TP-Link EB810v - Quick overview

hellamatrix

You should connect via ethernet backhaul to create the mesh

router in db - ethernet cable to corresponding patch panel to ur study

then in ur study connect ethernet cable to ur router

it should auto detect as ethernet backhaulmesh
I realised the main issue was I was using MLO wifi for my main router and the connection keeps dropping as the backhaul does not support MLO.

blurnard

I realised the main issue was I was using MLO wifi for my main router and the connection keeps dropping as the backhaul does not support MLO.
I found out that MLO is using 2.4 and 5ghz

so a bit pointless for me, hence deactivated it 😝😝

Nostalgiaa

Hi all, I’m planning to get the 10gbps plan from StarHub, do you guys reckon it will be better to add on an additional EB810v or the HB710?

Or would it be better to just get the 2 pack Deco BE85 instead and not use the EB810v? Or is there any other mesh systems recommended?

My place is a maisonette, fiber point is on the second level in one of the bedrooms, and I already have an existing cat7 ethernet cable running down to the first level for my existing wifi 5 Asus AI Mesh system.

Henry Ng

Hi all, I’m planning to get the 10gbps plan from StarHub, do you guys reckon it will be better to add on an additional EB810v or the HB710?

Or would it be better to just get the 2 pack Deco BE85 instead and not use the EB810v? Or is there any other mesh systems recommended?

My place is a maisonette, fiber point is on the second level in one of the bedrooms, and I already have an existing cat7 ethernet cable running down to the first level for my existing wifi 5 Asus AI Mesh system.
If using LAN cable connection to laptop or computer or other devices then need EB810V. If just use wifi only then two HB710 router is good. 10Gbps is only available via LAN connection with a 10Gbps LAN adaptor. I am using TB 4 to 10Gbps LAN adaptor now.

MArVeLIciOUS888

Do u have wifiman installed on your phone, i noticed that sometimes the 5Ghz wifi channel switches.

I asked TP-link on this and they advise me to reboot and go login to your router menu via browser.. ( the 192.168. Something something) and change out the 5ghz channel to a static one. They told me to choose channel 157 and steer clear of dfs channels ( dun really know what that means)

So far so good. Will report again if i see anything out of the ordinary. (I am going to swap out my mobile to a used 24U soon, so i wun be stuck on 5ghz but on 6ghz lol.)
Hi Gauntlet n Everybody,

I just saw your post and suggestion. I was exploring the settings this morning. Is your setting still at 157?

I was exploring the settings and I noticed that I can only choose a maximum of 64 channels for 5Ghz now. I remember seeing 120 earlier in the morning.

Checking using the browser, I see channels 52 to 64, but they are all DFS. Anyone know what's 'DFS'?

ivanykx1

Hi Everyone,

I'm not sure why my wired connection link rate is capped at 100mbps when I'm using the 10Gbps port.. recently switch ISP whereas previous one was perfectly fine until I changed to Starhub. Could it be cable coincidentally faulty after swapping ISP? I bought a new cable so should be here Friday to test out. Currently using Cat 6.. Thanks :)

froztheart

Hi Everyone,

I'm not sure why my wired connection link rate is capped at 100mbps when I'm using the 10Gbps port.. recently switch ISP whereas previous one was perfectly fine until I changed to Starhub. Could it be cable coincidentally faulty after swapping ISP? I bought a new cable so should be here Friday to test out. Currently using Cat 6.. Thanks :)
Is your end device capable of 10Gbps? Otherwise, you'll only be getting what your end device is capable of supporting.
What was the speed prior? Any changes made?

ivanykx1

Is your end device capable of 10Gbps? Otherwise, you'll only be getting what your end device is capable of supporting.
What was the speed prior? Any changes made?
My mobo onboard specs not capable of 10gbps but is 2.5gbps(Asus ROG Strix-A B550). Previously on M1 iirc the last speedtest I’ve done was close to 1gbps speed.

Should I be using the 2.5gbps port instead?

froztheart

My mobo onboard specs not capable of 10gbps but is 2.5gbps(Asus ROG Strix-A B550). Previously on M1 iirc the last speedtest I’ve done was close to 1gbps speed.

Should I be using the 2.5gbps port instead?
hmmm... any changes made on software end? I presume no?
Then maybe check your hardware liao. CAT 6 is sufficient for 10Gbps, so need to check whether LAN cable faulty.
Oh yes, any settings changed on your SH router?

ivanykx1

hmmm... any changes made on software end? I presume no?
Then maybe check your hardware liao. CAT 6 is sufficient for 10Gbps, so need to check whether LAN cable faulty.
Oh yes, any settings changed on your SH router?
No changes made on software end leh.. No settings changed also only touched the wifi part.. Hopefully it’s just LAN cable faulty tomorrow will check. Thanks :)

lionheart80

managed to snag be805 for a good price in carousell

can I do the router set up with my existing 1gbps first and just plug in to the new ont during installation day

MArVeLIciOUS888

Hi Everybody, just to relate my experience after replacing my EB810V yesterday.

I made an appointment with Starhub regarding intermittent internet connection, dropping for both WiFi and wired devices. The Trooper came yesterday morning to replace my EB810V. According to the Trooper, it's a new set and not recon. It came wrapped up in the usual plastic. According to the Trooper, it should be the same as my original collected in Aug 2024 (ie no change in hardware).

In the 3 to 4 hours after the replacement and boot up, it was great! Using WiFi on my device, loading of new webpages, loading of YouTube app at startup, accessing Aginet, etc was fast and smooth.

But after about 6 hours, the usual symptoms of slow loading of new webpages, Aginet slow response, etc started to show up again.

By evening, 'connected with no internet' and '!' beside the WiFi logo started appearing again.

Today, when my son was alone at home and the rest of my family (4 of us) came back (ie our 4 handphones started to access the WiFi), the router started flashing the 'P' logo and there was no internet at all for about 15 minutes. I had to restart the router to get the internet going. My NAS also reflected the lost / regain internet connection timings.

While talking to the Trooper yesterday, he didn't say much. After chitchatting with him, the idea of problems arising due to the 10Gb internet ports came up. Whether it might be due to heat, the port not being of adequate quality, etc. What do you guy think?

I have not tried / test this yet. I have a switch connected to my 10Gb internal port, I might disconnect this to monitor for a few days. Has anyone tried this yet? I have a friend who is also having the same problems and he doesn't have a switch.

Not too sure if similar routers from TPLink of the same make and model also have the same problems. Or even if EB810V is similar to other models, the 10Gb ports are of a lower quality and hence giving problems.

If it is truly the 10Gb ports, then it will be TPLink at fault, correct?

Conspiracy theories creeping into my head after the frustrations of these problems happening again after I changed router 🤔

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.