Trip to Austria

dry_county

i seldom eat at SG for such food. Too hot already.

Will eat at Europe cos they are comparatively cheaper and quality higher. I cant keep eating Schnitzel when i was in Austria. In fact when I was at Salzburg, I ate 3-4 times Chinese food opposite my hotel near the Bahn lol.
I also ate Chinese food last night. Jiak sweet and sour chicken with rice….:eek:

cyke69sg

No leh Jippun also does quite well on meat. Take for example the schinitzel that Jippun adapted to tonkatsu, or grass fed steaks that Jippun adapted to Kobe wagyu. I think Jippun does very well in adapting and then improving the origin dishes. Amdk meanwhile will stubbornly cling on to their original without improvements :(

Find it hard to follow your logic.

They are all different things. So you are saying the jippun copy the schnitzel and adapt to tonkatsu? I think that's an insult to jippun. They came up with Tonkatsu themselves. Same for Wagyu. Wagyu is not a copy of US steaks.

Retain identity is a normal thing. Dun have to keep changing and improving all the time. I know SG culture is different. :(

cyke69sg

i seldom eat at SG for such food. Too hot already.

Will eat at Europe cos they are comparatively cheaper and quality higher. I cant keep eating Schnitzel when i was in Austria. In fact when I was at Salzburg, I ate 3-4 times Chinese food opposite my hotel near the Bahn lol.

I enjoy the Shawarma and Gyros here in Calgary. There is such a variety of food.
Chinese food also got the ang moh menu and the proper chinese menu.
When you say chinese food was it the sweet and sour pork/chicken, ginger beef, breaded fried meat with noodles and rice kind? Or also got proper chinese menu?

oldchanggold

They are all different things. So you are saying the jippun copy the schnitzel and adapt to tonkatsu? I think that's an insult to jippun. They came up with Tonkatsu themselves. Same for Wagyu. Wagyu is not a copy of US steaks.

Retain identity is a normal thing. Dun have to keep changing and improving all the time. I know SG culture is different. :(
Yea, but sinkies like to go Japan so that's y alot of reference to there. Eat same thing at different places evoke difference feeling. Eat fried pork knuckle at Raffles City Brotzeit comparable to eating at AMDK countries meh.

dry_county

No, no. I'm still at Alsace.
IMG-20240522-075301.jpg

Lovely. How long will you be there, and what's the itinerary?
Beautiful! I just googled Alsace is in France….:crazy:

I mean, you are back in edmw! :eek:

oldchanggold

I enjoy the Shawarma and Gyros here in Calgary. There is such a variety of food.
Chinese food also got the ang moh menu and the proper chinese menu.
When you say chinese food was it the sweet and sour pork/chicken, ginger beef, breaded fried meat with noodles and rice kind? Or also got proper chinese menu?
Its like Tze Char menu with got wok hei one. Got 1 Malaysian working there. They very good at cooking. Its just practical cos I am with kids. I cannot stand eating fried pork there lol. Anyway Germany and Austria local cuisine is very limited.

WW1 Flying Ace

Copying and adapting are two different things. You should read up about how tonkatsu or jippun curry came about. They consider both Yoshoku (western food) - cuisines adapted from amdk sailors who brought their foods with them.

it’s not so unusual for East Asians to adapt foreign foods into their cultures. While the Jippun turned schnitzel into tonkatsu, the Cantonese turn it into kolo yok (some sarcastically calling it gweilo yok)

even Hainanese cuisine in Sinkieland is also adopted by Hainanese cooks serving on amdk ships

LPPLKPKB

What do you like about Vienna? Any tips? :o

Safe, clean, many wonderful architecture buildings and very well maintained. May have best selections of foods in Central Europe. Selections of cheese and bread at Steiereck will blow you away.

dry_county

My chinese food is Mr Wen Asia Food. Seeing Chinese and Malaysian stall helpers there and speaking German. Very tok-kong.
What Chinese food did you eat? I must say the sweet and sour chicken last night is not what I expected….:s22:

cyke69sg

Yea, but sinkies like to go Japan so that's y alot of reference to there. Eat same thing at different places evoke difference feeling. Eat fried pork knuckle at Raffles City Brotzeit comparable to eating at AMDK countries meh.

Actually why not?

I am sure some people go to SG and eat prok knuckle at Raffles City and say the experience is very memorable.

I think it is the state of mind people have when partaking.

If not happy say weather hot feel uncomfortable eat anything also maybe not as happy as if very happy feeling nice and comfortable.

Stress culture?

kate spade

Beautiful! I just googled Alsace is in France….:crazy:

I mean, you are back in edmw! :eek:
Aye, it's really pretty.
IMG-20240523-WA0004.jpg

I’m here 10 nights: 2 nights in Innsbruck, 3 nights in Salzburg, 2 nights in Graz and 3 nights in Vienna….
Awesome, 10 days is perfect. Before craving for Asian food sets in. No Hallstatt? And where would the shopping (for Mrs DC) be at?

How's the food scene?

cyke69sg

Its like Tze Char menu with got wok hei one. Got 1 Malaysian working there. They very good at cooking. Its just practical cos I am with kids. I cannot stand eating fried pork there lol. Anyway Germany and Austria local cuisine is very limited.

Raclette? Fondue? Grilled steaks?

Yeah the local cuisine not many variety.

But after a while also tend to eat same places we like. Creatures of preference and habit :)

cyke69sg

Copying and adapting are two different things. You should read up about how tonkatsu or jippun curry came about. They consider both Yoshoku (western food) - cuisines adapted from amdk sailors who brought their foods with them.

it’s not so unusual for East Asians to adapt foreign foods into their cultures. While the Jippun turned schnitzel into tonkatsu, the Cantonese turn it into kolo yok (some sarcastically calling it gweilo yok)

even Hainanese cuisine in Sinkieland is also adopted by Hainanese cooks serving on amdk ships

True. I also watched how the mee pok dish was a modification of some chinese noodle dish.

Just eat and be happy lah. No need compare.

Why SGreans always must compare one?

WW1 Flying Ace

True. I also watched how the mee pok dish was a modification of some chinese noodle dish.

Just eat and be happy lah. No need compare.

Why SGreans always must compare one?
Why not compare? If not how to be fasterer betterer cheaperer? :(

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.