The Watch Thread - Part 8

thenakedshades

My apologies for not looking from your point of view too.

I think watches that are value for money in that price bracket would be Orient Bambino? Seiko Sarb033, Seiko SKX007/009 (this opens up modding options for you), Seiko SRP639?

For Swiss equivalent.. Tissot Visodate?

The main reason why I personally prefer Seikos is simply due to the fact that they are robust and the movements are produced by them too.

Happy hunting!! :)

Will a Orient Bambino look weird if I interchange it with a metal bracelet? Haven't seen one in that yet. I'm looking at the Seiko SARY051. Plain but the hollow dial part looks nice. A pity it's not with a black dial.

http://www.seiyajapan.com/collections/seiko/products/seiko-presage-automatic-sary051

thenakedshades

I go for SRP639 also. But your friends will like? later they ask why Seiko? Ah pek brand then you sian hahahaha

hahaha a few of my friends said why Seiko? But i like Seiko though, so i'm researching more models for Seiko. But with my budget and my needs, bit difficult.

thenakedshades

It's hard to please everyone. It's best to please yourself.

If you open to order direct online or microbrands you have more choices
Else I have to agree with most ppl try seiko orient

i understand bro, but i think also must be pleasing to other's eyes mah. Like as least my gf's eyes, if not my ears not pleasing liao. hahaha.

Btw, what do you mean order direct? or micro brands? Any brands in particular that is good and fits my budget? I'm open to suggestions, hope you can list some brands for me to research on. thanks bro

thenakedshades

Seiko 5...seiko automatic
citizen...
Orient bambino...
Arbutus ny...
Kenneth Cole...
Rotary...

G shock...edifice...

Make a trip down to Bencoolen... you might even be able to hoot a vintage omega for slightly above 600 if lucky ^.^

TEEN TITAN IS BACK!!!!!!!!!

haha which shop at bencoolen? Can get omega at 600!! hahaha

slow_mo

i understand bro, but i think also must be pleasing to other's eyes mah. Like as least my gf's eyes, if not my ears not pleasing liao. hahaha.

Btw, what do you mean order direct? or micro brands? Any brands in particular that is good and fits my budget? I'm open to suggestions, hope you can list some brands for me to research on. thanks bro

Micro brands are smaller watch makers. Not your mainstream brands. They use ETAs, Miyotas and other movements.

Aquadive, Crepas, Helios, Helson, Magrette, Ocean7, SAS, Squale, Zelos (local) just to name a few. I'm sure other forumers here have more experiences with the micro brands.

greatpoke

yea bro, thanks! I googled it just now! Looks good. But I think a sliver or stainless steel color will be better suitable for more occasions no? Like for work and going out.

Ha. Cause I'm wearing one now. Interchange with their rubber strap. Depends on your colour combination for your outfit. One watch isn't enough. You will know once u hoot one.

I have a zenith that came with steel bracelet but I ditched it and put a customized leather strap. Looks good enough for me.

Buy two watches with your budget.
Seiko and orient. Should fit nicely with 600. Seiko for metal and orient for leather.
Though my experience with orient not so good. The ticking v loud.

TeenTitan01

but i see all the watches posted here, other than the branded ones, all are automatic.

I'm looking to get my first watch but with a limited budget so I'm not sure if I should get quartz or automatic.

Quartz if you prefer accuracy & not needing to reset your watch now and then (especially when you've built up a nice or in the case of some bros here gargantuan "there's never enough watches" collection of automatics, all fighting for wrist time) - at least until its battery runs out.

Automatic if your prefer a mechanical marvel that has a heartbeat with a sweeping second hand and a movement that you can admire from its exhibition caseback, that is kept alive as it moves along with you ... because you are alive.

For an in-house retro-vintage style dress watch, you can't go wrong with the Orient Bambino (not hackable or windable, iirc), although ponying up more will get you an uber-attractive OrientStar Classic (which can both hack & wind). A dress watch should be worn with a leather strap.

For an in-house diving watch which has attained cult classic status among watch nerds (ahem, lovers), look no further than a Seiko SKX007/009/173, although for me its lack of hacking (stop seconds) & winding makes its 7s26 movement long in the tooth. So it's the Seiko SRP309 2nd generation Orange Monster 200m certified diver with its 4R36 movement (which is hackable & windable), its superior solid links and solid end links foldover bracelet with safety clasp and diving extension for me.

TeenTitan01

Get a thermocompensated quartz or super quartz if you want a quartz watch. There are many out there......Sinn UX, Breitling professional models or even maybe the Grand Seiko quartz.

be gentle, bro... a HEQ/HAQ/Spring Drive GS will bust his budget many times over!

think of how when we first got poisoned by watches and start from there...

TeenTitan01

Holy crap, bro, you been missing for a long time.

I am well, young bro. Thanks for your kind concern.

Been lurking on/off all this while.

Belated congrats on snagging (one of your) grail watches - the Rolex Sub.

BTW, yattokame is also MIA for a long time. Any news of this life of the party?

TeenTitan01

U all choose those with date or without date? Certain month no have 31 days then must adjust again like troublesome

Well, there are perpetual calendar watches that automatically adjust for months and leap years till 2099.

Not cheap though.

patryn33

brands like steinhart you can get it direct from www.steinhartwatches.de instead of buying from www.gnomonwatches.com singapore.

microbrands already explained above. but u get brands such as
www.christopherward.co.uk
uhr.info
guinand-uhren.de

but google is nice u can find thread such as these http://forums.watchuseek.com/f74/list-micro-brands-759123.html

if u willing to wait can jump on kickstarter
https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/whyteswatches/whytes-watches-rugged-mechanical-sophistication

Henabi

haha which shop at bencoolen? Can get omega at 600!! hahaha

there are quite a few watch shops in bencoolen, selling brand new watches, 2nd-hand watches, vintage watches...
No one says anything about getting current omega watches at 600.
key word: VINTAGE.

All in a Day

I am well, young bro. Thanks for your kind concern.

Been lurking on/off all this while.

Belated congrats on snagging (one of your) grail watches - the Rolex Sub.

BTW, yattokame is also MIA for a long time. Any news of this life of the party?

Good to see u here again! Your resurfacing coincides with upcoming general election! Lol

All in a Day

guys..i don't normally enter a watch boutique not knowing the price.. a bit paiseh lah asking for price and then decided not to buy coz I don't have enough cash.. so am asking if anyone knows the price of "TISSOT T-RACE MOTOGP 2015 Automatic Chronograph" http://www.tissot.ch/en-US/products/tissot-t-race-motogp-2015/T0924272706100.html

thanks in advance guys..

Not sure y is that paiseh n didnt know that got obligation to buy once u ask about price.

LBefore the days of internet n all i wonder how do people find out about prices other than from shops n word of mouth...

TeenTitan01

Good to see u here again! Your resurfacing coincides with upcoming general election! Lol

So nice of you to welcome me back, my erudite bro.

Protip:

1. Anyone who LIKE the INCUMBENT should put a TICK besides their logo on the ballot paper to show their strong support.
2. Those who DISLIKE the OPPOSITION should put a CROSS besides their logo to signify their displeasure.

Spread the word, patriots!
;)

a562140

yea bro, i'm looking at them too. I saw one from Seiya Japan but it's a SARY series, wonder what's the difference?

sarbs are higher grade and smaller.

if you are on a budget the sary is pretty good.

iu

confidently no lume like GS too!

TeenTitan01

guys..i don't normally enter a watch boutique not knowing the price.. a bit paiseh lah asking for price and then decided not to buy coz I don't have enough cash.. so am asking if anyone knows the price of "TISSOT T-RACE MOTOGP 2015 Automatic Chronograph" http://www.tissot.ch/en-US/products/tissot-t-race-motogp-2015/T0924272706100.html

thanks in advance guys..

Abang, no need to paiseh lah. Stride in like you own the place. Learn some watch knowledge so you're savvy to a salesman's bullsh!t.

Why ask price? To know if cheap enough to pull the trigger. Also to bargain lah! If you already know what you want, the first thing you ask will be the price. No need to waste yours or the salesman time.

Fact 1.
You are the potential customer. Whether a sale is made is up to the salesman, not you. If you don't like his attitude, remind him that he earns on commission & bring your biz elsewhere. What more with the choice of online shopping now. Buy also must song mah!

Fact 2.
Most customers earn more than the average salesman. Those with the jacket & tie, branded belt, wallet, shoes & watch may be so maxed out servicing their credit card debt that their branded wallets are always empty. All show. No go.

Fact 3.
The most shabby customer is usually loaded enough without dressing to impress. Others around dress to impress them instead. Towkays in slippers buy Merc on the spot, no loan needed. Abramovich with his white coffeeshop ah pek T-shirt, jeans ... and a Richard Mille on his wrist, lol!

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.