Thread all abt ROLEX

Architeck

why do you have to follow?

Follow? Nope, I have been brought up with this understanding of how one should dress at formal events.

BTW aren't you some sort of private banker or something? If so, then you should know what's proper and what's not when you deal with the "aristocrats." :s13:. Why rock the boat for no reason other than a wilful desire to wear whatever watch you want?

Do you turn up at a black tie event in Bermudas and sandals? If not, then why attempt to wear a Sky Dweller (since this is the Rolex thread after all) under that tuxedo?

bryando

funny how the site shows you pictures of ppl in singlet wearing "dress" watch then.....but hey, up to individual who you wanna listen to. But I just hate it to be pin on a AngMo vs Asian culture dispute. If you need such articles to justify your purchase personally I think you are missing the point of this thread. just my opinion, no hate.....

Architeck

funny how the site shows you pictures of ppl in singlet wearing "dress" watch then.....but hey, up to individual who you wanna listen to. But I just hate it to be pin on a AngMo vs Asian culture dispute. If you need such articles to justify your purchase personally I think you are missing the point of this thread. just my opinion, no hate.....

Excuse me but are you educated? Or do you prefer looking at the pictures rather than read the content?

Architeck

Also, I don't think it is an Angmo vs Asian culture debate, but rather what is usually done and sticking to its provenance.

We have all heard stories about how rich China men open up ten thousand dollar bottles of vintage French wine, only to mix Sprite and orange juice in the wine and bottoms up like it's Tsingtao beer.

What do you say to that then?

They are ***** rich, they have the ***** money, so they can do what they want?

So you can afford a one million dollar Rolex Daytona Rainbow so that gives you the right to break all dress code and black tie event rules and wear it with your tuxedo? What arrogance! And not to mention, ignorance (your word)

pwillie

Follow? Nope, I have been brought up with this understanding of how one should dress at formal events.

BTW aren't you some sort of private banker or something? If so, then you should know what's proper and what's not when you deal with the "aristocrats." :s13:. Why rock the boat for no reason other than a wilful desire to wear whatever watch you want?

Do you turn up at a black tie event in Bermudas and sandals? If not, then why attempt to wear a Sky Dweller (since this is the Rolex thread after all) under that tuxedo?

Nope, not a banker, a table cleaner
so wear what you feel comfortable in, a submariner can fit easily under shirt cuffs there is no need to adhere to the "style and etiquette people".
So what if they laugh at my rolex sports watch in my office wear, it is so trivial.
and if you have enough money, your style is the correct one.
When Warren buffet turns up in tux with a g-shock in a black tie affair, he is THE stylish person in that event.

Architeck

so wear what you feel comfortable in, a submariner can fit easily under shirt cuffs there is no need to adhere to the "style and etiquette people".
So what if they laugh at my rolex sports watch in my office wear, it is so trivial.
When Warren buffet turns up in tux with a g-shock in a black tie affair, he is THE stylish person in that event.

Typical China man thinking, right? I have the money, I have the power, I do whatever I want. Cos the money and power makes me right. Is it? :s13: ok this is the Rolex thread after all. Maybe I should look for a Patek and Vacheron thread.

mun_hoe

jokes aside...... our great leader's prominent civil servant son was dressed in flip flops giving talks. hats off and thumbs up! :s13:

pwillie

Typical China man thinking, right? I have the money, I have the power, I do whatever I want. Cos the money and power makes me right. Is it? :s13: ok this is the Rolex thread after all. Maybe I should look for a Patek and Vacheron thread.

Wa so stereotypical
No, rich people are just indifferent to those "style and etiquette people" think about them.
And they have more impt things to work on, unlike style and etiquette sheeps who follow blindly.
So triggered until I have to arm chio

Architeck

Wa so stereotypical
No, rich people are just indifferent to those "style and etiquette people" think about them.
And they have more impt things to work on, unlike style and etiquette sheeps who follow blindly.
So triggered until I have to arm chio

Really. I see. So are you rich? Are any of you rich? How rich? Warren Buffett level? Li Ka-shing level? Or Ng family level?

If you're not, then I am awfully sorry, but you will have to LLST abide by and conform to civilized/gracious society's etiquette and manners.

Even in China, the 土豪 are starting to get civilized and going for etiquette lessons on how to behave graciously in public, so that people won't laugh at them.

Do you feel that you're richer or more important than the China 土豪, or even more important than our local 土豪 like ******* and ****** so much so that you can disregard social etiquette and gracious behavior including manner of dress and what watch to wear? Wow.

mun_hoe

Even in China, the 土豪 are starting to get civilized and going for etiquette lessons on how to behave, so that people won't laugh at them.

but how does one wearing a steel bracelet watch in suit are being seen as uncouth person? puzzling to me :s22:

BallGag

I like how this "discussion" is about style and etiquette, yet freaking GQ is cited as a source.

Architeck

but how does one wearing a steel bracelet watch in suit are being seen as uncouth person? puzzling to me :s22:

Not necessarily uncouth, but definitely going against the time-honored do's and don'ts of Western formal dress.

Do you slurp your soup in front of fellow diners at the event? Do you burp loudly? No right, cos it is not considered good manners in a formal Western dinner setting.

But hey, it may be applauded in the Middle East or even congratulated in China, as it shows you love your hosts' cooking so much that you cannot control yourself.

Unfortunately we live in Singapore, and most formal events in Singapore are Western formal events, so we should just stick to formal Western norms when it comes to dress code. Unless you're attending some cosplay wedding dinner where everyone dresses up as Qing Dynasty eunuchs and palace maids or Japanese geishas.

Architeck

I like how this "discussion" is about style and etiquette, yet freaking GQ is cited as a source.

Hey, don't knock GQ lah, as it is already the most easily accessible style Bible to the common man already.

If even half of Singaporean male population can take fashion cues from GQ, then we won't have xmm's complaining about "Singaporean men wearing shorts and sandals to Orchard Rd and Holland V" already right?

pwillie

So much verbal diarrhea sia.
Gonna continue wearing sports watch with office wear, whatcha gonna do... report me to GQ?

BallGag

Hey, if they can muster up something better than too-short shorts and FILA Disruptors, I'll listen to their complaints.

I just find it really rich that you're going on about "time honoured do's and don'ts" of Western formal dress, yet your sources are rife with articles that just take a piss on these "time honoured" traditions. Then again, what do I know ? Maybe it's completely acceptable to wear a suit with an untucked shirt and sockless oxfords, as long as I'm wearing a "leather strapped watch, in full precious metal".

I think there's also a fundamental misunderstanding over what "formal dress" actually entails.

It almost seems as if you got called out for running your mouth over something you know very little about, and then tried to double down with some last minute Google-fu.

gaoxing84

Hahaha last paragraph is nub

gaoxing84

Last sentence - word

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.