Unreasonable Neighbour

tinwhistle83

realise its the PG generation (late 70s and 80s)that has the entitled mindset and they are right all the time. younger old people like 70 and below usually not like this. my prev hdb neighbour auntie late 60s but no such self entitled mindset.

Char_Kuey

normally these kind of old folks very reclusive and rich in the past quite nasty when they grow old.. maybe because too much glamour when they are young then there is that slump in later parts of their lives and lack of human interaction exacerbates it

dambio

i dunno if effective. 1st by right cannot film neighbour premises cos from our side living room cannot see them spray until you walk out to main gate. and by the time i smelt, usually they have sprayed finish and went back house. this is like those 2nd hand smoke scenario where neighbour smoke in their house window. within house compound but others need to suffer
Install cctv to catch them in d act. Then complain to nea. Might be their trees tat breed mosquito too.

tinwhistle83

normally these kind of old folks very reclusive and rich in the past quite nasty when they grow old.. maybe because too much glamour when they are young then there is that slump in later parts of their lives and lack of human interaction exacerbates it
yah find that some old people grow grumpy and become reclusive with age. my grandma also like that. eventually she even got diagnosed with dementia.

harky

spray back...................

cant talk thn follow

Char_Kuey

yah find that some old people grow grumpy and become reclusive with age. my grandma also like that. eventually she even got diagnosed with dementia.
I think it's more of their original personality but extrapolated with age, maybe because their physical cannot compensate for the reclusiveness that is inert in them

it's just like those 80 year old thieves in the local neighbourhood stealing slippers and what-not: the thieves merely aged and became old, simple as that

age doesn't grant them an excuse to who they really are

Nemesis_lane123

i think regardless landed or not its about e civic mindedness. like my the other neighbour also use cone to block the parking. so sometimes in front of my house i no where to park. but its ok cos we usually park in the house. of cos sometimes maybe a bit inconvenience if within 20m i nowhere to park if my porch is occupied. but i also dont go make noise with my neighbour because i think its give and take. and also they put cone there cos sometimes people occassionally like to park their car there to wait for their kid (primary school nearby). im sure if i really need the place in front of my house to park eg moving heavy stuff, can just ask them to move the cone for a while. dont think they will be upset too.
I agree with your point where give and take is essential in many estates but what is perceived as give and take is sometimes on grounds of what is socially accepted and this may be contrary to what is legally accepted E.g Roads outside a landed home is public and anyone can park. Placing a cone in a public road is dangerous for wheelchair users (there are issues of access for handicap in many landed estates due to inconsiderate behaviour ;gates blocking pathways, plants blocking, dustbins n cones to name a few. It is also illegal and if complained can be enforced on. I see as landed estates become more dense and as more cars parks, it is a natural occurrence that more problems will arise.

I also see many cases where people just knock down the cone and park there. My former neighbour in Telok Kurau kena. He had 2 cars so one he parked in on the public road. The person who parked outside his house just said it's a public road and he is not blocking access, you don own it. My neighbour complained but in the end kena suck thumb.

I think what your example highlights is that previously there were grey areas many ppl in landed took for granted but these areas are being close up. In some aspects this is gd. Simple example would be trees creeping into neighbours property, today there is easy enforcement to address this. Nparks even have the authority for forced entry for issues of Dengue or Trees if owner does not act.

Also now URA actively enforced on non-compliance extensions such as illegal extension behind houses especially those doing open charcoal cooking. For some who have long lived doing this, all this comes as a shock to their way of lives. For those who just move in, often they are happy with enforcement till it affects them such as LTA drawing yellow lines( this is ready happening in landed estates opposite Eunos MRT, now all paid parking due to disputes). It effectively enforces parking but to me the community loses another benefit not just monetary but more importantly socially.

More enforcement in the end leads to less quality of life for some. Those without cars of course happy. Those with cars sibei sian. This is becoming the case for some landed estates. Hope the trend reverses.

tinwhistle83

I think it's more of their original personality but extrapolated with age, maybe because their physical cannot compensate for the reclusiveness that is inert in them

it's just like those 80 year old thieves in the local neighbourhood stealing slippers and what-not: the thieves merely aged and became old, simple as that

age doesn't grant them an excuse to who they really are
i would think so thats why not married. he had a nephew staying with them too, who looked most of the time unkempt. also not married and most of the time can hear both of them quarrelling in their house.

so the general characteristic of the family is there.

Char_Kuey

i would think so thats why not married. he had a nephew staying with them too, who looked most of the time unkempt. also not married and most of the time can hear both of them quarrelling in their house.

so the general characteristic of the family is there.
what's the point of living so old in a big house when it is wartime everyday :ROFLMAO:

tinwhistle83

what's the point of living so old in a big house when it is wartime everyday :ROFLMAO:
dont know why too. half the time if i sit at living room area can hear two of them arguing those trival matters like who never close door blah blah.

got one so loud until my helper in kitchen also can hear. my hub and i also think why dont the owner just sell the house away since the r/s between he and the nephew also not v good and no kids. leave a terrace house for who in the future. might as well go buy a hdb and stay and live like a king with the cash from sale of house.

quite a wonder that he still fit and strong despite all the arguing at home. somemore he still working too.

Char_Kuey

dont know why too. half the time if i sit at living room area can hear two of them arguing those trival matters like who never close door blah blah.

got one so loud until my helper in kitchen also can hear. my hub and i also think why dont the owner just sell the house away since the r/s between he and the nephew also not v good and no kids. leave a terrace house for who in the future. might as well go buy a hdb and stay and live like a king with the cash from sale of house.

quite a wonder that he still fit and strong despite all the arguing at home. somemore he still working too.
maybe the arguing activated all his aging cells so he is able to keep going

hmyoth

Complaint to HDB , HDB imply nothing they can do , ask Town council they arrow HDB. Kao pei to HDB , they said bei tahan just poh mata. Poh mata liao, mata come in wayang, mata left noise startted again., LPPL
Is like that one. These kind of neighbor dispute Gov not interested to help. U die ur business. That’s why HDB lease buy back option need to consider … in case u kena neighbor from hell u still can sell n move . Now neighbor ok doesn’t mean future one is good unless ur neighbor forever stay n never move.

cyke69sg

Yes more n more landed estates and freehold estates being returned b to the state. Land acquisition act allows them to take b any area n compensate market price.

Next one is at Jalan Chempaka Kuning at Simpang Bedok. Would imagine govt to build mix used plus HDB there.

More HDB fr the govt less prob. No need deal with illegal parking in landed or complex neighbourly disputes involving trees or sentimental rocks. Infrastructure design can also prevent problems.

Hdb these days they narrow the corridor so u cannt put stuff outside. Also below no more hangout areas so so ppl cannot loiter. Also limit hdb size plus number of ppl in the hse. Also recently neighbours brought to court over smoking which affect neighbours so got use case for future enforcement.

Also everywhere no more corridors windows where u can peep in your neighbors hse. Really engineered gao gao. Hdb public areas are public property so agency like police really can enforce like common corridor.

Literally engineering infrastructure to limit human behavioural problems.
Like prison cells.

champion09

Can tell me how to deal with unreasonable neighbour?

As last 2 months there was an increase of mosquito, my neighbour started to spray insecticide every day or other day within his house compound, however the area he sprayed is quite near to my living room window and everytime they spray, the smell will drift to my living room. however when they spray, they will know when they spray so they can quickly escape back to their own house and close their door while we have to breathe in their insecticide. its quite bad that sometimes it drifted all the way to my dining area.

so they started spraying somewhere in dec, then we tolerated till feb and we felt its like going on forever. so last week i tried to be nice and gave the owner's sister (who is staying there too) those electrical mosquito device that can zap mosquito and suggested to them to use. so this week they started spraying again, and i tried to speak to them but they were very hostile. the owner said he has been staying 40 years + and no issue until we came. cos when we first moved, their tree was infringing to our side so my husband asked him to trim it as legally we had every right to do so. this was only 2-3 months, after we moved in as the tree branches was growing to our side and affecting the fixture we had on our area. also my helper complained the tree had too many leaves and keep dropping to our compound, and attracting too many birds which fly past and pooed on our laundry. now when we told him about the insecticide thing, he felt we are picking bones at him. he said the behind neighbours also not happy with us cos of the trees. to be fair, in the end the tree that is at the neighbours at the back, we paid people money to trim it down ourselves because after checking with behind neighbours they said its not theirs as it was just nice growing on the fence and public drain area. so this neighbour at our side, just need to pay money to trim his tree because that was obviously growing in his garden. we had 2 young children in the house. and its only now in feb that we brought this up after 2 months cos its been too long of almost daily spraying of insecticide.

its an old uncle and his sister at 80+ years old age. sorry to say, but felt such boomers only think of themselves and not others. and funny thing is they dont pay for waste removal service but they will walk 30m to the public tree and throw their waste there.

how do you think i should go about? my in law felt we should not spoil neighbourly relationships but maybe tolerate and try to pacify them to be on their good side cos she said we have young children so we are always at the losing end.
you cannot close window?

lbcben

i just moved in last year. no chance and money to move. also very near my kids school.

only wish is they faster uplorry. felt so bad that im thinking such evil thoughts.
no need feel bad at all, I also wish my neighbour faster up lorry, just only 1 chao old man in 80s+..having 4 PMA park outside common area, fire hazard

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.