Understanding NS liability for PRs

oration37

seriously, u forced PR to serve in military service got use or not? if there is a war between sinkapore and his homeland then who will he help? :s13:

Failed logic.

Isn't it just the same as asking why force unwilling citizen to serve? Even before war come, unwilling citizens will be first to run away at the first hint of trouble.

jericho75

long term residency is the 1st step to citizenship. it's expected that one actually wants to live in that country and be part of it to take residency. in sg's case, to expect ns from new citizens or pr if they truly want to be singaporeans isn't that far-fetched as you would from someone who was born and raised here.

pr and citizenship applications are also screened, to make the people coming in have some ties to the country(business/family/personal) and are of a level of quality in terms of education, capability, health and character.

problem is i have no idea what ica is doing or screening. there're giving out pr and citizenship invites, they're giving pr to people with false backgrounds, those who are just here for work, even those who can't speak english. nobody can blame them for dodging ns when it's not their intent to settle in sg, but ica is giving out easy pr, which is not what pr is for.

yet there is no distinction between economic refugees and ppl with real commitment and talent. which creates that scenario of that china dude turned singaporean, who served ns and got jailed for awol in order to attend uni, when hordes of pr are running away with no penalties. to any logical person, there are more restrictions and penalties being a citizen rather than a freeloader.

it's like a restaurant with a buffet line. you have regular customers, and you also give free passes to attract customers. so those with free passes just eat, no restrictions, but you charge your regular customers for wastage, service charge, wet towel charge, tea charge, 2 hour time limit, 1 serving of crab only; who the hell would want to be a regular.

the requirements is a spu degree. once u have that they will sure grant pr.

Vitus213

We should just let TS have his own way. His offspring will inherit his ungrateful and low integrity morale. His son will just probably sabotage our military if by any chance he have to serve ns. Sorry but we don't need people like you in our land. Go home scums . "Integrity without knowledge is weak and useless. Knowledge without integrity is dreadful and dangerous."

Best regards,
Just another singaporean son

ethan89

imo people are being too harsh on TS. If you were her, will you want your son to serve NS if he could avoid it?

I wouldn't. I'll let my daughters be PR, sons I'll renounce their PR so I can enjoy the benefits of the SG.

it is natural for people to seek what is best for themselves. You may not like it, but TS is just one of many. I know many malaysian PRs do the same thing for their children.

if you have to be angry, be angry with the SG system for allowing such a thing to be feasible. People will naturally exploit loopholes if they can benefit from them.

Agreed but at the same time disagreed with your view. Understand your emphasis on their individual concerns and welfare - that very much I agree.

But at the same time, I believe we have the right and the freedom to voice out and reason with these selfish foreigners.

Dun see why TS as a foreigner shouldn't be flamed. He asked for it, didn't he? He refused to engage with us in a humble manner and insisted on glorifying his cause that resulted in more annoyance and anger.

:vijayadmin:

jericho75

Failed logic.

Isn't it just the same as asking why force unwilling citizen to serve? Even before war come, unwilling citizens will be first to run away at the first hint of trouble.

u force people serve ns then can guarantee they will not be a 2 headed snake when war breaks out?

Scared-Stiff

NS is a liability because ICA calls it a liability. Please search ICA's webpage and look up NS.

To reemphasize once again. It is not my intention to renege or default on my obligations. I only wish to understand the liabilities involved and comply with the laws of the land.

wongminmin

National Service Liability

Under the Enlistment Act, all male Singapore Citizens and Permanent Residents, unless exempted, are liable to register for National Service (NS). Following the completion of full-time NS, they will be required to serve up to 40 days of Operationally Ready National Service (ORNS) per year for the duration of their ORNS training cycle till the age of 50 years (for officers) or 40 years (for other ranks).

Main applicants who are granted PR status under the Professionals/Technical Personnel and Skilled Workers (PTS) Scheme or the Investor Scheme are exempted from NS. Male children who are granted PR status under their parents' sponsorship are liable for NS under the Enlistment Act. They are required to register for NS upon reaching 16½ years old and will be scheduled for enlistment at the earliest opportunity upon reaching 18 years old. If they are pursuing full-time studies, deferment from full-time NS may be granted only if they meet the deferment conditions stipulated by the Ministry of Defence which can be found at www.ns.sg. All NS-liable males aged 13 years old and above, are required to obtain an Exit Permit (EP) when travelling overseas for 3 months or more.

NS-liable PRs are expected to serve NS. Renouncing or losing one's PR status without serving or completing full-time NS would have an adverse impact on any immediate or future applications to work or study in Singapore, or for Singapore citizenship or PR status. Renouncing or losing one’s PR status without serving or completing full-time NS may also adversely affect any immediate or future applications for renewal of Re-entry Permits made by one’s family members or sponsors.

wow they can play with the system sia. Use our resources then move on to another country.

greenbubble

Don't try to game the system and tikam the age when you can give up your son PR without consequences. The system can change anytime. You might burn the bridge for your son, pwn him and affect his chance to reside and live in SG.

It could also affect your chance to reside in SG. With fast aging population, we don't want people like TS who send their son away to worsen our aging problem.

y2c_whtdouwant

ICA's meaning of Liability:

li·a·bil·i·ty (lī′ə-bĭl′ĭ-tē)
n. pl. li·a·bil·i·ties
1. The state of being liable.
a. Something for which one is liable; an obligation, responsibility, or debt.
b. liabilities The financial obligations entered in the balance sheet of a business enterprise.
3. Something that holds one back; a handicap.
4. Likelihood.

TS' perceived meaning of Liability

li•a•bil•i•ty (ˌlaɪ əˈbɪl ɪ ti)

n., pl. -ties.
1. liabilities,
a. moneys owed; debts or pecuniary obligations (opposed to assets).
b. liabilities as detailed on a balance sheet, esp. in relation to assets and capital.
2. something disadvantageous: His lack of funds is his biggest liability.
3. Also, li′a•ble•ness. the state or quality of being liable.

Sauce from http://www.thefreedictionary.com/liability

ethan89

NS is a liability because ICA calls it a liability. Please search ICA's webpage and look up NS.

To reemphasize once again. It is not my intention to renege or default on my obligations. I only wish to understand the liabilities involved and comply with the laws of the land.

Your logic is remarkably twisted :s8:

Seems pretty clear to me you are looking towards for more flaming.

24961756.jpg

Good luck.

deoxin

Its really sad to see all these FT asking for such absurd request on the forum. I am enlisting next year after my tertiary education and knowing the fact i am serving my country whole-heartedly to protect people like these is just heart wrenching. KNN

You do not protect him. You protect your country, your family, your motherland.

In fact, if there is chance during war, please shoot him.

megafortress

Obviously you have a poor understanding of the english language.

deoxin

PR is meant to be a step towards citizenship. In many ways, as PR, you are citizen-lite ..only few less privilege.

You talk in terms of "liabilities" ..and the law may allow you to walk away. But make no mistake... you are a free-loader, abusing the system and the country that has been so generous to you.

If you have no intention to become citizen, don't get PR. Your taxes meant is not your due for PR privilege, everyone here ...even on business visit, ..as long as they make money here, they pay taxes here.

gnail80

Thanks. May I please know if it is explicitly stated anywhere that the cutoff age is 13?

To answer your question. My wife and I are already PRs. I personally have been a PR for 11 years - lived in SG for 15 years. This decision is for our baby.

Blardy leeches

worcer

PR is meant to be a step towards citizenship. In many ways, as PR, you are citizen-lite ..only few less privilege.

You talk in terms of "liabilities" ..and the law may allow you to walk away. But make no mistake... you are a free-loader, abusing the system and the country that has been so generous to you.

If you have no intention to become citizen, don't get PR. Your taxes meant is not your due for PR privilege, everyone here ...even on business visit, ..as long as they make money here, they pay taxes here.

In fact, as citizen also lite. Because citizen has more liability than perks.

The only good point I see a citizen have over a PR is buying bto flats.

johnlzr

It IS your intention to renege on your obligations. If you cannot fulfill your obligations, you better just leave the country now. If you intend to stay and use the PR benefits, you will not be helping your son if you help him to evade NS next time. Imagine a situation where your son cannot come back and visit his parents in Singapore, imagine a situation where his parents might be jailed for fraud or he might be jailed if he enters Singapore. Imagine a situation where your re-entry permits are not renewed and you lose your job and have to beg on the streets? TS, all these is not worth it just to skip NS. Just serve NS for 2 years and then your son can even apply for citizenship.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.