Understanding NS liability for PRs

eAtNeAt

btw in past juz nid put up $30k security deposit. anyone know the figure now? I suppose garmen would have adjusted to take into account ft income levels?

OngHuatHuat

PR SHOULD NOT be even allowed to buy hdb in the first place. Name me a country which allows this?

In case you are not aware of current trend in the property market, I just wanna tell you this one hard truth:

Ever since that 3 years PR rule buy hdb flat comes out, hdb resale price has been steadily move downwards.
You may argue that private properties price also went down, yes, but to a different magnitude. Hdb are badly affected.
All hdb sellers curse this new hdb rule.

Back to the subsiDize housing part, most of Malaysian Chinese don get subsidized housing from government. Hong Kong and China the same, subsidized housing only mean for those poor people. And what they mean by poor? Bottom 15 % - 20 %.

In Singapore,,subsidized housing( resale hdb) is almost for everyone. And there is option of cheap BTO. Given small size of singapore, the government really do a very good job to ensure proper housing for their people.

You look at hongkong, what happened to them? Most of the newer generation need to rent house coz there isn't bto option for them. They are forced to buy overly priced private properties.

Crooni

Ern.... For that Malaysian couple part.... I just wanna say, you can also do the same thing if you want. Provided you can everyday go back jb and jam at the causeway. Singaporeans can buy properties in jb(condos at least 500 k ringgit up).

Pino colleagues I not sure how they do it. Maybe you can enlighten me where are they going to stay if they rent out whole unit?
By the way, I just wanna tell you now it is illegal for pr to lease out whole unit as well, you should report to HDB.
They will do random check and if they lock up one room but lease out whole unit, hdb will confiscate their unit.

then why are you in sg. because sg has better opportunities right. why aren't you citizen, cos you'll lose that gain if you convert. The advantage is only one way.

and you don't have to rent the entire unit you know. you see those tiongs can squeeze 20+ ppl into a unit. if you're pr im sure you know how many ppl can fit in a room and rental rates per pax.

OngHuatHuat

then why are you in sg. because sg has better opportunities right. why aren't you citizen, cos you'll lose that gain if you convert. The advantage is only one way.

and you don't have to rent the entire unit you know. you see those tiongs can squeeze 20+ ppl into a unit. if you're pr im sure you know how many ppl can fit in a room and rental rates per pax.

In contrast to what you think, I have plan to convert, but not now. Maybe after I get married and really settle down in Singapore.

And for your information, there is a limit on how many people they allowed to stay in hdb. If you see there are 20 people in 1 hdb flat, you should report them to hdb.

fmb108

Tell HDB to confiscate the flat from those greedy owners. There is a maximum occupancy rule (max 9 persons) for room renting and whole flat renting. The more they are able to confiscate, the more housing price will fall.

Sofero

thank you for your understanding.

however, I am not saying that it is "wrong" to voice your dissatisfaction. Rather, to me, it's a matter of, what is the point?

I am a singaporean who had served NS, and it was before it was shortened to 2 years (ie I served slightly longer), and I am in infantry, not downgraded, and just next month I have to return for another high key reservice.

thus if anything, I should feel as or more dissatisfied than many here.

however, to me, throwing out my bitterness or flames at TS serves no purpose. Everything she has said is perfectly legal, and even if we somehow guilt trip her into not removing PR status from her sons, there are many more like her, and it will not solve the root of the problem - that being our nation's immigration policy, or perhaps our low birth rate which necessitates the use of large numbers of FT.

I am also not going to take some moral high ground and somehow claim that it is due to "selfish foreigners" that we have this problem. Self interest is basic to any human being. I doubt all of us (although some are exceptions) will be so moral as to not plan to do what TS is doing should we be put into her shoes.
Fyi Ts is not she.

Sent from Asus K015 using GAGT

Sofero

In contrast to what you think, I have plan to convert, but not now. Maybe after I get married and really settle down in Singapore.

And for your information, there is a limit on how many people they allowed to stay in hdb. If you see there are 20 people in 1 hdb flat, you should report them to hdb.
The benefits citizens have over pr or vice versa is not the point of this thread. Wanna parade the garment and tell us how much better off citizens are compared to pr, please start your own thread and not hijack/derail this one.

fmb108

Please dont. People like you will add more votes for PAP.

ethan89

No no, you are wrong.

For me, sg government provides me a platform, and that is what I need. You think every PR wanted to renounce PR when they reach 55 years old and leave singapore with their Cpf?
This is not what is in my mind.

If what u said is true, I hope u will continue to behave as a good citizen on our soil. Most of us are fine with ppl like u.

U represent your own ethnicity and your hometown even after u have converted to a new citizen. Do bear this in mind.

All the best in your future endeavours.

:)

OngHuatHuat

The benefits citizens have over pr or vice versa is not the point of this thread. Wanna parade the garment and tell us how much better off citizens are compared to pr, please start your own thread and not hijack/derail this one.

If you follow the thread closely, you should realize most of my replies here are with quote, means I am arguing with certain forumers.
Just that during the arguments, I quoted existing rules implemented by the government. Perhaps this brings certain dissatisfaction to you? I merely stated what were the rules in place.

OngHuatHuat

once u give up PR before NS, the govt blacklist you and won't ever let u be PR anymore.

Even if u stay a 1000 years and reapply, they also dun give u.

This ish due to some elite PR scholar doing it and screwing all the other PRs over.

Go ICA website also won't tell chiu one.

So if ur son wants to stay in future, dun screw his life over NS.

the government don even allow them to hold EP/SP/WP.

some of them are barred from entering Singapore.

Anyway, when we took up PR, there is this agreement that we have to sign, ie male offspring needs to serve NS, I am pretty sure TS aware of this as well.

Sofero

If you follow the thread closely, you should realize most of my replies here are with quote, means I am arguing with certain forumers.
Just that during the arguments, I quoted existing rules implemented by the government. Perhaps this brings certain dissatisfaction to you? I merely stated what were the rules in place.
Quoting and arguing with ppl here does not make your point directly relevant to the initial topic raised by Ts.
Once again wanna argue about citizen and prship which one better start your own thread.
This thread is intended to talk about reaping the benefits and possibly escaping the liabilities of prship.
What you r arguing needs a new thread to deal with.

OngHuatHuat

Quoting and arguing with ppl here does not make your point directly relevant to the initial topic raised by Ts.
Once again wanna argue about citizen and prship which one better start your own thread.
This thread is intended to talk about reaping the benefits and possibly escaping the liabilities of prship.
What you r arguing needs a new thread to deal with.

Haha, fine.... I have make my points clear and clarify certain half truths.

Good day for you. :D

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.