Thread all abt ROLEX - Part 2

wahjohreno

Thanks folks for the tips. Did try to ping some recent carousell sellers but not getting positive response. A lot of them didn't reply at all, the cheaper one need to arrange delivery ourselves from oversea (very dodgy). Brand new Pepsi seems to be quite rare. I guess I will do more research for now..
Search “thewatchmen” on Carousell. They’re legit. Ask them if they can get the model you want for you.

I got a watch from them myself. The watch came from a dealer in Europe.

haoKRR

Is the 116500LN one of the valuable daytona?
And the white dial can fetch a fair bit more?

https://monochrome-watches.com/the-5-most-sought-after-rolex-in-collection-and-the-sad-reality-of-the-market/

Sent from HUAWEI VOG-L29 using GAGT

Kyo_kusanagi86

Is the 116500LN one of the valuable daytona?
And the white dial can fetch a fair bit more?

https://monochrome-watches.com/the-5-most-sought-after-rolex-in-collection-and-the-sad-reality-of-the-market/

Yes, if you can get them below $35k is a good deal, likely will hit 40k at the end of the year.

Sent from Xiaomi MI 9 LITE using GAGT

Celibrium

doubt

36-37, it will go back down again once production ramp up

Yeah, 40k unlikely lah. Last year around this period july-aug also it hit its peak at 36k'ish. And after that spiralled down until April this year at the start of the lockdown, can get for 28-30k leh.

Price will start to soften again soon. :)

haoKRR

Damn. How much more can the white one fetch more than the black

stupiporean

Hi everyone, seeking some help, hope its not a noob question to ask.

I am looking to get myself an entry-level luxury dress watch for work and also as a wedding memento for myself next year. I am dead set on Rolex Explorer Ref 214270.

Enquired with some AD like Hourglass and Cortina but all say OOS and to be placed on waitlist. Anyone have any advice whats the best way to get around getting this piece, brand new? "Deadline" is around next year June.

You have to buy one to get one.

Laofuzi67

Prices are a good c.15% higher now than pre-Covid...interesting. Wonder where will the next month's release take us

A wise man once told me rolex prices are never affected by economy downturn, financial crisis or SARS....Or even war. Check back past 2-3 decades if you dun believe me. This covid also proven this logic right.
Just hoot the grey now or live to regret it.

Kyo_kusanagi86

A wise man once told me rolex prices are never affected by economy downturn, financial crisis or SARS....Or even war. Check back past 2-3 decades if you dun believe me. This covid also proven this logic right.
Just hoot the grey now or live to regret it.

Ya, if you look back at 1987 crisis and 2003 SARs, the price "correction" is only around $1k.. nothing lower or bargain buy.

Nowadays see Daytona Ceramic at $30k can buy liao.. Money in the Bank I would say.

But Wife say the non ceramic one nicer, so no choice gotten that one instead. cheaper also, I think gotten it around 1 year back below $20k grey.

Celibrium

Ya, if you look back at 1987 crisis and 2003 SARs, the price "correction" is only around $1k.. nothing lower or bargain buy.

Nowadays see Daytona Ceramic at $30k can buy liao.. Money in the Bank I would say.

But Wife say the non ceramic one nicer, so no choice gotten that one instead. cheaper also, I think gotten it around 1 year back below $20k grey.

Below 20k? That's like a year 200x set probably watch only? 1 year ago was when 116520s were trading at it's peak, newer ones around 2014-2015 sets were going for about 25-26k.

Kyo_kusanagi86

Below 20k? That's like a year 200x set probably watch only? 1 year ago was when 116520s were trading at it's peak, newer ones around 2014-2015 sets were going for about 25-26k.

Speaking on that, I learn much from the experienced watch enthusiast that the year of the production doesn't really matter (Unless you are able to get Rolex warranty or you are a super collector- aka buy and keep)

You wear steel daytona 116520, say 2004 vs 2014 , 10 years different. From everyone else perspective is a daytona (no one will ask you what year was it :s13:), only you yourself knows and matters which year it is (if you mind la). Why pay extra few thousand where the difference is minor (Green Lume -> Blue Lume).

Save the money and put it into another purchase or official Rolex servicing.

Haha, I used to chase all these nonsense and paying so much more for the same watch, nowadays I only matter the watch case condition, got paper or no paper also nevermind liao.

Celibrium

Speaking on that, I learn much from the experienced watch enthusiast that the year of the production doesn't really matter (Unless you are able to get Rolex warranty or you are a super collector- aka buy and keep)

You wear steel daytona 116520, say 2004 vs 2014 , 10 years different. From everyone else perspective is a daytona (no one will ask you what year was it :s13:), only you yourself knows and matters which year it is (if you mind la). Why pay extra few thousand where the difference is minor (Green Lume -> Blue Lume).

Save the money and put it into another purchase or official Rolex servicing.

Haha, I used to chase all these nonsense and paying so much more for the same watch, nowadays I only matter the watch case condition, got paper or no paper also nevermind liao.

Yeah you're not wrong. Just like cars I guess, you drive a brand new C180 or COE C180, to the layman on the street oh it's a mercedes lor.

That being said, prices are really going crazy again now like it was a year ago.

allrise84

not as long as stainless steel.. for oyster flex i will say better chance of less then 6mths.. dont go hour glass.. hour glass is this most difficult to get if u not vip.. try cortina or emperor or rws

gaoxing84

not as long as stainless steel.. for oyster flex i will say better chance of less then 6mths.. dont go hour glass.. hour glass is this most difficult to get if u not vip.. try cortina or emperor or rws

doubt it white gold oysterflex is very popular
or rather all the oysterflex daytona

fire

Just purchase a lady datejust from hour glass, not a single sport model in sight 😂

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.