The Watch Thread - Part 8

talonn

Can these small solar rotating display stands be used as a makeshift watch winder? Or too slow liao? Anyone recommend an affordable and decent quality watch winder?

http://m.aliexpress.com/w/wholesale-solar-rotating-display-stand.html

Free-shipping-Solar-Showcase-360-Turntable-Rotating-Jewelry-Watch-Ring-Phone-Stand-Display.jpg_640x640.jpg

I think the problem is the axis

nicjer

Uncle Teen is probably about the same age as uncle chickenbackside lah.

Let me tell you about a friend of mine.

He has a regular clerical job that he's been doing for many years. Pays so so. Doesn't starve, but can't save much either. One day he decides that he wants to try to make a better future for his family, which he thought was difficult with his stagnant job. His thought was, he has no special skill or talent, so what can he do?

After researching and thinking for 6 months, he decides to apply for a hawker stall selling drinks.

Today he has 4 successful hawker drink stalls. According to him, he does $1600-1800 of sales per day, PER STALL. In each stall he has 2 employees running the daily service. He has 1 manager who looks after all the 4 stalls.

With the manager, a cash register and CCTV helping him, he still keeps his regular job.

You can guess what his income is like after minus-ing off the expenses. It's certainly hundreds ,if not thousands, of percent more than just keeping his regular job.

He still lives in the same flat, drives the same car...etc. No sudden outward splashing of wealth. But you can see the difference when you talk to him. He is not the defeated, cynical guy he used to be...

Again, don't think like that!

You WILL! By your own path...

When I started working, I kept thinking: I'm just a guitar player, band boy, forever struggling to make ends meet struggling musician... It wasn't until I was nearly 40 that I started to change my mindset. When that fog lifted, you will simply steer your life towards your goals.

Of course things don't happen overnight. It starts with yourself eating better cos you want to feel better, when you eat better, you will also look better, and that spurs you to want to dress better, when you dress better, people think you are more capable...etc. The ball starts rolling...

Thanks for your very inspiring post, and quite an uplifting read especially for those going through a "personal slump"

I find the do better things for yourself to feel good quite interesting though. For me, everytime I feel down, or hit a rough patch, I just start saving even more money, or doing even lesser, out of sheer fear, then I become just as negative. Next time, should change.

tremor

Wearing the new Swiss army ammo strap that just arrived. 79 euros quite a good deal compared to many other sellers. Leaders.ch or something like that the website.

xTOSyFq.png

TTCwavr.png

XIaN5LF.png

chickenbackside

Thanks for your very inspiring post, and quite an uplifting read especially for those going through a "personal slump"

I find the do better things for yourself to feel good quite interesting though. For me, everytime I feel down, or hit a rough patch, I just start saving even more money, or doing even lesser, out of sheer fear, then I become just as negative. Next time, should change.
People actually have a term for this: poverty mindset.

I'll be the first to admit, I suffered from this way of thinking for the most part of my life. I mean, my parents were poor farmers, I'm the first and only one in my family and extended family to actually graduate from a university. I went to university at 29 years old cos my parents could not afford it when it was my supposed time...etc.

But it really needs an epiphany to cause that change.

Let me suggest a podcast to you that I find extremely helpful in addressing many of these issues that help give practical tips in escaping from this mindset.

Google "the art of charm podcast". There are hundreds of episodes. Slowly go through them. They helped me tremendously.

tremor

Yea actually I think our lives can change a lot by improving our conscienceness. If we make up our mind to improve ourselves then we will gradually become better.

Start by exercising regularly. Once u start, in a few short weeks, you can notice that you are fitter, sleep better, look better and younger and the ball starts rolling. External appearances really matters in this world on how people perceives you.

You can even start slowly by taking regular walks after dinner. And soon enough you'll be jogging or cycling or swimming and look years younger.

xuan87

D81B5D40-0F30-4406-83D9-346B40233763_zpswykszpo5.jpg

My watch for the work-week: Zelos Chroma. Finally seeing some wrist time after all the recent hoots that have been grabbing my attention. Love everything about this watch except that it has no date market, and that the hands have a mirror finish.

Also want to ask bros here for some recommendation for a pilot style under S$700, matte/bead blasted black casing, black dial with tan/brown hands and markings for a vintage look. Preferably automatic too.

The best looking watch I've found is the Steinhart Nav B-Chrono II Black DLC. I don't need the chrono function, so if Steinhart can create a similar watch at a cheaper price without the chrono function, it'll be perfect for me. I love that the casing is DLC instead of normal PVD.

Other watches that also caught my eyes are the AVI-8 Lancester Bomber (cheap but uses Japanese quartz) and Elliot Brown Canford (Swiss quartz and a little ex imo for what the watch offers). I love both the Christopher Ward C8 Regulator (perfect and unique design but just too ex) and the C8 Pilot Mk II U-2 vintage Edition (looks good but the Steinhart will be better value even with its higher price tag).

Thanks for bothering with my long posts lol!

tremor

Btw found the website for my ammo strap.

Lederarts.ch if anyone's interested.

chickenbackside

Yea actually I think our lives can change a lot by improving our conscienceness. If we make up our mind to improve ourselves then we will gradually become better.

Start by exercising regularly. Once u start, in a few short weeks, you can notice that you are fitter, sleep better, look better and younger and the ball starts rolling. External appearances really matters in this world on how people perceives you.

You can even start slowly by taking regular walks after dinner. And soon enough you'll be jogging or cycling or swimming and look years younger.
Exactly!

Too many times we think that to effect change, insurmountable effort is required. But it really is not everything at once.

It can be as simple as figuring out how to get more quality sleep in your life so that you feel better getting up in the morning. Once you delve into it, you realize that sleep is tied to other aspects of your life, like exercise, nutrition, how much computer screen time you have right before bed...

So to solve that, you might start with taking a half hour walk each day, or even taking the lift to 4 floors before your floor and walking up the rest of the way. Something simple like that.

The point is to do something, and that something benefits you, and it spurs you on to do another thing, and so on... From a simple walk, it can and will lead you to a better life a step at a time.

But if one just sits around, reads everything on the Internet and knows exactly what he/she is supposed to do, but does not take a step, then things will simply remain status quo...

I shared this concept with a friend of mine, and within a year, his 1 single small successful tuition centre that he owns became 3, and he's looking to expand more next year when they settle down. Before that, he's always afraid that the business will fail, but he failed to see that even if it does, it won't be catastrophic. But if he does not try, he will stay the same for sure.

Henabi

D81B5D40-0F30-4406-83D9-346B40233763_zpswykszpo5.jpg

My watch for the work-week: Zelos Chroma. Finally seeing some wrist time after all the recent hoots that have been grabbing my attention. Love everything about this watch except that it has no date market, and that the hands have a mirror finish.

Also want to ask bros here for some recommendation for a pilot style under S$700, matte/bead blasted black casing, black dial with tan/brown hands and markings for a vintage look. Preferably automatic too.

The best looking watch I've found is the Steinhart Nav B-Chrono II Black DLC. I don't need the chrono function, so if Steinhart can create a similar watch at a cheaper price without the chrono function, it'll be perfect for me. I love that the casing is DLC instead of normal PVD.

Other watches that also caught my eyes are the AVI-8 Lancester Bomber (cheap but uses Japanese quartz) and Elliot Brown Canford (Swiss quartz and a little ex imo for what the watch offers). I love both the Christopher Ward C8 Regulator (perfect and unique design but just too ex) and the C8 Pilot Mk II U-2 vintage Edition (looks good but the Steinhart will be better value even with its higher price tag).

Thanks for bothering with my long posts lol!

Local watches!!!! Swee lah

gaoxing84

Uncle Teen is probably about the same age as uncle chickenbackside lah.

Let me tell you about a friend of mine.

He has a regular clerical job that he's been doing for many years. Pays so so. Doesn't starve, but can't save much either. One day he decides that he wants to try to make a better future for his family, which he thought was difficult with his stagnant job. His thought was, he has no special skill or talent, so what can he do?

After researching and thinking for 6 months, he decides to apply for a hawker stall selling drinks.

Today he has 4 successful hawker drink stalls. According to him, he does $1600-1800 of sales per day, PER STALL. In each stall he has 2 employees running the daily service. He has 1 manager who looks after all the 4 stalls.

With the manager, a cash register and CCTV helping him, he still keeps his regular job.

You can guess what his income is like after minus-ing off the expenses. It's certainly hundreds ,if not thousands, of percent more than just keeping his regular job.

He still lives in the same flat, drives the same car...etc. No sudden outward splashing of wealth. But you can see the difference when you talk to him. He is not the defeated, cynical guy he used to be...

hawker selling drinks. the profit margin is pretty good especially in sg.
i also got thought of opening since years ago.
sell sugarcane also (this one sure huat)
haven't follow thru yet. cause i still studying part time.

once i graduate by this year, i will take some time off if possible to start it.
once stable then i find a full time job while running this behind.

good story, shows that hawkers are true ballers :s12:
need time and effort, sure can make it.

iV3RsOn

hawker selling drinks. the profit margin is pretty good especially in sg.
i also got thought of opening since years ago.
sell sugarcane also (this one sure huat)
haven't follow thru yet. cause i still studying part time.

once i graduate by this year, i will take some time off if possible to start it.
once stable then i find a full time job while running this behind.

good story, shows that hawkers are true ballers :s12:
need time and effort, sure can make it.

Power lah, going to open sugarcane drinks stall nowwww

DXMachina

Agreed. Exercise is an important aspect that affects our well-being and state of mind significantly. Confidence level rises in everything you do when you feel better and look better, and translates to more success, when people start having a positive impression about you.

One thing I like about this thread is that even though the focal topic is about watches, you guys sometimes veer OT and talk about other aspects of life, which I think is absolutely great. :)

Anyways, just want to ask what do you guys think about Omega as a brand? Is it on the same brand perception level as Tag?

xuan87

Agreed. Exercise is an important aspect that affects our well-being and state of mind significantly. Confidence level rises in everything you do when you feel better and look better, and translates to more success, when people start having a positive impression about you.

One thing I like about this thread is that even though the focal topic is about watches, you guys sometimes veer OT and talk about other aspects of life, which I think is absolutely great. :)

Anyways, just want to ask what do you guys think about Omega as a brand? Is it on the same brand perception level as Tag?

I will class it as at least a tier above Tag. At least Omega has its own in house movement that has gone to space.

shorty07

Speaking of exercise, i notice that a lot are taking up exercise, b it gym or running. When I was window shopping iin sports shops, the number of ppl buying running shoes amazed me. Young n old, male n female, r looking for running shoes which mean they r exercising.

N i hv nvr jogged in a stadium b4. But when i did abt 2 wks back, i was surprised to see the crowd there. Really a diverse crowd joggin ard the track. Many hv realised the benefits of staying fit, me included. N aft only abt 2wks of regular jogs, i did feel some change in my body.

But the haze this past wk hv made me stopped jogging, n my body feels terrible.

N in the topic of jogging n watch, do u guys wear the fitness bands or exercise watches like polar n suunto? Which is better?

shorty07

Thanks for the opinion. That's what I had in mind too, very tempted by the Omega Speedmaster Moonwatch.
I hv a goal of buying omega also. The seamaster planet ocean. The one with the orange bezel. But i tink by the time i can afford, no more liao.

xuan87

Speaking of exercise, i notice that a lot are taking up exercise, b it gym or running. When I was window shopping iin sports shops, the number of ppl buying running shoes amazed me. Young n old, male n female, r looking for running shoes which mean they r exercising.

N i hv nvr jogged in a stadium b4. But when i did abt 2 wks back, i was surprised to see the crowd there. Really a diverse crowd joggin ard the track. Many hv realised the benefits of staying fit, me included. N aft only abt 2wks of regular jogs, i did feel some change in my body.

But the haze this past wk hv made me stopped jogging, n my body feels terrible.

N in the topic of jogging n watch, do u guys wear the fitness bands or exercise watches like polar n suunto? Which is better?

Personally, if you want to wear something like the exercise watches like Polar, go all out and get the heart rate monitor band that you wear around your chest too. When I was in OCS, all the instructors were wearing that. Basically, what it does is to ensure that you're always maintaining a high hbps. If too low, that means you're slacking off and you should pick up the pace. I used to do HIIT on the treadmill in the gym, I use the heart rate monitors that is inbuilt into the treadmill. Not as responsive, but still better than nothing.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.