Those DINKs can pawn future Generations

satkimania

Whatever you just typed, you still fail to recognise what is the predominant probability.

That last survivor of the DINK couple has a very high probability of dying alone.

And you are banking on being in the 95th or 99th percentile of what is unlikely to happen.

Now the issue is would you rather die alone or with your char siews/in laws wishing you go faster so they can faster inherit your wealth?
I rather die alone like this

LoUsyGamER

So much debate.

Summary:
1. Scared to die alone or not die alone
2. Scared nobody care for your body
3. Scared miss out the joy of looking after children
4. Scared no one do traditional Singapore ceremony after passing away
5. Scared got char siew kids
6. Scared not enough money
7. Scared cannot have own enjoyment after having kids

So much scared in this thread.

parchiao

Now the issue is would you rather die alone or with your char siews/in laws wishing you go faster so they can faster inherit your wealth?
I rather die alone like this

Refer to my previous post about char siew.

Again, you proved my original point.

windwaver

So much debate.

Summary:

Actually it's just scare $$ not enough, doesn't matter DINK or not.

Wu-Han Clan

tbh... i dont understand why ppl think being a DINK is like a flex or something to hao lian... among the DINK frens.. acquantinance.. influencers i knw... all like nt v financially successful... stay BTO or stay in those shoe box 1br condo kind...

they dont want kids becoz they dont earn enough... bt they want to enjoy life yolo so all their salary is for themselfs... you talk abt kids they say cant afford... :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO: financial constraint say until lifestyle choice...

TheApathetic

tbh... i dont understand why ppl think being a DINK is like a flex or something to hao lian... among the DINK frens.. acquantinance.. influencers i knw... all like nt v financially successful... stay BTO or stay in those shoe box 1br condo kind...

they dont want kids becoz they dont earn enough... bt they want to enjoy life yolo so all their salary is for themselfs... you talk abt kids they say cant afford... :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO: financial constraint say until lifestyle choice...
No kids can eat at dtf 3 meals a day.
got kids can only eat cai png for life.
choose 1

Wu-Han Clan

No kids can eat at dtf 3 meals a day.
got kids can only eat cai png for life.
choose 1
they choose the first one... bt they will nv admit real reason why they choose first one...

is hw to package it... they openly say they dont want kids... they dont say they cannot afford to raise 1 kid and eat dtf 3 meals a day :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO:

Unic0rn

No lah, I don't believe in children paying for old parents. I think people need to look after themselves financially, as much as possible. Of course will always have a percentage of the population who will have difficulty in old age.

But if the children are happy to look after the parents, then all the better. There is also those situations with unspoken understanding e.g. I die I let the chid who looked after me to inherit my property etc. I believe this is still the majority.

For me, I think I will uplorry before my wife, so I hope my kids will at least monitor her when she gets to the stage where she cannot look after herself. Unlike the DINKs, cannot even hope to have anyone to do anything for them.
How about the other children? If you have say four children? Only give to the child that looked after you?
By your analogy, your parents will also live till 99. So while you have a child at 25, and raise him for 25 years, you are also taking care of your parents for 49 years while your own children take care of you for 49 years.
My spouse and I took cared of our pioneer generation grandparents in their elderly years till they passed on. Our boomer medaka parents didn’t have to do anything at all and only receive money 💵 from us as allowances when we started working after university.

parchiao

How about the other children? If you have say four children? Only give to the child that looked after you?

My spouse and I took cared of our pioneer generation grandparents in their elderly years till they passed on. Our boomer medaka parents didn’t have to do anything at all and only receive money 💵 from us as allowances when we started working after university.

Whatever lah, up to the person who is giving the house away.

Unic0rn

Whatever lah, up to the person who is giving the house away.
say you have four children and only two of them actively took cared of you in your elderly years, you have a private landed bungalow, a private 5-bedroom condominium apartment and a 5-room HDB flat. How to distribute?

TrollAndOgres

Have friends tried IVF many times but still didnt have kids.
Those xmm up 1 time kena 1 time easily went to abort the baby.
Funny how things happen hor. I got fren tried for 10+ years due to fertility issues, recently then had a baby. She married few years earlier than me. I waited a few years before trying both times but both were here v.fast, so my 2 kids end up slightly older.

parchiao

say you have four children and only two of them actively took cared of you in your elderly years, you have a private landed bungalow, a private 5-bedroom condominium apartment and a 5-room HDB flat. How to distribute?

Property can give in shares one leh. Property can also be sold upon my death and the proceeds distributed according to what I instruct. It could also be a mix of both.

It depends also on the circumstances under which who took care of me vs who did not e.g. one child is working overseas, the child who took care of me is not trustworthy with money, whether my child is a DINK or have months to feed etc. Got many personal considerations to make.

Whatever the case is, if I have something to distribute, I would want to compensate the child or children who spent they time, effort and money to look after me more than the child or children who did not. How much and in what manner is something for the future as I am still a long way from dying of old age.

Unic0rn

Funny how things happen hor. I got fren tried for 10+ years due to fertility issues, recently then had a baby. She married few years earlier than me. I waited a few years before trying both times but both were here v.fast, so my 2 kids end up slightly older.
How come you tried both times so fast have baby but many times people tried for 10+ years to no results? Share with us your secret to conceive?
Property can give in shares one leh. Property can also be sold upon my death and the proceeds distributed according to what I instruct. It could also be a mix of both.

It depends also on the circumstances under which who took care of me vs who did not e.g. one child is working overseas, the child who took care of me is not trustworthy with money, whether my child is a DINK or have months to feed etc. Got many personal considerations to make.

Whatever the case is, if I have something to distribute, I would want to compensate the child or children who spent they time, effort and money to look after me more than the child or children who did not. How much and in what manner is something for the future as I am still a long way from dying of old age.
I have a friend whom had four children and only two of them actively took cared of them in their elderly years, they have a private landed bungalow, a private 5-bedroom condominium apartment and a 5-room HDB flat. Upon my friend’s death the last will and testament was to transfer the ownership of the private landed bungalow, a private 5-bedroom condominium apartment and a 5-room HDB flat to the eldest child whom married early but has no children and is always missing only see once a year. Idk 🤷🏻‍♂️ why?

satkimania

So much debate.

Summary:

That's why Singaporeans are timid and bo Ji... No wonder Pappies are the gahment for 60 years cause sinkies scare this and that... Oh wait I also scare my HDB won't reach $1Million and I'm also milking future generation GAO GAO hahahahaha

HushiePuppies

Today my cousin brought his wife to come my house and bai nian... he told me that his BTO let him earn chao chao $300K... and he intends to go for a second BTO again after his windfall... I said wah now next generation jialat... but he just tell me... not my problem because they dont have kids... they only care about milking more and more money and go enjoy during older age...

I think he is correct....

wah csb la.

how can he suka suka buy BTO and earn more than $300K? plus BTO queue number not so easy to get..

those who earn more usually cannot even BTO liao due to their combined salaries > BTO wage ceiling.

trevlim

Your gen can do something about it or you can just kpkb among yourselves

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.