The Watch Thread - Part 8

jonleelk

Got... Big Time is one, Thong Sia is another. If you buy online, don't forget to factor in 7% GST & handling charges.

I don't recommend buying from Thong Sia. Their price after discount is :eek: Can buy plane ticket fly to Japan buy, come back and still cheaper than buying from Thong Sia.

If you want to buy SBDX017, why not consider SBDX001 instead? 2nd hand should be around $2k for a mint condition one. Diashield look good, but once polished, the coating come off. MEMS is already used in the last batch of SBDX001.

Buying from seiya usually siam GST. :)

I got my 17 when a bro went Japan for holidays.
YhZ3snj.jpg

a562140

It's a Mini.

The first car I ever owned was a Mark 1 Mini. I was thrilled to be sitting in it. Brought back so many memories...

those were real cars with real road feel and a real ride. not the most comfortable, but it was "organic" and you'd feel in touch with the terrain and perhaps mother nature. which would force you to go slow and enjoy the ride.

with today's tech and production methods you'd think that they could recreate those simple mechanical cars for the hell of it - i believe there would be a market - just like for mechanical watches lol.

soilwork

I am not a fan of IWC also. just dont sing to me.

The only model which i find myself wanting to look a few more times is the Perpetual Calendar Top Gun.

chickenbackside

those were real cars with real road feel and a real ride. not the most comfortable, but it was "organic" and you'd feel in touch with the terrain and perhaps mother nature. which would force you to go slow and enjoy the ride.

with today's tech and production methods you'd think that they could recreate those simple mechanical cars for the hell of it - i believe there would be a market - just like for mechanical watches lol.
Yes indeed. You feel and hear everything!

There is a classic-car plate old English white/red interior MG Midget that I am on the verge of buying. I really need someone to talk me out of it!

Donten

Yes indeed. You feel and hear everything!

There is a classic-car plate old English white/red interior MG Midget that I am on the verge of buying. I really need someone to talk me out of it!

caterham or the latest miata.

gaoxing84

just a random.
if you have a skx007

would you pay 2-2.5k for a mm300 or fork out another 1-1.5k for a tudor black bay black?

or suck it up and buy everyone's fav sub? (of course a much longer waiting time)

iV3RsOn

just a random.
if you have a skx007

would you pay 2-2.5k for a mm300 or fork out another 1-1.5k for a tudor black bay black?

or suck it up and buy everyone's fav sub? (of course a much longer waiting time)

Eh I thought still got sinn u1 and pam 372?

rboyboy

just a random.
if you have a skx007

I would hoot tudor BB if I were you. Actually I am in the same shoes as you. Want to hoot Tudor but no IHM. Thought of rollie but longer time :(

Donten

just a random.
if you have a skx007

all 3 are worth getting. the skx007 is what it is, a cheap workhorse, cant compare a mm300 to it.

Shyn85

Quite funny, Tudor compare to IWC?

Have planning to get next week, but I think I need to consider again. should I top-up for the 42mm explorer 2? Or sub no date?

looking for the 3777 is becoz of the price and she like the design, pilot watch unisex design so she can wear also.
Price, 5xxx for a brand new IWC chronograph where to get?
Movement, yes! It's ETA7750, if ETA7750 selling 5k+ consider over price then how about Hublot?
Brand, please dun tell me Tudor can compare to IWC, if buy Tudor I rather buy omega PO.

likehotbutter

...and taste often has got to do with heritage or history.

Edited again for you :s13:

Not here to argue but I'll invite people to take a step back and consider something that is hardly taken into consideration by busy folks.

Not just for watches. Businesses, Cars, clothing, equipment, social hierarchy, even family names, just about anything really. Look beyond the veneer of most established respectable things and you'll find a depth of provenance and direction.

That's how words like Parvenu, Nouveau Riche developed in the lingua franca Etymologically, New Rich, always with the emphasis on NEW.

Provenance defines. It is essentially a proven track record of what to expect. A resume of achievements and milestones set in stone. Its is continuity of identity.

Without a steady provenance, what are things but mere memories to be lost? Tears in the rain. A passing fad against the monolith of time? :s12:

P.S Of course taste is subjective but this is with regards to the established cultural perceptions of good aesthetic judgement or appropriate behaviour. The swoon of a well cut suit vs the shock of one loud with bold colours and design.

Of course if you're counter culture then its a different story

Donten

No. :s13:
Considering that you can get a Tudor Pelagos with an in-house movement with a 70hrs power reserve, silicon hair-spring, certified chronometer, variable inertia oscillator.

Though it's not a chronograph. I still think it's more worth getting it over the IWC chronograph with ET7750. IWC is just over-priced and over-sized (who wears a 46mm dress watch?) for most of their watches:D

Quite funny, Tudor compare to IWC?

Have planning to get next week, but I think I need to consider again. should I top-up for the 42mm explorer 2? Or sub no date?

looking for the 3777 is becoz of the price and she like the design, pilot watch unisex design so she can wear also.
Price, 5xxx for a brand new IWC chronograph where to get?
Movement, yes! It's ETA7750, if ETA7750 selling 5k+ consider over price then how about Hublot?
Brand, please dun tell me Tudor can compare to IWC, if buy Tudor I rather buy omega PO.

i feel tudor > iwc imo. like what i quoted above, the tudor is a better beater than the iwc but that is for me. you are getting a rolex at a lower price with all the tech that comes from rolex.

soilwork

Not here to argue but I'll invite people to take a step back and consider something that is hardly taken into consideration by busy folks.

Not just for watches. Businesses, Cars, clothing, equipment, social hierarchy, even family names, just about anything really. Look beyond the veneer of most established respectable things and you'll find a depth of provenance and direction.

That's how words like Parvenu, Nouveau Riche developed in the lingua franca Etymologically, New Rich, always with the emphasis on NEW.

Provenance defines. It is essentially a proven track record of what to expect. A resume of achievements and milestones set in stone. Its is continuity of identity.

Without a steady provenance, what are things but mere memories to be lost? Tears in the rain. A passing fad against the monolith of time? :s12:

P.S Of course taste is subjective but this is with regards to the established cultural perceptions of good aesthetic judgement or appropriate behaviour. The swoon of a well cut suit vs the shock of one loud with bold colours and design.

I only know one thing

You like you buy :)

furryballs

Wah no need so philosophical. See songs liao 就 buy. Go fish tank think so much, by the time you make decision, the ah pek behind ordered the number you want liao.

kiosai

just a random.
if you have a skx007

If u buy the MM300, you will list one of the Seiko for sale shortly. Either one.

If you buy the BBB, you will still hunger for the Sub...

Get the sub.

Or to throw things into the mix.. get a titanium, ceramic, chronometer BLUE PELAGOS.

You dun have a blue face watch dio boh?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.