Thomson View En-Bloc

Oftheseas

I doubt the enbloc would succeed this time round either. Nearby Thomson View got the AMK site to launch next year, Jadescape is entering resale and Faber Garden (FH) oso intending to go enbloc. Plenty of supply around the hood, not sure about our demand.

Interesting that we see the same things (maybe it’s our turf), but I hold a slightly different view. I try to play developer on this one :

$1293 psf >>> $2100 psf mass market condo or $2200+ psf premium condo.

I will hope AMK site UOL @ $1850+ will sell well, raising the tide before I sell. They have too few units to threaten me.

Jadescape resale will likely be around $1900-$2100 when TOP next year. My TV estate will trump Jadescape with my unblock view and elevated ground. Just look at Goldenhill Park vs Springbloom, both about 380 units/20 floors sitting near each other, but the vibes is so different. So new TV estate warrant +$200 psf ?

I love Faber Garden but it is too far behind in their enbloc process. One more day of waiting for them, is one more day of risk to me. So not going to wait.

There are other considerations such as the timely full opening of TEL/RTS, but I only comment on this 3 factors you mentioned.

Passerboy

Interesting that we see the same things (maybe it’s our turf), but I hold a slightly different view. I try to play developer on this one :

$1293 psf >>> $2100 psf mass market condo or $2200+ psf premium condo.

I will hope AMK site UOL @ $1850+ will sell well, raising the tide before I sell. They have too few units to threaten me.

Jadescape resale will likely be around $1900-$2100 when TOP next year. My TV estate will trump Jadescape with my unblock view and elevated ground. Just look at Goldenhill Park vs Springbloom, both about 380 units/20 floors sitting near each other, but the vibes is so different. So new TV estate warrant +$200 psf ?

I love Faber Garden but it is too far behind in their enbloc process. One more day of waiting for them, is one more day of risk to me. So not going to wait.

There are other considerations such as the timely full opening of TEL/RTS, but I only comment on this 3 factors you mentioned.
If indeed AMK site sells avg $1850psf I am guessing sales would be brisk. I don’t agree that TV trumps Jadescape due to age. The other factors I agree with u. :)

CaptainSGP

If indeed AMK site sells avg $1850psf I am guessing sales would be brisk. I don’t agree that TV trumps Jadescape due to age. The other factors I agree with u. :)
Bartley Vue already have many units sold at 19xx psf. AMK Ave 1 is more attractive then Bartley Vue imo, should have no issues selling at 19xx to 20xx. Nearby Thomson Impressions TOP 2018 alr transacting at 17xx psf

Thomson View which is at a better location compared to AMK should be able to sell at 21xx to 22xx. Thomson Three (TOP 2016) alr transacting at 17xx

By the time TV completes in 2026/7, Thomson Three is a 10 year old project. 5xx psf is a reasonable premium.

I believe there’s a good chance this en bloc will go through.

Passerboy

Bartley Vue already have many units sold at 19xx psf. AMK Ave 1 is more attractive then Bartley Vue imo, should have no issues selling at 19xx to 20xx. Nearby Thomson Impressions TOP 2018 alr transacting at 17xx psf

Thomson View which is at a better location compared to AMK should be able to sell at 21xx to 22xx. Thomson Three (TOP 2016) alr transacting at 17xx

By the time TV completes in 2026/7, Thomson Three is a 10 year old project. 5xx psf is a reasonable premium.

I believe there’s a good chance this en bloc will go through.
But my sense is AMK Ave 1 avg would be $20xxpsf.. too much supply ard Thomson View in the short term IMO.

I believe the enbloc would only success earliest 2023 assuming same asking price and demand similar as of now.

CaptainSGP

But my sense is AMK Ave 1 avg would be $20xxpsf.. too much supply ard Thomson View in the short term IMO.
All the old old condos around bright hill mrt also going for en bloc…

n let’s not forget about Braddell View 😂

Soon, undersupply here will become oversupply.

rlskyline

To buy for the intention to profit from enbloc is very risky, even if you have a huge war chest.

If enbloc do not happen within 3/4 years, you are stuck with a property that could be a burden. The rental yield is lousy as estate is old/poor maintenance and owner not willing to renovate. It’s also one count of ABSD hindering your future purchase.

Worse is your property will suffer a big drop in value immediately after a failed enbloc attempt !
yeah agree with u. but no risk no gain

iCubes

That location is quite good. Access to both thomson mall and coffeeshops.

Passerboy

That location is quite good. Access to both thomson mall and coffeeshops.
Thomson Plaza got almost nothing I stopped gg there more than twenty years ago aft yaohan closed down and it was highly inaccessible last time. Now w mrt they should consider renovating the entire mall to stay relevant.

location of Thomson View is very good aft TEL commences.

iCubes

Thomson Plaza got almost nothing I stopped gg there more than twenty years ago aft yaohan closed down and it was highly inaccessible last time. Now w mrt they should consider renovating the entire mall to stay relevant.

For daily necessities its considered good what. There's a supermarket, eateries, laundry shop, bakery, variety of retail outlets. Most condos dont even have walking access to a coffeeshop. This is pretty good in comparison already.

Oftheseas

Thank you for allowing to play developer for one day.

I not comparing age lah. I don’t know how to describe but it is the comparison of aura and vibes between the Jadescape and the end product of the TV estate. I don’t feel the 气势 of Jadescape whenever I go Shunfu market, but at Thomson Plaza I am impressed by the majestic of the TV tower block.

Oftheseas

All the old old condos around bright hill mrt also going for en bloc…

n let’s not forget about Braddell View 😂

Soon, undersupply here will become oversupply.

Hi Captain, you seems to know this area well. Are of also Bishan kia or the more atas Upp Thomson nature lover ?

In the Bright Hill mrt cluster, I rate Faber Garden as the undisputed enbloc estate. Follow by the two “Country” towers and Flametree. Bishan Park Condo maybe; but Gardens at Bishan & Bishan Point no chance unless plot ratio change.

As I commented previously, Braddell View only got hope when changes to the 5 year ABSD ruling.

1993newbie

I’ve never stepped foot in it since the day I was born.
Only started exploring the area last month for the cute cute cafes for Sunday brunch.
Direct MRT mah 😉

maybe this Sunday can go in the Plaza.. kaypo there got what.

Passerboy

I’ve never stepped foot on it since the day I was born.
Only been to Upper Thomson area for the cute cute cafes for Sunday brunch
Direct MRT mah 😉

maybe this Sunday can go in the Plaza.. kaypo there got what.
Haha don’t waste time, there got nothing. U can go to Udders for ice cream though.

Oftheseas

Haha don’t waste time, there got nothing. U can go to Udders for ice cream though.

Thomson Plaza revamped about 2 years ago. So you should go and see for yourself. It’s a family friendly mall to serve the Upp Thomson community. Functional but no retail shops. F&B options have improved a lot. My family like Omote Japanese, Sushi Teh, Shi Li Fang hotpot and the bakeries. There’s a lot more worth visiting too. A few kopi place and couple of cafes inside TP to compliment those “cute, cute” cafes along the stretch at Thomson Village.

I like it because it’s less crowded than Junction 8. My son prefers J8 because lots of xmm to tackle.

CaptainSGP

Hi Captain, you seems to know this area well. Are of also Bishan kia or the more atas Upp Thomson nature lover ?

In the Bright Hill mrt cluster, I rate Faber Garden as the undisputed enbloc estate. Follow by the two “Country” towers and Flametree. Bishan Park Condo maybe; but Gardens at Bishan & Bishan Point no chance unless plot ratio change.

As I commented previously, Braddell View only got hope when changes to the 5 year ABSD ruling.
Unfortunately I dont stay here. My JC is in this area so I am quite familiar. Considered Jadescape in 2020 but the lower quantum & attractive units all gone by the time I had the $$$.

Have a few friends staying in various condos here, including Braddell View. Braddell View will be the largest of the largest condo in sg - 3xxx units ?? I actually hope Braddell View will en bloc some day so that i have a chance to buy some day.

5Y ABSD is the greatest gift govt has given to buyers. With the 5y ABSD, developers must price Giga developments like Braddell View attractively in order to sell out all the units. Especially for the initial launch pricing where developers need to move units. Which means higher odds of capital appreciation, especially those who bought at initial launch pricing. Of course there are many other factors involved also. Just giving a general view here.

Dr.Vijay

Administrator

That's the whole point... it's there to serve the communities around the Upper Thomson area and nothing more.

It's sized just right and it has just the right amount of amenities.
NTUC has been there for a long time since Yaohan departed and it's very easy to get shopping chores done fast because of the mall's size.

Look at Nex and AMK Hub -- these are huge malls, lots of traffic, lots of shops and it takes a lot of time to get stuff done.

Thomson Plaza is just fine for how it is :)

The_Davis

That's the whole point... it's there to serve the communities around the Upper Thomson area and nothing more.

It's sized just right and it has just the right amount of amenities.
NTUC has been there for a long time since Yaohan departed and it's very easy to get shopping chores done fast because of the mall's size.

Look at Nex and AMK Hub -- these are huge malls, lots of traffic, lots of shops and it takes a lot of time to get stuff done.

Thomson Plaza is just fine for how it is :)
Amk hub where got huge?

Oftheseas

Amk hub where got huge?

In this context of serving a neighbourhood/community, AMK Hub is huge la. Of course NEX and Northpoint are bigger, but everything with a “Hub” will also seems larger than actual.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.