The Watch Thread - Part 8

gaoxing84

Agree. More spare cash = can afford to spend more.
So talk so much also no use, most importantly is just have lots of money :s13: As the saying goes, money is the root of all evil.

Value/function vs brand/luxury
That time someone told me depends on whether one views the watch as a tool or as jewellery :o

got money means satki :s22:

i_got_a_question_to_ask

Guys, a question:

does anyone know where I can buy a single watch travel case locally?

The case has to fit a watch with a metal bracelet, which means the flat ones that house straps that open up completely are out.

All I can find are the flat types, or cases that are made for 3 watches.
I use crown and buckle single pouch

LondoBell

idk what you peeps' stance are towards our horo hobby, but lets face it, tht lump of metal on our wrist is one of the worst way we can spend tht few grands we once had but emotions fueled our purchase anyway.

just afford what we can and not sacrifice better things we can experience in life for it. afterall, its an obsolete relic from past century that serves as an accessory, nothing more.

gaoxing84

idk what you peeps' stance are towards our horo hobby, but lets face it, tht lump of metal on our wrist is one of the worst way we can spend tht few grands we once had but emotions fueled our purchase anyway.

just afford what we can and not sacrifice better things we can experience in life for it. afterall, its an obsolete relic from past century that serves as an accessory, nothing more.

Eh. I will pay for a piece of history that is marketed heavily now haha.
I mean now at our age. It's considered a toy. Haha
Well I can't afford a nice car (not in sg) so the least I could enjoy is a solid time piece that I can appreciate.

If it's all work and nothing to buy to pamper yourself, then what's the point? Haha
You can say travelling and stuff.
What if those are already in place?

I am not against saving up but we only have a pretty short life. Just enjoy lor haha

LondoBell

Guys, a question:

The case has to fit a watch with a metal bracelet, which means the flat ones that house straps that open up completely are out.

if u dun mind, i saw a few on carousell.

https://carousell.com/p/26179129/

https://carousell.com/p/27762585/

https://carousell.com/p/29144905/

https://carousell.com/p/13750353/

hope mod wont infract me for the links:o

xuan87

I would like to healthy contest your last statement of simply something with brand name :)

Have u hold a Rolex Sub to compare with OT500?

If so, in which area that the sub is not of values/function/uses (example)

No flame or challenge. I just want to understand more :)

Maybe I should clarify, when I mention value, I don't mean absolute value, but rather value per $ (V/$? Invent new unit LOL). So in my mind, I'll be weighing the V/$ of the OT500 vs Rolex Sub.

So I'm not saying the Rolex Sub has no value or is a waste of money, it's just that the OT500 has more bang for buck to me.

Lastly, I have not hold a Sub or the OT500 before, strictly going off paper specs, in order to cut down on confirmation bias as much as possible.

LondoBell

Eh. I will pay for a piece of history that is marketed heavily now haha.
I mean now at our age. It's considered a toy. Haha
Well I can't afford a nice car (not in sg) so the least I could enjoy is a solid time piece that I can appreciate.

If it's all work and nothing to buy to pamper yourself, then what's the point? Haha
You can say travelling and stuff.
What if those are already in place?

I am not against saving up but we only have a pretty short life. Just enjoy lor haha

haha bro. my sentiment too, to us its just a toy or hobby. so most imptly is to strike a balance with other aspects of life and not go too overboard with it.:o

soilwork

Maybe I should clarify, when I mention value, I don't mean absolute value, but rather value per $ (V/$? Invent new unit LOL). So in my mind, I'll be weighing the V/$ of the OT500 vs Rolex Sub.

So I'm not saying the Rolex Sub has no value or is a waste of money, it's just that the OT500 has more bang for buck to me.

Lastly, I have not hold a Sub or the OT500 before, strictly going off paper specs, in order to cut down on confirmation bias as much as possible.

No worries lah. I know what you mean :)

I just feel the sub is an icon among the world of horology. Its not just the brand but a lot about the quality of a Rolex too plus the belief of many many people whom trust this brand :)

I really like the OT500 too. I think its a very handsome and a true tool watch.

U must try a subC soon k. Just try wearing it :)

chickenbackside

I use crown and buckle single pouch
Thanks. But they're for watches with straps that open up.

The last one is the only one that I like, but at $200!!

Looks like I might end up buying a bulky 3-watch case after all...

xuan87

No worries lah. I know what you mean :)

I just feel the sub is an icon among the world of horology. Its not just the brand but a lot about the quality of a Rolex too plus the belief of many many people whom trust this brand :)

I really like the OT500 too. I think its a very handsome and a true tool watch.

U must try a subC soon k. Just try wearing it :)

I will in the future when I have more spare cash. I am aiming to get the Sub one day, just doesn't make sense when now when saving up for my first house is more important than a Rolex.

Rolex, along with Seiko, is the only truly fully integrated watch brand, so they are able to maintain high QC on every step of the watch making process. They may command a high price, but at least I can see why and am willing to pay for it, unlike Tags or BNR....

LondoBell

Thanks. But they're for watches with straps that open up.

The last one is the only one that I like, but at $200!!

Looks like I might end up buying a bulky 3-watch case after all...

im only worried for u that for 3 watch case, other watches the sides come knock and ding the centre watch

gaoxing84

I will in the future when I have more spare cash. I am aiming to get the Sub one day, just doesn't make sense when now when saving up for my first house is more important than a Rolex.

Rolex, along with Seiko, is the only truly fully integrated watch brand, so they are able to maintain high QC on every step of the watch making process. They may command a high price, but at least I can see why and am willing to pay for it, unlike Tags or BNR....

Eh tag is quite solid. My aquaracer took some really beat down. I think only serviced once before warranty end. (2011-2015)
Still managed to sold it at a decent price to fund for my speedy.
Don't say tag is no good. Price wise ex but the watch is pretty solid.

gaoxing84

haha bro. my sentiment too, to us its just a toy or hobby. so most imptly is to strike a balance with other aspects of life and not go too overboard with it.:o

Yes Haha. Quote for truth.

Don't like seannie. Lol Bo money still wanna be Satki. Then wanna complain. Lol

jonleelk

Guys, a question:

something like this?

DSCN0827_zpsabf58e1c.jpg

xuan87

Eh tag is quite solid. My aquaracer took some really beat down. I think only serviced once before warranty end. (2011-2015)
Still managed to sold it at a decent price to fund for my speedy.
Don't say tag is no good. Price wise ex but the watch is pretty solid.

Never say it's not good, just that I'm not willing to pay for one. Just like a few have pointed out earlier, I'm willing to pay for an Omega (will like a Speedmaster Chronograph!) but not a Tag. Just my personal opinion.

All in a Day

I guess the key word is hobby.. IMHO, a hobby is meant to be personal pleasure/indulgence whose main purpose is to please ourselves. So long you indulge responsibly (towards yourself and people around you), I think it's fine.

Like GX say, life is short so don't be too hard on ourselves!

chickenbackside

im only worried for u that for 3 watch case, other watches the sides come knock and ding the centre watch
Yes, that would be a concern if I'm going to carry 3 watches. But I'm really only going to be carrying one. It's a non-issue. But all that unnecessary extra bulk is off-putting.

something like this?

DSCN0827_zpsabf58e1c.jpg
Yes! The Oakley one would work fine. But I can't locate any locally.

randomgreen

I guess the key word is hobby.. IMHO, a hobby is meant to be personal pleasure/indulgence whose main purpose is to please ourselves. So long you indulge responsibly (towards yourself and people around you), I think it's fine.

Like GX say, life is short so don't be too hard on ourselves!

lets just stick back to the original intent of the thread. sharing and learning of the horology and watches.

since it is a hobby that some people (including me) get into, the way we spent our money for the piece of metal that resides on our wrist definitely has different meaning from others that does not appreciate it.

if I am sincerely worrying about my future or ways to make better use of my funds, I would be hanging around the money mind forum and not in this thread already. :s22::s22:

peace! :s13::s13:

jonleelk

Yes! The Oakley one would work fine. But I can't locate any locally.

Last time suntec city before renovation got 1 section sells computer stuff. Inside one shop has all sort of such MIC casing in different sizes.

If looking for the Oakley one, maybe u can check with CEDS (Oakley distributor):

img_2244%20web.jpg

C.E.D.S SPORTSWEAR
VivoCity #02-62
Tel: 62700117
10am - 10pm Daily

Small_watch_case_4d6cbecf9e23d.jpg

http://ceds.com.sg/index.php?page=s...tegory_id=70&option=com_virtuemart&Itemid=139

Qoo has USA branded type
512041203.g_400-w_g.jpg

http://list.qoo10.sg/item/HEIDEN-WATCHES-CATEGORIES-DIRECT/435912172

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.