch is more versatile than dress watch

xuan87

Haha thanks, I hope he thinks so too since unfortunately, I'm not planning to buy a Rolex or Panerai for him anytime soon (maybe when we're like 60 :s13:).

I think from his character, a quartz watch might be more practical because he's quite low maintenance and might ill-treat the watch (like not bother to bring it for maintenance). I think a dressier watch would be good for when he has to attend events and/or meet clients. Any suggestions?

Haha thanks for the specific model, this watch looks very simple and si wen, is it a popular model?

Haha another one who recommends the Visodate, interesting.. I quite like the look of the Ocean One, but I have this idea that dressier watches tend to have leather straps? Not sure where I got the idea from though, would this watch be considered dressy?

If your budget is $1000 for a quartz, suddenly you have A TON of options to go for. With $1k quartz, I'll recommend a quartz chronograph. Unfortunately, I don't know of any quartz chronographs at the price range of $1000 so I'll leave it to the other bros here. Personally I will get a Christropher Ward C7 Rapide Chronograph:

c7-rapide-chronograph-sksi-mk2_christopher-ward_1.jpg

But the first watch that comes to my mind when you mentioned $1000 budget is the STEINHART OCEAN TITANIUM 500!!! You mention that the Ocean 1 is quite nice, wait until you check out the gallery for the OT500. Many of us, including me, have been poisioned by this watch and I estimate the local price to be around $1000. It's not available locally yet but it will be soon (hopefully).

Enuff' said:

Steinhart-Ocean-Titanium-500-Premium-Superluminova.jpg

Ed.YEO

...I think from his character, a quartz watch might be more practical because he's quite low maintenance and might ill-treat the watch (like not bother to bring it for maintenance). I think a dressier watch would be good for when he has to attend events and/or meet clients. Any suggestions?
... ... ...
Ehhh my Chinese is atrocious so I had to use Google translate on your reply. I think you're saying I should either up my budget to get a Longines or Raymond Weil, or get a Japanese watch? But not sure what's 东方,精工(Seiko?) and 星辰.. Thanks, I will take the two Swiss brands into consideration and up my budget if I can't find anything nice in the 1k range...
其实我打0既系广府文,估狗竟然能够翻出英文?!! 哇。。。:eek:
首先,东方系ORIENT,星辰系CITIZEN(大陆消费者钟意称呼做西铁城,直译)。
既然你已经提出你老公的性格,精工石英表款我向你推- 近期推出的赛车主题光能计时表!设计仲靓过“戴好野”!!!
SSC355
SSC355P1.png

SSC357
SSC357P1.png

SSC359
SSC359P1.png

SSC361
SSC361P1.png

slow_mo

How about a watch from NZ with a heart from Japan?

A German with a Swiss heart.

A Swiss...

All three are less than 1k each. Opppppssss I forgot... these are all automatics.

Henabi

Ehhh my Chinese is atrocious so I had to use Google translate on your reply. I think you're saying I should either up my budget to get a Longines or Raymond Weil, or get a Japanese watch? But not sure what's 东方,精工(Seiko?) and 星辰.. Thanks, I will take the two Swiss brands into consideration and up my budget if I can't find anything nice in the 1k range.

I got no preference for guy watches leh. For me, a guy should wear big and bulky so they look more man. I don't think my husband agrees with me though that's why hoping the watch gurus here can give me some ideas haha.

Because whenever a lady comes in here... we are ALWAYS READY TO HELP :s13:
We already helped a few ladies to buy watches for their men. The most recognisable one should be VanillaWay

Go for watches with metal bracelet and then get leather straps with deployment clasps like the picture below:
deployment-clasp-close.jpg

Few recommendations:
HAMILTON FIELD WATCH
Hamilton Jazzmaster
Tissot Vissodate
Orient Bambino
Seiko
Citizen
Casio Edifice
FREDERIQUE CONSTANT SWISS AUTOMATIC
VICTORINOX MAVERICK CHRONOGRAPH
Raymond Weil Tradition
Longines Quartz
Oris Classic

Henabi

Denial 86
If you don't mind pre - owned watches, similar to pre owned luxury bags...

You can consider watches made during his birth year...
- Omega
- rolex precision, air king, explorer I

greatpoke

If you like the look of "Rolex" but don't wanna spend that much, then just give up and drink the "steinhart" poison. Dive watch is more versatile than dress watch
Lim ahhhhh. Drink the poison.

gaoxing84

Lol. My seiko kermit bracelet came loose and smash on to the concrete floor face down. Lol. But seiko being seiko. Tough as hell. Not even a scratch. Lol. Still running well.

Had to bring to the nearest hour glass at paragon to borrow screwdriver. Heng they never look down on me and seiko hahaha

njchay1981

Prices Just Increased by 3% ... 4550 to 4680 for Bracelet package :(

Just hooted but paid extra 50 for nothing ... only 21% discount ...

slow_mo

Lol. My seiko kermit bracelet came loose and smash on to the concrete floor face down. Lol. But seiko being seiko. Tough as hell. Not even a scratch. Lol. Still running well.

Had to bring to the nearest hour glass at paragon to borrow screwdriver. Heng they never look down on me and seiko hahaha

The spring bar came loose or the pins/screws on the bracelet give way? Original bracelet or the StrapCode bracelet?!

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.