Toyota Wish 1.8 Engine Assembly Replace

mp4005 help

Key question is whether the sound is gone?!

I more interested in what cost $3.5k... What are those engine parts ? Recon , new ,used ? How much was labour ?

Sounds expensive. May have been better to get a recon engine and change mounts.

Shock absorbers don't make the noise when stationary.. you can feel it when driving if got problem or some times press down and feel the rebound or hear the sound

I more interested in what cost $3.5k... What are those engine parts ? Recon , new ,used ? How much was labour ?

Shock absorbers don't make the noise when stationary.. you can feel it when driving if got problem or some times press down and feel the rebound or hear the sound

ok, if you all dont mind the long list i going to type here... here you go...

rocker cover gasket (34), water pump (130), fan belt, tensioner & pulley (430), engine mounting x4 (320), vacuum hose (135).

front shock absorber x2 (240), front absorber mounting x2 (160), rear absorber x2 (250), lower arm x2 (200), front stabiliser link x2 (180), radiator cooling fan motor (140), labor (500)

the remaining are misc items linked to the above stated items.

ah yes, the sound is within the engine, not by shock absorbers. It is upon inspecting the whole car, the workshop tell me that absorber also gone (ya they press up down the car bonnet and went out test driving it), might as well change together to save on the labor.

mp4005 help

rocker cover gasket (34), water pump (130), fan belt, tensioner & pulley (430), engine mounting x4 (320), vacuum hose (135).

front shock absorber x2 (240), front absorber mounting x2 (160), rear absorber x2 (250), lower arm x2 (200), front stabiliser link x2 (180), radiator cooling fan motor (140), labor (500)

So everything good now and quiet.

Didn't really touch the internals of the engine and basically changed front and rear suspension.

Guess the sound was from the fan or pulley ?

Looks like standard stuff :look:

But honestly troubleshooting is painful for these places. Most don't charge you labour for it and some problems are like finding needle in haystack. It waste alot of their unchargable labour.

Most will recommend just change all probable causes starting from most likely .. one By one change.

xhlee87

Total $2.7k and misc of $800?
If those are original Toyota parts, the price are still reasonable. Labour expected to be this expensive.

Total $2.7k and misc of $800?
If those are original Toyota parts, the price are still reasonable. Labour expected to be this expensive.

wah ok, let me give u the misc also haha

thermostat o ring (45), crank oil seal (30), front absorber stopper (60), front absorber bush cover (60), front absorber lower bush (60), rear absorber stopper (60), front stabiliser bush (60), radiator hose (75), Water Joint (30), Timing tensioner (60), oil system cleaner (25), air filter (25), oil filter (90), sythetic oil (40), spark plug x 4 (55), coolant (55), transmission fluid (55)... there about all le lol.

Yes, workshop state it is original parts.

So everything good now and quiet.

Didn't really touch the internals of the engine and basically changed front and rear suspension.

Guess the sound was from the fan or pulley ?

Looks like standard stuff :look:

But honestly troubleshooting is painful for these places. Most don't charge you labour for it and some problems are like finding needle in haystack. It waste alot of their unchargable labour.

Most will recommend just change all probable causes starting from most likely .. one By one change.

As mentioned previously, the workshop did state the sound is from the fan..

so i thought he already identify and could rectify the problem (within 2k) but in the end... lol i don't blame the workshop or anything. I am just ranting on the breakdown in communication. Lesson learnt, I will move on.

sporeknight76

Nah.... Wat price list items they listed down may nt b wat the wkshop actually chg ma. I can write item 1-20, those parts I chg or nt, u knw meh? Anyway absorber gone true or nt, did wkshop ask TS yr permission to chg, bcos these r definitely nt causing the sound wat. Rite?

If they chg tis tat nt informing me, I wont pay for sure lor. Somemore rear absorbers - noise from front lei! 🤭

Aiya sua la TS. Hope yr tis 3.5k can last till u sell or scrap car

sporeknight76

Most impt also, tat 2nd wkshop u go to is nt yr regular wkshop? Hw u knw tat wkshop?

Norm if nt yr regular wkshop, they will c u s new customer n b prep to chop carrot head when the car prob is a big one.

Anyway urge all EDMWs gt any issue no harm put up in tis forum. Lots of white knights n vigilantes will advise u... šŸ¤­šŸ‘

liquidh

Okay lah. Pay money, problem solved. Not a bad outcome. Just that the workshop should not change without first seeking your consent.

As mentioned previously, the workshop did state the sound is from the fan..

so i thought he already identify and could rectify the problem (within 2k) but in the end... lol i don't blame the workshop or anything. I am just ranting on the breakdown in communication. Lesson learnt, I will move on.

myviowner

thermostat o ring (45), crank oil seal (30), front absorber stopper (60), front absorber bush cover (60), front absorber lower bush (60), rear absorber stopper (60), front stabiliser bush (60), radiator hose (75), Water Joint (30), Timing tensioner (60), oil system cleaner (25), air filter (25), oil filter (90), sythetic oil (40), spark plug x 4 (55), coolant (55), transmission fluid (55)... there about all le lol.

Oil filter @ 90? Huh..... you sure kenna carrot gao gao..... Mind sharing that workshop you go with?

xhlee87

Oil filter @ 90? Huh..... you sure kenna carrot gao gao..... Mind sharing that workshop you go with?

Most of the prices are reasonable. The oil filter likely means oil and transmission filter since he also changed the transmission fluid.

xhlee87

All seems reasonable for original parts price. Of course go stockist will be cheaper.

Sound like u have give him the impression to change if any of the parts are spoilt so he changed all those without informing u. (That happened to my first car telling the uncle to replace those need to be replaced and got a shocked bill after that)

If u never change majority of these parts in your 300k km mileage. I think the $3.5k is still ok.
Of course u can save cost by buying those parts yourself and going over the bridge for labour or buying OEM parts.

But since $$ is already spent and car is working well now and i feel the price are reasonable but slightly on the high side. Not really on his chopping board.

Nah.... Wat price list items they listed down may nt b wat the wkshop actually chg ma. I can write item 1-20, those parts I chg or nt, u knw meh? Anyway absorber gone true or nt, did wkshop ask TS yr permission to chg, bcos these r definitely nt causing the sound wat. Rite?

If they chg tis tat nt informing me, I wont pay for sure lor. Somemore rear absorbers - noise from front lei! 🤭

Aiya sua la TS. Hope yr tis 3.5k can last till u sell or scrap car

Actually what you say also correct, they put on the list doesnt mean they change it. Who will know right haha. But of course, I need to give them the benefit of doubt since I already paid the money.

All seems reasonable for original parts price. Of course go stockist will be cheaper.

Sound like u have give him the impression to change if any of the parts are spoilt so he changed all those without informing u. (That happened to my first car telling the uncle to replace those need to be replaced and got a shocked bill after that)

If u never change majority of these parts in your 300k km mileage. I think the $3.5k is still ok.
Of course u can save cost by buying those parts yourself and going over the bridge for labour or buying OEM parts.

But since $$ is already spent and car is working well now and i feel the price are reasonable but slightly on the high side. Not really on his chopping board.

Noted bro, thank you for the insight. Make me feel slightly better haha. End of day, car is working well and safety is not compromised :)

sporeknight76

Tis ** alot businesses doin v badly. So mayb u sway u kena tis chop carrot wkshop. Nxt time don go le. So long everything ok, u drv safely for yrself n family ok la. In life we all gt chop carrot heads b4 in other situations. Mayb u too trusting le.

Btw u hav nt shared hw u find out tis wkshop? If ok, can share w us which is it, located wher? U may wana b discreet n hide a few of its alphabets. I think most of us interested.

In times we learnt from mistakes n we shared so others will nt kena. Good for yr karma. 😁

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.