Thinning Hair problem

Isopropyl

Wang:

i order my PPG free minoxidil from Dr. Lee.

in case you don't know, he the dude running www.minoxidil.com

Xandrox is basically minoxidil with Azelaic acid. in a study, azelaic acid seem to show ability to reduce 5-alpha reductase activity although no one know the mode of action. do note that this study is done with vitro. in another study done in vivo, azelaic acid is not effective at all. so whether azelaic acid does anything for hairloss is unclear. but i doubt so.

as for higher concentration of minoxidil, if you are already using 5% twice per day then there is no point getting one with higher concentration.

let consider 5% is about 30% more effective then 2% version. 5% version contain 150% more minoxidil then 2% version yet it only improve result by about 30%. we can see the law of diminish return here. there is no point in paying more money for higher concentration minoxidil.

just to add on, i remember reading a study on how much minoxidil your scalp can hold. i can't remember all the details but they are using 3% solution and apply to the scalp from 2 to 8times per day. IIRC, twice per day application already almost saturate the scalp with minoxidil. 8times application did not make too much of a different. there is only so much minoxidil your scalp can hold.

somemore if you are using 5% x 2times per day, i believe putting more minoxidil is just not going to make any different.

Isopropyl

Anakin1982:

do keep us up to date after trying it for some time. remember to take photo. it the best way for us to keep track of result.

if i have the cash, i will like to try too. too bad i a poor man:s13:

Isopropyl

Nov 2007 study on finasteride side effect

found a study on finasteride side effect. to summarise the study, a group of people are ask to take a drug(finasteride) for treatment of BPH and they was divide into 2 group.

group 2 was told that the drug will cause side effect while group 1 was not told. in the result, group 2 who was told of the side effect have 43.6% VS 15% for group 1.

firstly, it show that side effect is greatly affected by the mind. secondly, it show that group 1 with 15% side effect, is alot higher then what Merck will like you to believe as many have suspected. well, so much for listening to doctor advice isn't it?

below is the study for you guys to go through. i have also read another study a few days ago that finasteride does cause depression. but that for another day:)

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/17655657

"Finasteride 5 mg and sexual side effects: how many of these are related to a nocebo phenomenon?"

J Sex Med. 2007 Nov;4(6):1708-12

INTRODUCTION:
Sexual adverse experiences such as erectile dysfunction (ED), loss of libido, and ejaculation disorders have been consistent side effects of finasteride in a maximum percentage of 15% after 1 year of therapy. Such data could be seen as far from reality, if compared to a higher percentage that may be found in any common clinical practice.

AIM: This study aims to explain the dichotomy between literature's data and clinical practice data.

METHODS:
One hundred twenty patients with a clinical diagnosis of benign prostatic hyperplasia (BPH), sexually active and with an International Index of Erectile Function-erectile function (IIEF-EF) domain >/=25 were randomized to receive finasteride 5 mg concealed as an "X compound of proven efficacy for the treatment of BPH" for 1 year with (group 2) or without (group 1) counseling on the drug sexual side effect. The phrase used to inform group 2 patients was ". . . it may cause erectile dysfunction, decreased libido, problems of ejaculation but these are uncommon".

MAIN OUTCOME MEASURES: The estimation of side effect was conducted at 6 and 12 months using the male sexual function-4 (MSF-4 item) questionnaire and a self-administered questionnaire.

RESULTS: One hundred seven patients completed the study. Group 2 patients (N = 55) reported a significant higher proportion of one or more sexual side effects as compared to group 1 (N = 52) (43.6% vs. 15.3%) (P = 0.03). The incidence of ED, decreased libido, and ejaculation disorders were 9.6, 7.7, and 5.7% for group 1, and 30.9, 23.6, and 16.3% for group 2, respectively (P = 0.02, P = 0.04, and P = 0.06).

CONCLUSION: In the current study, blinded administration of finasteride was associated with a significantly higher proportion of sexual dysfunction in patients informed on sexual side effects (group 2) as compared to those in which the same information was omitted (group 1) (P = 0.03).

A scenario similar to group 2 of the current study is likely to occur in clinical practice, where the patient is counseled by the physician and has access to the drug information sheet.

The burden of this nocebo effect (an adverse side effect that is not a direct result of the specific pharmacological action of the drug) has to be taken into account when managing finasteride sexual side effects.

Anakin1982

So anyone knows where i can order Revivogen and maybe Tricomin as well online??

They must offer shipping to S'pore cos several online sites i saw only sent to US and certain parts of Europe

Isopropyl

So anyone knows where i can order Revivogen and maybe Tricomin as well online??

They must offer shipping to S'pore cos several online sites i saw only sent to US and certain parts of Europe

how about from hairlosstalk? they have a combo for tricomin and revivogen.
http://www.hairlosstalk.com/shop/catalog/product_info.php?products_id=52

you can check out their other offer as well. i not sure is it the best price. just find it not bad. as far as i know, they ship to singapore.

so it is $127 + $31.25(shipping). for $31.25, the shipping timing is 4-6days. your good won't be insured and not trackable.

you can choose another shipping price at $62.50 so it take 3-5days and it trackable and insured. lastly you have FedEx for $77.34 and it the same as above except it take 3days.

all in USD

Ivan74

Genuine Proscar fr Sale

Selling the medicine that can help you stop hairfall..

Proscar (5mg).... only 2 boxes left. Selling $100 a box.

get them now....

Simply cut it into 4 quarters and take one quarter each time. 1 box of 30 pills can last you 4 months...

Save money yet same effect as Propecia...

drkcynic

Selling the medicine that can help you stop hairfall..

Proscar (5mg).... only 2 boxes left. Selling $100 a box.

get them now....

Simply cut it into 4 quarters and take one quarter each time. 1 box of 30 pills can last you 4 months...

Save money yet same effect as Propecia...

I got 60 pills of Proscar 5mg at SGD$95 2 years ago. Prices increased so much? :s11:

Ivan74

I got 60 pills of Proscar 5mg at SGD$95 2 years ago. Prices increased so much? :s11:

That was 2 years ago. Not sure what was the price then.

In sg, you need doctor's prescription to get the medicine so you need to pay for his consultation.

drkcynic

That was 2 years ago. Not sure what was the price then.

In sg, you need doctor's prescription to get the medicine so you need to pay for his consultation.

I bought the pills online from US. The SGD$95 was inclusive of shipping IIRC. So where did you get yours from? The docs?

drkcynic

Share share my experience with proscar.

I started using it about 2 years ago, bought online as i mentioned. Used for around 3 months, i did not actually see hair growing but i felt i was losing less hair (nvr really go count la). BUT i noticed some side effects. One, my cheeks were becoming bloated, the portion of the cheeks horizontal to the lips were starting to bloat and obvious sagging. I looked horrible during my convocation. Anyone using proscar had the same experience?

Two, was what i discovered 3-4 mths after i laid off proscar (mainly due to reason 1). I had this gf after taking proscar. We did the deed and all. 3-4 mths after laying off proscar, she actually mentioned how come i am harder and bigger (down there lah) than before (when just started doing i was on proscar). The whole time i never did tell her about proscar. This led me to conclude that i was indeed affected by the side effects of proscar, perhaps not to the point of infertililty, but definitely lower sex drive etc.

Actually from the start i'm not really balding that badly, but i intend to visit the NSC one of these days to get some professional advise. Prevention is better than cure. Now I have cut my hair short (confidence is the key), used some volumising anti hairloss shampoo (they stiffen up my hair, but my hair actually looks thicker), engaged in sports. I have never felt better + the sex drive is up.

My advise, stay off proscar unless prescribed by your doctor. Just my experience and opinions dun flame me.

Stallone

I would like to share my experience with Revivogen so others thinking of trying it might have some references...

OK, firstly, it wasn't as oily or smelly as I would expected - prob cos i've read a number of comments here about how drippingly oily or strong odour the lotion would be, I've braced myself for the worst but in the end was rather pleasantly surprised.

It actually felt like some chinese herbal lotion - dark brownish in colour with a little tonic smell - and felt cooling when it touches the scalp.
As for the smell, i guess it's a matter of personal preferences, but i didn't find it unbeareable, in fact i kinda of like the tonic smell.

I've used Minoxidil for a prolonged period of time, but owing to my sensitive scalp, it always caused me to have red, itch and sometimes even swollen skin along the frontal hairline where i apply the lotion. The liquid version is the worst, and after switching to the foam version, it was slightly better but still with a bit of side effects.

With Revivogen (i've used it once daily at night for around 1 month), my scalp has taken to it pretty well so far.

For hair growth, i honestly have seen none yet... but at least it does not cause my skin to be red and itch like Minoxidil.

So i wld recommend it as an alternative to those who dun tolerate Minoxidil well ...

great. keep using n see if it helps..

recently, i've been seeing in chinese newspapers abt this "hair cloning" thing.. the company is called Biossin. dunno if anybody read it b4..

jacqqq

I started using it about 2 years ago, bought online as i mentioned. Used for around 3 months, i did not actually see hair growing but i felt i was losing less hair (nvr really go count la). BUT i noticed some side effects. One, my cheeks were becoming bloated, the portion of the cheeks horizontal to the lips were starting to bloat and obvious sagging. I looked horrible during my convocation. Anyone using proscar had the same experience?

Two, was what i discovered 3-4 mths after i laid off proscar (mainly due to reason 1). I had this gf after taking proscar. We did the deed and all. 3-4 mths after laying off proscar, she actually mentioned how come i am harder and bigger (down there lah) than before (when just started doing i was on proscar). The whole time i never did tell her about proscar. This led me to conclude that i was indeed affected by the side effects of proscar, perhaps not to the point of infertililty, but definitely lower sex drive etc.

Actually from the start i'm not really balding that badly, but i intend to visit the NSC one of these days to get some professional advise. Prevention is better than cure. Now I have cut my hair short (confidence is the key), used some volumising anti hairloss shampoo (they stiffen up my hair, but my hair actually looks thicker), engaged in sports. I have never felt better + the sex drive is up.

My advise, stay off proscar unless prescribed by your doctor. Just my experience and opinions dun flame me.

hmm seems like this drug alot of side effects hor...haizz

TT000GG

It depends on individual... I know of people who are taking them ans still actively sexually engaged...

My sex drive fell initially too but after few years of taking propecia and proscar, the side effect subsided but the effect of controlling hairfall continues.

Exercise is a must for all whether taking Proscar or not.

ANAN84

haha mayeb i can share with u all one of the ways to slwo down hair fall ba..
did u all bath or wash ur hair with heater on? better don't.. CCB i take one yr to realise my mistakes. everymonth i keep reciding until one yr later i just change to bath without heater on just bath will noraml water lo.. and diet also.. try to east fruits and less rice everyday ba.. and excersie more..MOST IMPT is dun bath with hotwater or even warm water on our hair...this may help a little bit..

Ivan74

Selling my Boxes of Proscar cheap...

genuine from manufacturer...

Selling Cheap...

Pm me for the price...

Proscar expiring in April 2009 so wanna sell them fast...

JimmyHand

haha mayeb i can share with u all one of the ways to slwo down hair fall ba..
did u all bath or wash ur hair with heater on? better don't.. CCB i take one yr to realise my mistakes. everymonth i keep reciding until one yr later i just change to bath without heater on just bath will noraml water lo.. and diet also.. try to east fruits and less rice everyday ba.. and excersie more..MOST IMPT is dun bath with hotwater or even warm water on our hair...this may help a little bit..

Well, after reading and learning more about mpb, I personally feel that temp of the water does little or none to help slow down hair fall. Unless we are talking about temp that burns skin, then the answer is no. It's a myth. Perhaps you can relate your story so we can maybe find out the reason behind.

Yes, diet plays some part, but not directly on mpb. Eating and keeping healthy diet keeps your body healthy. A healthy body does wonders, it makes you energetic, create less stress, and makes u mentally stronger as you will be more focus in wat u do. Wounds and injury r proven to heal faster with a healthy body. So i guess in some ways slow down(perhaps just by a little) the process of hairloss. But that's provided u r also doing precaution or damage control collectively. But less rice... i dun see how it can help, u might want to share more insight on this?

UnlimitedBladeWorks

hey guys, im thinking of starting propecia. my prob is overall thinning i guess but more of frontal. need some advice from you guys. FIrstly, does propecia helps frontal problems? Secondly, does it cause initial shedding? because i cant afford more shedding now. thanks bros btw im 23 tis yr. kindly advice.

JimmyHand

hey guys, im thinking of starting propecia. my prob is overall thinning i guess but more of frontal. need some advice from you guys. FIrstly, does propecia helps frontal problems? Secondly, does it cause initial shedding? because i cant afford more shedding now. thanks bros btw im 23 tis yr. kindly advice.

Frontal as u mean receding hairline? Yes, some people who use fin experience hair regrowth at the hairline. It's good to start treating mpb early, but i would recommend you to see a specialist before taking fin, as they might give u better advise based on ur hair (unless u like to post pics here). Know the sides of taking fin before u jump in.
No one in this thread can afford more shedding. Fin might cause initial shedding, but i haven't come across any serious case. In any case during ur initial usage of fin that u experience shedding, bite the bullet and stick on ur regime. You will never have progress if u keep switching treatment.
Good luck bro.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.