Toyota Wish 1.8 Engine Assembly Replace

sacrificium

Yes i do regular servicing every 10km.

Actually the foolish me showed the 2nd workshop everything the first workshop diagnosed and quoted. Surprisingly, the 2nd workshop (traditional uncle) did a check and told me nothing major has happened to the engine itself, the sound i heard is just wear and tear of the fan. He did went on and inform me that engine mounting, water pipe and the 4 absorber has to be changed.

Engine mounting is common to replace and the coolent pipes as well. Both are consumables.

furryballs

Wah 350k mileage. TS really made his purchase super worthwhile. At my mileage of 10k/yr, i will take 35yrs to reach TS’s mileage!

sporeknight76

Hw is yr rpm idling speed? V high? Normal or low. Yr engine gt eat oil ie fo u nd to top up EO freq or till every 10k km.

Y u say lik excavator sound? So exaggerated. During drving or idling or both.

If really engine issue nd to replace/overhaul sugg to u is let yr 14yo Wish "reincarnate" la. No guarantee yr engine will b alrite again. If really engine mounting or suspension can considered.

Hw is yr rpm idling speed? V high? Normal or low. Yr engine gt eat oil ie fo u nd to top up EO freq or till every 10k km.

Y u say lik excavator sound? So exaggerated. During drving or idling or both.

If really engine issue nd to replace/overhaul sugg to u is let yr 14yo Wish "reincarnate" la. No guarantee yr engine will b alrite again. If really engine mounting or suspension can considered.

Haha abit exaggeration but it is really super loud if you standing outside, like something stomping inside the car.

sporeknight76

Haha abit exaggeration but it is really super loud if you standing outside, like something stomping inside the car.
Yr EO drop n nd top up regularly? If the sound is so loud visibly can c the engine shaking then could b engine mounting. If drving the sound still loud could b engine.... 350k km is v v v high. I don care if u do 10k km chg regularly. Things wear tear bro.

stylechap

You all don't find it funny that the engine sound like excavator but TS seems like still able to start engine and drive the car around?

stylechap

TS. Share a video of your engine idling.

He'd have shared in the first post if he's really interested to salvage the vehicle.

Not go around looping the same information, add a lil bit more detail further then wait for a God-Sent Toyota Specialist to determine his problem online.

sporeknight76

You all don't find it funny that the engine sound like excavator but TS seems like still able to start engine and drive the car around?
Haha. Ya lor. V weird n funny. If sound so loud still can drv meh? Whether engine mounting or eng prob...

Hi, maybe I am not specific enough. The engine stomping sound only occur when I travel for some distance and stop my car stationary. And it doesn't always happen when I stop the car with my engine on. Throughout one full week, it only happened twice.

I just uploaded it to youtube, you all can view it.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Lj0Pz_eMlLQ

Optionstrader

Hi, I want to ask if anyone knows what's the price range for replacing the whole engine assembly for Toyota Wish 1.8?? my engine is vibrating with loud noises when it is stationary. I was quoted a fee of around 3.5k for replacing the entire engine assembly, being a know-nothing about car, I am hoping for some clarification or guidance.
engine assembly is it the block or wad? I've driven the wish 1.8 before it's quite a hardy vehicle

Sent from OPPO CPH1877 using GAGT

Optionstrader

Hi, I want to ask if anyone knows what's the price range for replacing the whole engine assembly for Toyota Wish 1.8?? my engine is vibrating with loud noises when it is stationary. I was quoted a fee of around 3.5k for replacing the entire engine assembly, being a know-nothing about car, I am hoping for some clarification or guidance.
is ur workshop talking about engine overhual?

Initially I thought it was overhaul but after much explanation by them, it was a replacement instead of overhaul. But like fellow members here have mentioned and as further clarified by the workshop, it is a recond engine replacement.

liquidh

Really sounds like excavator. Haha. But I suggest you take it to a few more workshops for second opinions.

Anyway still drivable right? Just drive lah. Anyway you are prepared to replace in the worst case scenario.

Initially I thought it was overhaul but after much explanation by them, it was a replacement instead of overhaul. But like fellow members here have mentioned and as further clarified by the workshop, it is a recond engine replacement.

sporeknight76

Hi, maybe I am not specific enough. The engine stomping sound only occur when I travel for some distance and stop my car stationary. And it doesn't always happen when I stop the car with my engine on. Throughout one full week, it only happened twice.

I just uploaded it to youtube, you all can view it.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Lj0Pz_eMlLQ

Is the engine warning light on? could nt b engine mounting for sure.

Fyi Wish or wat car wat model dep yr luck. Furthermore yr Wish is 350k km lei. My colleag wish abt 3-5years, leather crack, fuel oil pump, starter motor etc. Almost all parts chg b4 in his 9years of drving. Nt high mileage cos office to fro abt 8km. But he go msia freq la...

Mercedes also freq breakdown by roadside wat...

Really sounds like excavator. Haha. But I suggest you take it to a few more workshops for second opinions.

Anyway still drivable right? Just drive lah. Anyway you are prepared to replace in the worst case scenario.

Haha I’m okay la if I’m alone driving but i got 2 young ones.. that’s why abit hum

Is the engine warning light on? could nt b engine mounting for sure.

Fyi Wish or wat car wat model dep yr luck. Furthermore yr Wish is 350k km lei. My colleag wish abt 3-5years, leather crack, fuel oil pump, starter motor etc. Almost all parts chg b4 in his 9years of drving. Nt high mileage cos office to fro abt 8km. But he go msia freq la...

Mercedes also freq breakdown by roadside wat...

That’s the thing, no warning signal or light from my dashboard. Only that sound from the engine lol but that sound alone is scary enough.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.